10
Aug
11

the wrath of comicon part 2


As promised here are more pics from the show!!! be sure to check out pin up model Valerie at the end of the post and stay tuned for part three of the con coverage coming tomorrow!

iron man

the full size T800

the big suit from iron man

one cool iron man model

chromed!!!

captain America

the original alien

full size predator bust

hey, there's a hidden mickey in Jessica's dress!!

one very cool Star wars display

this one blew me away

from Sucker punch

the pan am stewardess's

what ever this is it's cool

coolness

I bought an art book in the 80's called sexy robot by Japanese artist Soriama and it featured pin up girls rendered in gold and chrome and this is the first relly good sculpt I've seen of his work, INCREDIBLE!!!

lots of great costumes started hitting the floor come Thursday

creepy

a lot of the sculpts are grown now, it's an interesting mix to see grown pieces and hand sculpts!!

this is a very cool

arrrrrrrrrr!!!!

awesome home made steam punk costumes everywhere!! this was a fav

way cool retro rockets!!! i wanted these bad

and one more pic of the bewitching Valerie to end todays comicon special, stay tuned for part 3 coming tomorrow!!


17 Responses to “the wrath of comicon part 2”


  1. August 10, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Oh man, those are awesome. I love the Marvel Comics and Terminator stuff, the others are awesome also. (gotta love Jessica Rabbit) The costumes are great, and of course Valerie is lovely (some of those girls at the convention are good looking too. :D) However, my absolute favorite in this entire series is Capt. Jack Sparrow. I swear, it looks like Johnny Depp waked off the set and came into ComiCon. That’s amazing craftsmanship, it’s so lifelike. That’s definitely my favorite of today’s pics, though they’re all sweet. Thanks again for sharing. 😀😀😀

    • 2 johneaves
      August 10, 2011 at 10:40 pm

      Yeah that Sparrow was something else and it’s not that tall,,, 18 inches I would say!!! Captain America was awfully darned impressive too.

      • August 11, 2011 at 9:52 am

        Yeah, I noticed that CA had a lot of detail. I think it’s the closeness of the shot you got of Jack that really sold the reality factor. I’m sure they’re all amazing but that photo really showed just how amazing that particular one is. 😀

  2. 4 Matt Boardman
    August 10, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Wowzers! I never cease to be amazed at the level of craftmanship people display. I’m curious what you mean by sculptures are grown. Oh – and the hidden Mickey Mouse – yeah, I just about spit out my water when I read that. Too funny!!

    Plus, another great picture of Valerie! Woo!

    • 5 johneaves
      August 10, 2011 at 10:44 pm

      HAAA! sorry about your water buddy,,,,
      the difference is some artist sculpt by hand with clay and then mold and cast their pieces, others sculpt in the computer or scan an existing object and then the parts are grown in a rapid process machine.

      • 6 DeanneM
        August 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm

        We have a printer that does basically that at school…I have always in a way thought of it as cheating, but the results are AMAZING. The hand work will always be a step up to me but wouldn’t wanna miss some of the awesome grown stuff you show here.

        Great PICS my friend!

    • 7 DeanneM
      August 11, 2011 at 6:55 pm

      MAATTT – email me your phone # please.🙂

  3. 9 Richard Knapp
    August 11, 2011 at 6:09 am

    Wow! Those models and figures are increadible. I agree with you, the Jack Sparrow one is unbelievable – life like. I have a soft spot in my heart for Buck Rogers, so I thought those retro rockets where pretty cool!

    Did I read your previous post correctly – you moved to Wyoming? I spent a few weeks there many years ago, in the Laramie area, and loved it. Big sky – geeat place to have a big telescope.

    Good luck with the move and wish you well with the new home.

    Takc care,
    Richard

  4. August 12, 2011 at 5:03 am

    I’m loving these scupted figures you’re showing us, John. So much detail.

    Have to admit though, I’m not a fan of the new Captain America costume.

    • 13 johneaves
      August 12, 2011 at 7:11 am

      the sculpts are great indeed,,, I havent see C.A. yet,, dying too though

      • 14 Jay
        August 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm

        I’m much more of a purist on costumes myself, and the Cap movie costume is a little too visually busy for my taste, but I have to say, its a great flick. I was soooo worried somebody was going to try to make Cap into something he wasn’t, especially during the big one, but it does justice to the character and its an entertaining movie to boot. Right up there with the best Marvel movies.

      • August 14, 2011 at 3:49 am

        I did a review of it on my blog. I must admit I was a bit disappointed.

  5. August 12, 2011 at 10:32 am

    I hadn’t realised until recently how much 3D scanning and printing is taking over. Clearly incredible results, as shown by the Captain Jack model, but a shame for all those talented sculptors who must be put out of work by it. At least if they switch to digital sculpting they’ll always be required for original creations that can’t be simply scanned from existing objects. 3D printing is a really amazing technology, though. The idea that you can scan in or digitally model an object, then send the data to someone on the other side of the planet and in a matter of minutes they can be holding a copy in their hands has a mind boggling array of applications.

    Anyway, great pics. It looks a lot less busy than last year. Maybe people are less able to afford to go? I don’t know who buys some of those giant models either. Personally I like my merchandise small and manageable, not standing six foot tall in the corner of the room aiming a light saber in my direction! Just imagine you get up in the night for a glass of water and forget for a second that Darth Maul is downstairs!🙂

  6. 17 Jay
    August 12, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    A variation on the sexy Soriama robot turns up in a first season episode of The Venture Bros. on Cartoon Network. There’s even a character in the episode named Professor Soriama. He had an unrequited crush on a girl in college, so he built those robots with her face. I believe they were Leslie-bots🙂


Leave a Reply

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

