08
Sep
11

the 45th anniversary of Star trek, the original series


advertisement art, curtousey of Fredericks nostalgic newspaper movie ads

Holy smokes 45 years!!!!! Who ever would of thought that this little show would have spawned into what it has today!!!! The 12th movie is now in the works, we’ve enjoyed 5 television shows, and lots of cool merchandise, and out of geekdom bought lots n lots of bad merchandise. HAAA! Regardless the golden age of Television and the imagination of Gene Roddenberry, produced one incredible show in the 60’s, and on September the 8th 1966 we were introduced to Nancy, the salt monster, from the premier episode called “The Man Trap” Her terrifying debutย  started us down the path for weekly adventures with the crew of the USS Enterprise. I so loved this show but after my parents saw the opening episode deemed it to scary for me to see for at least a season. My introduction to Star Trek came with “the Doomsday Machine” and is still one of my all time favorites. Besides all the show was and is I have to say the music from that series is beyond incredible, the themes and instruments were ground breaking at the time and still to this day when you hear the theme you remember the episode. Hard to think back that being a little fan of Trek would eventually beย  a part of my life in a significant way as a livelihood starting in the late 80’s with occasional model work on TNG and full blown on Trek V working with my hero Greg Jein. Great fun and lots of great folks to work with on all of these additions and the same is true with trek 12. With all this said I want to end with a big Happy Birthday to “the Man Trap” and a big thanks to Gene for starting it all. Here are a few pics from man trap and some of the other incredible episodes from the 60’s

Nancy, I have salt Nancy!!!

The USS Enterprise

Kirk is seduced

from Doomsday machine

the USS Constelation

being drawn in

from tomorow is yesterday

tomorow is yesterday

from the arena

Gary 7

the planet killer


84 Responses to “the 45th anniversary of Star trek, the original series”


  1. September 8, 2011 at 7:11 am

    Star Trek: Boldly going where we’ve all wanted to go for 45 years.

  2. 4 Tallguy
    September 8, 2011 at 7:34 am

    It’s not just that it’s 45 years, it’s that the 40th anniversary was FIVE years ago! Too fast! TOO FAST!

    You know, she’s still a pretty ship, isn’t she?

  3. September 8, 2011 at 7:34 am

    I’m one of those who fell in love with the show after it began running in syndication. No matter what I was doing, my world stopped when Star Trek came on. It is hard to believe that this little sci-fi show that went virtually ignored when it was on network TV became the icon it is today. Movies, TV spin-offs, cartoons, record albums, hundreds of books, comic books and newspaper strips, more merchandise than any one person could ever hope to own, fan fiction, fan films, scores of websites and blogs; the list goes on and on. I think the only medium Star Trek hasn’t conquered is radio, and if I’m wrong about that someone please let me know. Other than James Bond I can’t think of any other franchise with that kind of longevity. Happy Anniversary, Star Trek … and thank you, Gene, for giving me something I still believe in even after all this time.

  4. September 8, 2011 at 8:01 am

    My friend was born Sept. 6th 1966 the same day Star Trek 1st aired here in Canada a whole 2 days before the USA. I hear they want to make another TV series which takes place after TNG. My favorite was Voyager. As a fan of Star Trek I was not thrilled the destroyed Vulcan and Killed off Spock’s mom which messes up the whole Search for Spock timeline. There has been speculation that the next film might be Space Seed which will have Khaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan

    • 10 johneaves
      September 8, 2011 at 12:49 pm

      I’m still a TOS fan by far over all of the others!!! Defiantly the shows in films built a Trek past and then altered it,, regardless it’s still going!!!

  5. 11 Richard Knapp
    September 8, 2011 at 8:06 am

    Wow! 45 years – been watching this show all my life. For a kid growing up in the late sixties and early seventies, Star Trek was it!

    Thanks for posting these great pictures and for remembering the day.

    Best regards,
    Richard

  6. September 8, 2011 at 8:26 am

    Truely a life altering experience–one of the reasons I joined the Air Force. Now Alex watches the various series but came to the conclusion that “Captain Kirk is a warrior and always tries to do right.” There is much more to Alex’s Star Trek journey but he has noticed the difference between right and wrong and how to “logically” arrive at the right decision. He also knows that once you reach that decision you have to act and accept the consequences for your actions.

  7. September 8, 2011 at 8:29 am

    Not go get too nitpicky, but there have actually been 6 TV series, not 5. Star Trek, Star Trek (the animated series,) TNG, DS9, Voyager and Enterprise.

    I grew up with TNG (I was an 80s kid) but I used to watch the originals every time I could find one on TV somewhere or on VHS tape, after we got a VCR. To me, growing up with Picard and company and those episodes being shown all the time, the originals were such a novelty to me. Of course, now they’re on DVD and anybody can enjoy them. Happy Birthday, Star Trek. The series may be 45 years old but it will live on as long as the fans let it live on. ;D

    BTW, it’s my Mom’s birthday today also, though she hates Star Trek, so I don’t think she cares that she shares a birthday with it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. September 8, 2011 at 9:09 am

    45 years – WOW! I think I was about six or seven when I saw a strange object fly across the screen one day. That would have been 1971/72, first run syndication I guess. The episode was The Doomsday Machine and I have been HOOKED ever since!

    Happy 45th to Star Trek!

    . . . and Keep On Trekkin’

    • 18 johneaves
      September 8, 2011 at 12:53 pm

      YEAH, That Doomsday machine,, what an incredible episode and wickedly perfect performances!!! far better than anything on TV today!!!

      • September 8, 2011 at 1:07 pm

        I always wanted to know what the Doomsday machine shooting miniature was made of. I know it looks like tin foil – but it was more than that. I once asked Mr. Matt Jeffries and he didn’t remember but figured it wasn’t anything too “exotic.” I have heard speculation that it was covered with blue gel (the filters like what you put on lights).

        You have any idea?

      • September 9, 2011 at 2:22 pm

        I’m with you, Chris! I also always wanted to know how Frank Van Der Veer did the space amoeba effect from The Immunity Syndrome, too. That effect still holds up well to this day, IMO, and still fascinates me.๐Ÿ™‚

      • September 9, 2011 at 2:57 pm

        Me too – although probably mineral and vegetable oils and water and inks in a pan under different lights and optically messed with. They used to have a facility in Burbank not far from that Providencia model shop. Not sure if that’s where they were when Trek was shooting but they were there through the eighties. Some of those “old-school” techniques I think are still quite usable still today – especially for elements or elements for textures. We even used burning steel wool for the phaser blast hits on the ships in Star Trek Nemesis, match-moved using motion control and composited with the CG ships later.

        Big Joe Viskocil light the fires. We had a blast.

        Today those stages at Digital Domain are now just rows and rows of digital artists. Probably with no clue about the history under their feet . . . .

      • September 13, 2011 at 3:02 pm

        I concur on all that, Chris.๐Ÿ˜‰

        FYI: Van der Veer Photo Effects is listed as being over in Westlake Village: http://www.corporationwiki.com/California/Westlake-Village/van-der-veer-photo-effects/39596377.aspx

      • 23 Robert Minnes
        September 27, 2011 at 6:39 am

        @Chris, According to the recent book “Star Trek: The Original Series 365” (coincidently a glorious celebration of classic trek) the Doomsday Machine was actually what it looked like, a reinforced wind vane.

  9. September 8, 2011 at 10:21 am

    I have been watching Star Trek for 24 years. I was 4 years old when TNG premiered, along with TOS reruns I was hooked young. My father and I would watch it together, it was our show, and it has been an incredible journey ever since; one of adventure, aspiration and hope. I will never forget the way the show fascinated and inspired me as a child and still does so to this day. I will never forget the way the salt vampire from “The Man Trap” or the destruction of commander Remmick and the queen parasite in “Conspiracy” terrified me as a child. That was the joy of watching a show like this when one is young, is that your imagination runs wild with the fun and the scary.

    With 11 movies, 5 TV series, and a cartoon, Star Trek indeed is the most wonderful, well-versed, human space adventure ever told. Growing up with TNG and TOS gave me an appreciation and love of TOS, being able to look beyond the budget restraints and use the imagination to fill in the gaps, that is one aspect of what made it fun.

    With many fans in an uproar, I am happy with the way the Star Trek movie series is progressing, but it does need tweaking. I am hoping we get a new TV series soon, one which takes a page from the original series, in the original universe. A fresh adventure but back to the basics with the moral and philosophical issues we love so much. I crave those weekly adventures again, that is the way this story of the trek through the stars is meant to be told.

    Kudos to Gene Roddenberry, Gene L Coon, Matt Jefferies and all the countless visionaries and dreamers. To Alexander Courage, who wrote the original theme and Jerry Goldsmith who wrote the ever so noble Motion Picture theme which to me is the musical epitome of Star Trek. To Lucille Ball of Desilu Studios who believed in the show and the message of Gene Roddenberry. Not to mention everyone involved in the subsequent series who continued this dream we all share. I humbly and with humility thank everyone from the bottom of my heart.

    As Scott Bakula said, if he could use one word to describe Star Trek it would be “hope”.

    Happy 45th Birthday Star Trek!!!!!

  10. September 8, 2011 at 11:32 am

    I feel in love with the Trek when TNG first aired here in the UK, but quickly got into TOS.

    I’m not surprised that the franchise has lasted 45 years. Quality always endures and like Shakespeare, Gene Roddenberry spoke to basic Human needs and dreams which are everlasting and so, therefore, are the stories he told.

  11. September 8, 2011 at 11:42 am

    As bad as this sounds, I can’t imagine life without it. Star Trek sets the imagination free and the universe is the limit.

  12. September 8, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    45 years dam I remember when everyone was excited that it was the 25th Anerversay. Lets hope Paramount/ CBS will do something special for the 50th.

    Star Trek TOS episodes may looked dated compaired to sci-fi show on TV today, but one things for sure. The Enterprise is still a beauty, and weather you are watching any of the shows or movies (inculding the episode/ films you hate.), you will always get lost in the Universe that Gene created.

    I doubt that there will ever be another TV show’s/ Movies that have changes so many people lives like Star Trek has done.

  13. September 8, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Happy Birthday!๐Ÿ™‚

  14. September 8, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    I have to say, being a fan of this show for my entire life has really spoken to me.

    Getting a chance to actually work on THE Enterprise, thanks to James Cawley, was literally a dream come true. Because of that opportunity to work as a camera operator and cinematographer on the Enterprise, I have some very unique memories of the future.

    By the way, if you are ever pulling a 20+ hour shift on the Big E, there are nice cozy spots with room to stretch in front of the viewscreen and the helm/nav station. Almost everywhere else on the bridge is too curved to get comfy in. Sickbay has a few beds … but they tip over if you get up too fast!

    • 35 johneaves
      September 9, 2011 at 5:46 am

      Star Trek has really birthed a lot of dreams in so many people and it always has that little something extra when you get to see parts of the show first hand or as your saying get to be a part of it.. I so agree and know what your talking about.

  15. September 8, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Hey, six series, mister! Don’t be dis-in’ TAS (the animated series)!

    Ah, I remember the day, watching with my family, and my life would never be the same. Since I was only 4 days shy of my fourth b’day, it’s not like there was a lot to change, LOL! But, it did set the course for the rest of my life, no doubt.

    Happy Birthday, Star Trek !!! And thanks Gene!๐Ÿ™‚

    peace & bananas | deg

    PS. See ya in a hour or so, Johnny-boy!๐Ÿ˜‰

    • September 8, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      Ha, and “GORN” is my license plate! Yeah, I’m a Trek Geek. TOS Lives!๐Ÿ˜€

      • September 8, 2011 at 4:42 pm

        BTW, that artwork up top is by renowned American artist James Bama. He is most famous in pop-culture for doin’ the Aurora’s monster model kit’s cover art. We met him in 2010 at WonderFest. He was like 90 years young. That guy’s spirit and smile is an inspiration to live by.๐Ÿ™‚

  16. September 8, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    “Kirk is seduced” LMAO!!

    BTW, it’s just “ARENA” not “the arena.”

  17. 42 MickRC
    September 8, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    We only had a CBS and a NBC station locally when I was growing up. You’d think because Star Trek was on NBC it would have been on our TV but through a long standing agreement the local stations had the option to show the ABC programming instead of their own network if they wanted – and so Star Trek was not shown the first season in southeastern Idaho. Enough fuss was made that the decision was reversed for season two. I didn’t see any episodes until the second season. It wasn’t until cable and syndication that I saw the entire series.

    • 43 johneaves
      September 9, 2011 at 5:44 am

      HAAA Yeah we went through a lot of that limited reception , we had Star Trek, but we didn’t have the Twilight Zone or for a while Hitchcock presents

  18. 44 Lee S
    September 8, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Deg, that gentleman at WonderFest was Ray Meyers, an original Aurora kit sculptor. He was incredible! We WISH we could get James Bama, but doubt that will happen. Never say never!

    I don’t know if I was watching “Man Trap” 45 years ago. I remember other first runs, especially “City on the Edge of Forever.” My family was poor so we didn’t have color TV. Used to talk my parents into going to Lum’s restaurant on the nights when Star Trek, Batman, and Lost in Space were on. Seeing them in color on the restaurant’s TV was a huge thrill.

    S-F was so looked down upon then. Just re-read an article that said Roddenberry’s dad went out an apologized to his neighbors for Star Trek. For those of us who grew up in the 60’s with space travel on the brain, Trek was just the best present a kid could hope for!

    With the classic show, it’s interesting to realize how episodes become more or less meaningful upon re-viewing. And how different and believable the Enterprise design was. Matt Jefferies will always be a design hero to me.

    Lastly, it’s been such a thrill to get to know John Eaves, Rick Sternbach, Andy Probert, and other folks who have carried on the “mission.”

    • 45 johneaves
      September 9, 2011 at 5:42 am

      LEE!!!! I don’t remember if I saw those early shows in color or in B&W!!! WE were a B&W TV family for what seemed LIKE forever….. Anyways I love your stories and the feeling is mutual meeting Rick, Andy, the Okuda’s and Doug, were all big days. Your the best Lee and meeting you and all the gang at Wonderfest,,, even more fun.

    • September 9, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      Oh, that’s right, thanks for the correction, Lee! Me Aurora factoid wires got crossed. Well then, Ray, he was such a joy to be around, and a great example of how to live life and smile.๐Ÿ™‚

      And yeah, B&W for years into the early 70’s for my family, too. Gosh it took like over 10 minutes for our old B&W tube- based(!) set to warm up for the picture to finally come in. Too funny with all the big beautiful HD TVs we have today!

      peace & bananas | deg

      • 47 Lee S
        September 11, 2011 at 10:09 am

        Color was significant because it was new to TV, and the lighting and color design of Trek was really intense. Same with Batman and the Irwin Allen shows. Some of the color was probably excessive to push color TV sales, but it made it extra-compelling for kids. And I still love it! All the Treks carried the color legacy forward. Been watching Enterprise on Netflix–every episode looks like a feature film. Just beautiful in HD.

        I didn’t have color TV until I was on my own and married. ๐Ÿ™‚

        And deg, Ray Myers was indeed a joy to be around. He and his son were as nice as they could be. It was Ray’s “outing,” as he had no idea he would be greeted like a rock start by modeling fans. Isn’t it wonderful he lived to see the impact he made? I was so proud to be part of giving him that opportunity. He was still so sharp!

        Lee

      • September 12, 2011 at 4:16 pm

        Star Trek: Brought to you in Living Colorโ„ข by The NBC Peacockโ„ข

        And yeah, that is way-cool you got to be such a big part of Ray’s outing, Lee.๐Ÿ™‚

  19. September 8, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Sitting here watching “The Man Trap” and getting that good old feeling again – like it was thirty years ago!

    (I know – full on GEEK comment)

  20. 58 r0wl
    September 9, 2011 at 6:58 am

    Oh boy…. I am 21 now, but because germans love Star Trek, there where a lot of re-runs on TV. So, Tos was really the FIRST TV-Series that really hooked me (I was about 5 or 6, way before Star Wars. Tng was already on screen, but i liked Kirk and Spock more, it was later on my teen-years that I learned to enjoy the sophisticated Picard). Besides its campy look and trashy storys, I think no other Star Trek-Series until today had such a large numer of unique an interesting ideas. And to be honest: I would really enjoy a possible new Series being at least a bit more trashy like Tos;)
    I like the new Movie, but in comparison it doesnยดt hold up. The old series told interesting storys and made a point by NOT showing bald, planet-destroying villains. (Common, tell me ONE Tos-Episode where the antagonist was really evil! Even the Klingons where shown to just have an alternative communist-like gouvernement!)
    Hope that future series or movies (after the upcomming J.J-Trilogie, which really is the Star WARS- Prequel we all hoped to see) are set again in the old timeline to honour Gene Roddenberrys Ideas and tell a bold and optimistic future!
    Btw: Being grown up with the german dub of Tos, where Kirk has a strong, leading-manly voice and speaks fluently, I still have problems….. with! ….The! Original-Shatner(!)…..Voice!

  21. 60 Jeff Wright
    September 9, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    I was born on Sept 22, 1966, so I’m about as old as trek is.

  22. 62 the bluesman
    September 9, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Well, thanks John. I am gonna be 45 in a couple months. Way to make a guy feel old. ha ha

    I caught my first taste of star Trek when I was a wee lad in Illinois in the early 1970’s. No cable, no HD, and only 3 stations. The reception was even that great and we liked it! You kids today with your ,,,sorry…

    I thought the Enterprise was the coolest thing ever and the stuff the censors worried about in the sixties ( a black woman officer on the bridge and an alien as an officer) didn’t even phase me. At first I just thought everything was cool and loved the Enterprise blowing up stuff.

    Later on as I got older Star Trek started making me think about stuff. I enjoyed Rockford files too, but Rockford didn’t make me think. One of my favorite trek moments is from the cage, where Pike and Boyce are talking and we see the pressures of command and Pike makes the comment that hes tired of command, tired of deciding who is on a landing party…tired of deciding who lives and who dies. Brilliant. Starship command is probably a pretty big deal and in the very first show we see a captain considering walking away from it.

    Its easy to bash TOS trek for cheesy sets and bad effects, but remember folks in the mid 1960s Treks effects were advanced and cutting edge for the time. And the Enterprise D and E sets are still just plywood and paint too.

    As far as the TOS E.Mr Jefferiea got it right. Guts on the inside so you don’t have to do an eva to make repairs.

    A logical well planned command bridge. And even though it was designed almost 50 years ago, the TOS E still looks like something from the future not the past.

    then 1979came along and we got that beautiful fly by of the space dock and the new enterprise. My first thought was “Who designed that? She is gorgeous!”

    25 years later I am standing in a hotel in Louisville having a conversation with Mr Andrew Probert. We didn’t even talk about the enterprise that much, we talked more about design. Which was a thrill for me.

    Everyone has their favorite series ships and characters and Trek memories. These are a few of mine. Great post John and we appreciate your part in what you have done for Trek

    • 63 johneaves
      September 12, 2011 at 9:12 pm

      Thanks Justin and always love to read your heartfelt comments and experiences!!!

      • 64 the bluesman
        September 14, 2011 at 8:39 am

        Well I got to meet you a year later at WF 2006 and again in 2009.

        I am not sure whats cooler, meeting you and Andrew or when Caroline Munro called me this summer!

      • September 14, 2011 at 3:05 pm

        Cool. Why did Caroline Munro call you, dude?

      • 66 the bluesman
        September 15, 2011 at 7:39 am

        That’s a long story. We had a thing back in the 80’s. I had to break it off with her. She wanted her Roxy Music records back. Ha ha

        The truth is one my friends did a very nice thing for me. I couldn’t make Wonderfest this year and he knew I was a fan of Caroline. He went to her table and asked Ms Munro if she’d do him a favor and give me a buzz. He dialed me up and handed her the phone. I had no clue it was coming..the phone rang I saw it was Dan’s number, but it wasn’t Dan on the phone. What I heard was “Justin? Hello love, it’s Caroline.”

        And we talked about 5 minutes. Really nice conversation.

        It’s quite an experience when a someone you have had a boyhood crush on for 30 years calls you.

      • September 15, 2011 at 2:07 pm

        Nice, dude!๐Ÿ™‚

  23. 68 JNG
    September 10, 2011 at 10:45 am

    What can I say but this: I’m still watching it.

  24. 70 Matt Boardman
    September 11, 2011 at 12:02 am

    What a series this is! I dare say divinely inspired. This show and the others that followed have so enriched my life and I am forever thankful for those who boldy created this marvel! Who knew that 45 years later, people all over the world would be saying “Happy 45th, Star Trek!”?

    “Message, Spock?”

    “None that I’m conscious of. Except of course; happy birthday – Surely the best of times.”

  25. September 11, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    One of my favorite blooper reel moments comes from Doomsday Machine. Spock is trying to relieve Decker after he takes over the Enterprise, but forgets his line: “If you don’t veer off, I will . . . blow my brains out.”

  26. 74 Scott D
    September 12, 2011 at 1:01 am

    Gene would be sure proud of his legacy still going strong and continuing to inspire people from all over the world.

    And of course talk of a new Trek TV series that continues off after Nemesis with a new cast. If that doesn’t go through, I got an idea for a final TNG era movie. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  27. September 12, 2011 at 1:52 am

    WOW 45 Years…I remember the 25th…Time flies at warp speed.

  28. 79 Robert Minnes
    September 12, 2011 at 7:31 am

    Ah those ships, those ships, they’ve got me hooked ever since…For me though it’s the 38th birthday, the year Star Trek was for the first time aired over here (so technically that makes me a first run watcher, no :)), The Netherlands. A pup of eleven, my parents did me a great service of allowing me to watch.

  29. September 12, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Being a fan of Star Trek there was one thing that bothered me that there was never a Canadian crew member sure there were Canadian Actors but Canada was forever lost in space albeit just a few mentions of Canada from someone thinking Riker was a Canadian and Canadian strain of wheat that killed the tribbles.

    • 82 johneaves
      September 12, 2011 at 9:02 pm

      i don’t believe there were any Canadians on board because they did not serve back bacon in the mess hall Ah

      • September 13, 2011 at 2:57 am

        I only hope with the new talked about new Trek series there will finally be a Canadian on board to say Canada made it to the future and that Canadians can have someone to relate to and be proud of

  30. October 27, 2011 at 9:49 am

    A great post, and I was pleasantly surprised to see you used one of the graphics I had posted on my Scrapbook site! Thanks for the honor! Without Trek my younger years would have been a lot less exciting and enjoyable. They would have been less endurable as well, since Trek was my one happiness that kept me positive despite a mean and domineering stepfather who hated Trek because I loved it. The characters, the designs, the music as you mentioned, all were a part of my good memories of the time and nothing, NOTHING was as exciting or pleasing as catching the show when the parents were gone, or finding something to collect about it, which I then hid in my grandma’s guest room closet.


Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

