08
Nov
11

bat’leth, swordplay


Howdy all does anyone out there have a bat’leth and does sword play with one,,, I have questions about how they handle,, If you do give me ago and let me know how I can reach you!!! thanks.


27 Responses to “bat’leth, swordplay”


  1. November 8, 2011 at 9:26 am

    I’ve wanted one for years but, sadly, they’re financially out of my grasp. Though, I’d probably just hang it on the wall and whip it out when company came over to show off my supreme geekiness instead of actually swinging it, if I had one. 😉

  2. 2 Samuel Noyes
    November 8, 2011 at 10:29 am

    In the UK a guy was arrested for possessing a Bat’leth and threatening people with it….a police officer said it could easily decapitate😉 http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article49507.ece

  3. 4 Boris Škrbić
    November 8, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Why not email its inventor, Dan Curry?

    http://dancurrygallery.com/

  4. 6 Shane Cornwall
    November 8, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Hi, I made my own out of a thick piece of aluminium about 15 years ago. Complete with leather hide hand grips. I’ve never had a duel with anyone with it due to it certainly could kill someone and it cost me a lot of time and a fair bit of money to make and so don’t want to damage it. It is aluminium after all! It’s had pride of place on my sitting room wall ever since. There is a couple of pictures on my facebook page. I would like to learn how to use it properly. I didn’t go to any effort to balance it but it does handle well.

    • 7 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 8:53 pm

      wow that’s cool and I’m sure that piece of Aluminum cost you good,, Your probably partially deaf from the screams that metal made running through the band saw, HAAA! What,,, What did you say!!!

  5. November 9, 2011 at 6:09 am

    Always wanted one, But never had the money to get one.
    maybe when the kids leave home.😉

    A few years ago when the Birtish police was asking the public to hand in knife they carry, A few Bat’leth where handed in along with the Klingon Knife. (I can’t remember the name of it…. well there a sgin I have not watched enough trek recently!! Time to get the old DVD colleaction out.😉 )

  6. 12 JNG
    November 9, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    I played around with a few.

    My impression was that it would be very difficult to sort out the weight issues for a real-world equivalent; as shown on screen, it looked slim enough that it’d be fragile when made of available materials instead of futuristic alien superalloys—and yet if you bulked it up it could very quickly become excessively weighty for the kinds of flowing movements for which it was designed. I’m not the world’s biggest guy and have to be very attentive to the weight of a blade during rotational and leverage-based movements.

    I do know that Dan Curry felt strongly that it had been designed around aforementioned flowing movements, and not what “choppers” do with it. While it could of course serve for the latter, we have to imagine Klingons have a great variety of melee weapons and that plenty of them would be better choices for that (the ‘alngegh axe, for example).

    • 13 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 8:49 pm

      on screen the blades are made for safety so they really do little as far as a balanced weapon. Dan Curry the creator has one of his own and is made correctly to the specks that this blade needed to be.. his play is pretty amazing with this huge beast.. It often happens when a real knowledgeable designer gets involved with a movie or show and comes up with something perfect.. Anything with rules or disciplines usually have their soul torn away and all that is important is that it looks mean with who ever is holding it on camera,, I’m sure Dan cry’s over this one often.

  7. 16 Thomas.
    November 12, 2011 at 3:49 am

    In real life, a Bat’leth would not be a practical weapon. From what we see, the bat’leth is sharpened on the inside, which means the actual design of it makes it impossible to cut with, unless you were to use the tips of them. Tips like that would be to fragile to do any deep cutting with, since the hardening and tempering would make that tip to brittle to survive any long term cutting against Klingon armour. It might be able to work as a stabbing weapon, but the curve on the tips would make it impractical as a true stabbing weapon.

    Then, considering the size of these things, and how incredibly thick they are on screen, and where you grab them, they have no real proper center of balance I feel. In a real sword (I’m not talking stainless steel wallhangers here) the balance point would be about 4 inches away from the guard. This various from sword to sword, depending on what sword of blade it is (cutting, stabbing, cutting/stabbing). This means there is more weight in the blade, giving it momentum when you swing it. A bat’leth would hardly have this, since you grab the weapin in the middle. This would mean more effort when you are trying to wield it.
    Now, a lot of fans would say that Klingons are the ultimate bada###s and can do all that fancy bat’leth play, but in the end, they are soldiers. They care about what is effective and efficient. The bat’leth really isn’t it.

    That being said, I’d still love to have one to hang on my wall since I’m a Trek-fan. But as a weapon, they really are badly designed.

    • 17 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 8:43 pm

      very cool and well thought out note!!! You defiantly know your material and you answered more qustions than I thought I had. Thanks

  8. 18 Scott D
    November 13, 2011 at 11:41 am

    John’s asking for a Bat’elth and how they handle? I think someone’s trying to out do Doug Drexler’s gun slinging. 😛

    But Zero’s Youtube link had one guy really doing some nice swordplay. Really shows they could become real weapons in martial arts. Props for their creation.

    • 19 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 8:40 pm

      very cool,, I found a lot of good and lot of very bad youtubes on the subject,, I was amazed at how many people have made these blades and taught themselves how to use them

  9. 20 Matt Boardman
    November 15, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    John! I actually had the opportunity to play with a screen used one last Monday! I just left you a voicemail!

  10. 22 Aresius
    November 16, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    I used to have one. It’s almost like fighting with a shortened bo-staff. Only that you shouldn’t touch the farthest ends.
    It’s surprisingly vesatile, actually. At first I thought it’s only effective in choreographic fights (like in the shows), but when I fought and won my first freestyle battle against another bat’leth wielder, I realised that’s it’s less about choreography (that only makes it look epic and stylish) and more about adapting staff-fighting techniques.

    Then I fought against a classical sword (like Worf fought against Duras) and even there I won, though if we’d’ve used real blades, I’d’ve had actually lost an arm…
    So, it’s actually doable, you just need to adapt known forms and techniques and tweak them a bit.

    After that I fought a few other battles, also against more than one opponent. I must say, it’s o´more useful that you’d imagine on first tought.

    • 23 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      I would always spin them around on DS9 and I would always limp away after that big honking blade would come around and hit me in the shin, HAAA! You sound like a pro fighter,, so glad to read your comments!!!

  11. 24 Paul
    February 16, 2012 at 10:56 am

    Hummm, you wouldn’t be designing a new Bat’leth for the next movie would you?😉

    I remember some fan wrote a book on Klingon martial arts a few years back but it wasn’t allowed to be sold for rights reasons.

  12. February 21, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I have a modified LARP bat’leth – it was shortened down to 42 inches to count as a “one-handed” weapon – meaning I could use it as an off-hand weapon or a main weapon as I chose. It handled really nicely, and had the huge advantage of being a major unknown that few could deal with. It was designed so you could spin it, manoeuvre it around easily, and threaten people in novel ways. As a shortened weapon it had the disadvantage of lack of reach compared to a sword, and as a LARP weapon without proper strengthening it couldn’t do everything it should have been able to, but it still worked well for catching weapons much like a sai, and LARP-wise, I found that no-one would argue with you once you had their throat between the outer blades…😉 It was fun as a second weapon, but I did love it as a main weapon – it was very good for moving from hand to hand, which tended to put opponents off.

    It also has amazing recognition value – at the LARP meet where I bought it, I still remember wandering around the camp with its maker who had its twin, and watching people staring, with one guy calling out “Isn’t that a Star Trek sword?” before catching his mouth as his friends all realised he knew ‘too much’ about Trek (this was in the early 90s when it was less-well known).

    I would love one day to build a proper one with appropriate strengthening, and a full-size one as well.

    • 27 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 8:34 pm

      Howdy Niall and thanks for the detailed note,,, your comments really helped me out a lot and can’t thank you enough for this note!!!! You should build your proper Bat’leth and make a recording of your style.. That would be so cool to see.


Leave a Reply

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

