14
Feb
12

Arizonza turns 100


I Had a moment to get on with a quick post wishing my home state a happy 100th, I’m on the road so sorry for no pictures just text!!! To most February is Valentines day but to Arizonan’s it a magical day, and it is so hard to belive the state is only 100 years old!!! I was born and raised here and moved away at the age of 23 to pursue a career in Hollywood,, On weekends and in between jobs I would head home for as long as I could stay. As much as I love my job I would gladly leave CALIFORNIA to do the same thing or something similar back home in Beautiful HOT Arizona!!! All of my greatest memories and inspirations came from here. The Wallace and Ladmo show, Wagon wheel Kiddieland, Legend City, Pioneer Arizona, TheKing Rangers, A J Bayless, The Pop Shoppe, Drive in movies, The Cine Capri, the Kachina, theater, the Sombrero theater, Darcy’s Discoveries (the Store Where I discovered Cinefex Magazine and the wide world of Comics) Christown, Tower Plaza, the Sugar Bowl, Bethany Bible church, Town and Country Mall, Manns Christown theater, CamelBack Mountain, Luke AFB, The Phoenix wax Museum, Squaw Peak, the Hamburger Works, Peter Piper Pizza, Reatta Pass, The Cook Shack, and Greasewood Flats.  Hero’s, Musicians, teachers, and legendary figures such as Robert McCall, Alice Cooper, Chuck Bell, Darlene Goto, My parents Jim and Fran Eaves, My sister Christi with an I, Steven Spielberg, The Tubes, and Sharon Kelly  Movies that were filmed in my state like, Used Cars, Flight of the Phoenix, Raising Arizona, and Psycho. Great friends like Rod Andrewson, Jeff Goff, Steve Boltz, & Brian Sikon. As in all of our lives we have special places, memories and friends and it’s always fun to reminice,, If your from Arizona, a lot of the above mentioned will probobly stir memories for you as well.. If your not from here I hope my brief moments of recelection can emphasise what a wonderful State Arizona is. So with all that said, Happy Birthday Arizona and happy 100th.


10 Responses to “Arizonza turns 100”


  1. 1 Tallguy
    February 14, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Wow, John. That was quite a list. I’m a little surprised you left off Ed Debevic’s and Farrell’s!

    Do you remember the one screen movie house on Bethany Home just west of 19th ave? http://cinematreasures.org/theaters/4371 I saw The Black Hole there (just like the first poster in that link, apparently). I saw Star Trek: The Motion Picture at the upstairs cinema at Christown and I saw Raiders of the Lost Ark at Mann’s. Of course I saw The Empire Strikes Back and Battlestar Galactica (IN SENSOROUND!) at the Capri. Ahhhhhh.

    About ten years ago I climbed Squaw Peak with a buddy of mine from Chicago who fell head over heals for the southwest and it’s lack of snow. We looked out over the valley and he said “Can you imagine what this would look like without all the smog?” I told him I didn’t have to imagine, I remember.

    DARCY’S DISCOVERIES! You have got to be freaking kidding me. 🙂 That was the first place I ever found that had Doctor Who books. I don’t recall Darcy, but I had several friends that knew her very well. She was quite a character apparently.

    Thanks for the birthday wish, John. Come visit soon.

    • 2 Marc Fraley
      February 15, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      I remember Farrell’s and a smog free view of the valley as well! Here are few more for you to remember; Dave Nichols on KOOL news, Yellow Front, Big Surf (with sand), Old Tucson, the Paramount Theater (in Casa Grande), Metro Center (when it was cool!), Tastee Freeze, Jaycee’s Rodeo parade, cotton fields, KPHO channel 5, Pat McMahon, Picacho Peak, less crowded freeways, less freeways, Beeline Dragway (still there, but in ruins), Manzanita Raceway, and many good times playing in the desert. It’s fun to remember.

  2. February 14, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    I’ve neber been, but my parents have visited Phoenix a few times and they’re always reluctant to return home. Something about that part of the country has always called out to me and I’ve often said that if I ever found my way out there I’d likely never come back.

    Happy 100, Arizona! Does anyone remember a pop tune that was on the radio in the 1970’s called “Arizona”? Can’t recall who performed it, but I loved that song as a kid.

  3. 6 Marc Fraley
    February 15, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Great and appropriate entry John! I am an Arizona native as well and moved back here (Mesa) after retiring from the Air Force. During my tenure in the military, I lived in several different places including California and I have to say, nothing beats Arizona in my opinion. Thanks for rekindling some great memories!

  4. February 23, 2012 at 12:41 am

    You know you visit John’s site too much when you skim the initial post title and think its a photoshoot of a girl called Arizona :-p

  5. February 28, 2012 at 8:27 am

    I live in Arizona too and agree there’s a lot to like about living here. I watched “Raising Arizona” when I lived in New York and figured it was an exaggerated view of Arizona. Turns out I was half right. LOL

  6. 9 Dwreck321
    March 11, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Arizona’s pretty cool I’ll give it that. I recall planning a vacation a few years back based on where the theaters were so we could watch Harry Potter part III on opening night… Flagstaff Arizona was our port of call so we wouldn’t miss out. It was part of the great Hole in the Ground tour, 2004. Although I did stand on a corner in Winslow Arizona I was saddened not to see a girl in a flat bed Ford.

    I’m kind of surprised though, I came here half expecting to see something about the passing of Ralph McQuarrie last week and neither here nor at Drexfiles do I see a word mentioned.

  7. March 19, 2012 at 12:29 am

    John left out a lot, but that’s Arizona. We have so much that has come, gone and stayed. (Sorry to come in late, but I haven’t stopped here for a while, but then it looks like John hasn’t been around much either. )

    Like Metrocenter, Golf n Stuff(now Castles and Coasters), Websters Hobby Shop, Starship Fantasy, Encanto Park, Scholar’s(toy store), Nello’s Pizza, Cox Homes(family business), etc.

    Weather reports from Stu Tracy, I’ll never forget him throwing suns on the state map.

    How about something Trek Related, the TOS shuttlecraft was built in Arizona.

    Kiddieland? Holy cow that goes way back. If it’s the same place I’m thinking of, I have pics.

    Wallace and Ladmo, it just wouldn’t be home without them. A little aside the Wallace and Ladmo stage is still standing at the state fair grounds.


Leave a Reply

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

