30
Mar
12

Katherine McCoy and pinup friday


Howdy all and welcome to another addition of pinup Friday.   Today I would like to introduce you to the ever lovely Katherine McCoy of Apple Valley California. I saw Katherine’s portfolio many years ago and I wrote her a note immediately about setting up a shoot. I quickly found out that Katherine rarely got on her Model mayhem page and my message sat in limbo for a good year or so….. Whenever I would come across her page I would drop another note and finally one day last year She got my message and we were able to set up a shoot… We met at Thompson’s Aviation yard and shot on the East side of the site. I borrowed one of the Pan Am uniforms from the Sony lot and that was our first theme.. Thank goodness for the new TV show about Pan Am which made it possible for us to get a really great 60’s style outfit. It fit Kate like a glove and Mark Thompson moved one of his airline ramps up next to a jet fuselage he had and that made for the backdrop of our shoot. The ramp was a bit higher than the door on the jet so we cheated  and shot low angles to help cheat the setups. Katerine really did an awesome job and really captured the era to a “T”.  We got a lot of great pix around that jet and I look forward to posting more as they get edited.. Our next theme was the beloved Red dress and again Kate made the theme sing like it we were back in the 60’s. She added a lot of her own magic to the red dress and can’t wait to put up more… For our final theme before subset we concocted a stylized pilot outfit  and once she was all ready to go, her appearance transformed from a perfect pin up look, to sultry Soviet cold war spy look. Mark had an old Russian helicopter on the back of his lot and we ran over and took my favorite pictures of the day!!! It was a long wait to work with Katherine but it was well worth it… I love the pictures we took and am so glad to have had the opportunity..  Kate is great and I so hope our schedules will allow for another shoot sometime. When not modeling you’ll find Katherine in college studying food and nutrition and her dream is to land a job as a pastry chef at one of the many Disney resorts.. One of her passions is to help those that have been stricken with cancer, (that’s a subject close to my heart) and she volunteers at the American cancer Society. She is currently training for her second relay for life race and I wish her the best in noble pursuits. Heroes are an occasional subject here on the blog and I would have to say Katherine falls into that category. Thanks for fighting for those that can’t!!!!! For more pix of Kate follow the link below and have a look at some of her early modeling.  http://www.modelmayhem.com/800281


16 Responses to “Katherine McCoy and pinup friday”


  1. March 31, 2012 at 1:02 am

    Oh man, those B&W shots are stunning; and you got “The Dress” out! Those trek shots look really good too!

    The Life magazine shot is my favourite though because I actually thought it was a real shot for a minute there.

  2. 4 Matt Boardman
    March 31, 2012 at 1:34 am

    Those eyes! Those eyes! They are so beautiful and forgive me as I get a little lost in them. Wow.

    Fantastic pictures, John! I love the Pan Am ones and the aviatrix ones are just top notch. Lady in Red! Well done, Ms. McCoy!

    • 5 johneaves
      March 31, 2012 at 7:25 am

      Howdy Matt n thanks,,,, I have to agree.. She does have quite a set of bewitching eyes, I shot more close ups than medium shots because of Kate’s eyes,,, She really can draw you in for a closer look both on the photographic end as well as the viewers end…. This was a very fun shoot and Kate has such a confident style…. HAAAA! because of the way the sun was going down she had it in her eyes constantly and she had a to fight a lot of tears and burn outs,,,,, especially the shot where she is siting in the Russian copter.

  3. March 31, 2012 at 7:47 am

    John,

    Great to see you back to posting again…this is by far on of the most beautiful models you have worked with so far..she reminds me of a young Julie Newmar…the Pan Am Life cover very cool, did you take a real cover and insert her into it or did you mock it all up?

    Terry

    • 7 johneaves
      March 31, 2012 at 8:29 am

      howdy n thanks,,, it’s a mix of a real cover with a new life logo put on top of the old one, At the yard there was a partial fusalage with the actual Pan Am text across the side so that to was added via photoshop..

  4. March 31, 2012 at 8:45 am

    She’s a really pretty lady and it sounds like she’s very nice too. Those are some awesome pics. I love the red dress and the pilot getup, but my favorite shots are the Pan Am ones, especially the mock cover you did. It looks fantastic. It’s a good thing they were making that series and you were able to borrow the uniform. 🙂

  5. March 31, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    Katherine is a really stunner and looks game for anything.
    I am really loving those B&W. But it is the second B&W red dress pic, that stand out for me.
    Here eyes really pull you in.

  6. March 31, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    Beautiful woman. The dsc08416.jpg hauntingly echoes Amelia Earhart.

  7. 12 Buckaroohawk
    April 1, 2012 at 1:40 am

    Every time I think we’ve seen your best pinup shots you somehow manage to outdo yourself. This is an amazing set and borrowing the Pan Am flight attendant suit was a great idea. The magazine cover mock-up really captures the spirit of adventure that followed the rise of the major airlines back then. As always, well done, sir!

    A few people have mentioned Ms. McCoy’s resemblance to Julie Newmar. I can see it, but I think she looks more like Tricia Helfer from Battlestar Galactica … which ain’t a bad thing at all!

  8. April 12, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    John,

    Outstanding black and whites! You da Mon! One of the b/w’s reminds me of a b/w I did when my world was young…

  9. April 12, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Additional, it helps greatly when you have a great looking model!!!

  10. April 16, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    Is that a HIND? Where is this place at?


Leave a Reply

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

