17
May
12

the Road Warrior cover art


Howdy all,  this Monday marks the 30th Anniversary of one of my all time favorite movies, “THE ROAD WARRIOR.”  I was racing the clock to get this art work done, printed and mailed so I could get the May 21st Post Mark from Burbank…just made it and got them in the mail today.  I usually draw the art for the Motion Picture covers but this time I was only allowed time for a photoshop montage.  Here are the two versions created, and I would love to get some feed back on which version works best….

Thanks

version 1

version 2

31 Responses to “the Road Warrior cover art”


    • May 17, 2012 at 1:40 pm

      ps: If it were Road warriors then version 1 would be perfect, since it Road Warrior version 2 focuses on just the one car and person

      • 3 johneaves
        May 17, 2012 at 2:04 pm

        The lone warrior was my first pass and then the version withe the truck came second,,, as much as I liked the truck version it pulled away from Max.. Thanks for the note,,, and I agree

  1. May 17, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    These look great and I like both.
    But for me it’s version 2. I love Mad Max 2 and when some one mention it the first thing I think off is Interceptor and Max himself.

    While Version 1 is good, Max and the Interceptor don’t stand out with the other vehicles.

    Its a shame that the 1973 XB GT Ford Falcon Coupe was a exclusive to Australia.
    Would not mind getting my hand on one of those. ;)

  2. May 17, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    Definitely #2. The whole undefined mayhem in the background with our battered warrior in front. And, as stated, it was singular (warrior). Warriors makes me think of clinking bottles.

    Sweet work on both.

  3. 8 David
    May 17, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    I prefer version #1 myself.

  4. 11 JNG
    May 17, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Version 1 is busy indeed—but I think that sense of chaos suits the world of the film.

  5. 12 DeanneM
    May 18, 2012 at 12:43 am

    2…for the reasons already said. I like to be different or go for the underdog, but 2 is just more Max. :)

    • 13 john eaves
      May 18, 2012 at 12:28 pm

      If I recall you had taken a fancy to Mr. Gibson back in the day!!! Thanks for the big time edit on the Conan piece,, The big Road Warrior anniversary is this Monday n can’t wait..

  6. May 18, 2012 at 3:08 am

    I like Version 2 better, as it makes Max the focus. And also allows room if a client wants to put some sort of blurb in there. Version 1 is probably a more balanced composition, but the truck seems to pull attention away from Max. Too bad there wasn’t room for Vernon Wells’ psycho Wez character though.

    • 15 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 11:33 am

      I had bigger plans for this but had no time and Wez was a part of it,, perhaps I’ll put that one back on the drawing board.. Can’t put attachments on here so I’ll email you my fav piece of art from the Road Warrior,, I don’t know what this was for but it came out of Japan and the artist is incredible,, He captured the movie to a T,, I’ll post this one on the Monday blog as well.

      • May 18, 2012 at 2:15 pm

        Thanks for the email, that’s a great image. So many memorable characters. . .Emil Minty’s Feral Kid, Pappagallo, Humongous, The Toady who gets his fingers chopped off, and of course Bruce Spence as the Gyro Captain with his guard-snake. Someone stole my copy 20 years ago, guess it’s time for me to get the dvd.

  7. 17 Matt Boardman
    May 18, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Going to throw my lot in for #2 as well! It keeps the focus on Max and there’s just something menacing about that storm in the background!

  8. 19 the bluesman
    May 18, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    John, gotta say version two because it focuses Max and on the Pursuit Special better and the smoke fire in the background capture the feel of the feel of chaos, no rules and the violence in a post nuclear Oz. Your layout would have been an excellent poster for the film. seems like everyone here has a good eye and good sense of composition.

    I also have to say I got a little choked up when they rolled and blew up the coolest police car ever.

    I’d love a black 1973 Black Aussie Falcon too, but they didnt make alot of them and if you can find one they are pricey.

    Maintain Right!

    • 20 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 9:15 pm

      YEAH I was in shock when they blew his car up,,, I don’t think I had ever seen the good guy loose so much as I did in the Road W. Thanks also for the calendar idea,, I had thought about your idea a while back but haven’t had anytime to plan it out with you more!!! Will you be at the Fest??

      • 21 the bluesman
        May 19, 2012 at 11:44 am

        I wont be at WF this year, but I have the autographed Phoenix on my desk from last year. Why dont I whip up a couple calendar comps while you are in Louisville and you can check em out when you get back?

      • 22 johneaves
        May 21, 2012 at 10:37 am

        sounds great!!!! sad you won’t be there!!!

      • 23 the bluesman
        May 22, 2012 at 9:45 pm

        I am sending some stuff for you to sign along with a buddy who will be there.

  9. 24 deg3d
    May 18, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    #2 for me, too!

    • 25 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      thanks and wish you were going to be at the fest next week,, I got to see you more when you lived out of state..

  10. 26 deg3d
    May 18, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    What a summer of ’82, it was!

    • 27 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 9:11 pm

      YEAH!!!!!! you and I got to enjoy when it was happening… Hey I’m doing a phone interview with Carpenter for “The Thing’s” 30th,,,, do have anything you want me to ask him???

  11. 28 Marc Fraley
    May 18, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    I vote for version 2! First version is also nice, but the vehicle in the background is a bit of a distraction to me. I also like the cooler tone of version 2.

    • 29 johneaves
      May 18, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      Yeah it was funny when I finished version 2 I thought, hey I should put something in that vacant space,,,, it didnt work like I hoped so I was glad I kept the clean version,, Thanks

  12. 30 tallguyproductions
    May 21, 2012 at 10:57 am

    So it looks like today is not only Road Warrior, but also Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid and Annie! (I’ve seen Annie a LOT since my daughter was born…)

    BTW, I see the appeal of 2, but #1 has more trucks, so for me that’s a win. Of course neither has the auto-gyro so I’m really looking for 3. :)

  13. May 22, 2012 at 12:26 am

    While both excellent, I have to say # 2 is the pick. It’s more mysterious. Says more, gives away less, ups my curiosity and I am not expecting to see a truck or another car etc. The old saying:” Less is more”

    Great stuff!
    Rob


Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

