18
Aug
12

new finds from the move


starships

The unpacking process from the big two year move is finally happening, and the art work and set photos are finally starting to see the light of day again….  Soon I’ll be able to scan and post more stuff from Trek that has been missing from here for so so long. (ed. note:  YEA!)

I just found the Perpetual box of all the art from the first pass of the Trek on line game, and I’ll start scanning them hopefully this week.  Years ago when these two pieces were posted there were a lot of requests for the schematics, and I am sure they lie somewhere in this box so hold tight and I’ll have them up ASAP.

OK, have a great weekend.


27 Responses to “new finds from the move”


  1. August 18, 2012 at 7:50 am

    I absolutly love the Archer, and I still hold hope that it will one day appear in STO. I’ve always loved your perpetual designs and many of them I’d love to still see appear in game.

  2. 2 DeanneM
    August 18, 2012 at 7:58 am

    You snuck this in while I was editing the aztecing on the “E” blog entry.🙂

    These lovely ships feature your inimitable design qualities that I love in the “E”, so of course they are okay….

    heh, okay as in..Awesome!! Keep ’em coming, and if you find a certain box in all that unpacking, slap an AZ sticker on it and pop it in the mail for me😀

    • 3 johneaves
      August 19, 2012 at 9:36 pm

      OH man your right!!! your box is somewhere amongst the others that are waiting to be unpacked!!!! I completely forgot about it!!! OK the search is on

  3. August 18, 2012 at 8:20 am

    It’s good that you got all settled. I hope you and your family like your new home. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to seeing more of the Perpetual STO stuff, what you’ve shown so far is great. It’s a shame they never finished the game. Cryptic did a good job, but they changed so many things and I’d have liked to see what all Perpetual would have done with the great designs that you’ve posted over the past few years.

    • 5 johneaves
      August 19, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      I have only seen 2 or 3 things from cryptic, I hear a lot of bad reviews on the design work but I have also heard they have a new ship designer who is really pulling everything together and doing a great job

      • August 19, 2012 at 10:40 pm

        Well, there are a lot of bad reviews about the game in general, yet I still see a LOT of people on there playing it on any given day. 😉 That was true even before it went free to play.

        As for the designs, I’m actually not really that big a fan of the newer designs they’ve been putting out. I like some of the older ships that were designed specifically for the game, but mostly I use classic designs like the TOS E, TMP ships, the Galaxy, Sovereign, Intrepid, etc. But, that’s just my preference. 😉

  4. August 18, 2012 at 9:18 am

    Hi John, hi everyone! Yes to echo EG’s thoughts, I’m surprised Cryptic haven’t made more use of your designs for Perpetual, though you can see the influences in some of the ships in the game. For example, the Venture-class – Cryptic’s 25th century reworking of the Galaxy-class – shows a lot of influences from the Enterprise-F design (I forget the class name) you did for Perpetual, with the deep neck. They’ve just released a 25th century version of the Sovereign (Regent-class), and I’d be fascinated to hear your thoughts on it…

    http://sto.perfectworld.com/news/?p=633171

    (They mimicked one of your early concepts with the swept-forward nacelles). Ian ‘JamJamz’ Richards, the new ship artist at Cryptic, has produced some really nice designs since he joined the company.

    Cheers!

  5. August 18, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Fascinating. John, thanks again for setting up this cool blog and sharing with us all these great images and stories!

  6. August 18, 2012 at 10:19 am

    u.s.s. McCall, love it! So do you usually do your artwork by hand and then take it to the computer to color it? give it that extra punch it needs.

    • 12 johneaves
      August 19, 2012 at 9:42 pm

      yeah I draw everything by hand then do all the color work in photoshop,, I would use markers and paint if they still made the ones that I used to use, HAAA!

  7. August 18, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Was there a design idea behind the Open Saucer sections on the USS Archer?

    The only two I could think of was Sensor systems that needed to isolated from other ship systems or personnel or a diplomatic courier that kept the diplomatic section isolated from the normal ship functions.

    • 14 johneaves
      August 19, 2012 at 9:45 pm

      Yes there was,, in one of the Episodes of Enterprise we had a call for an executive starship that was basically commissioned to tote the high brass around and pose as a viewing platform for starship launches, returns etc.. The concept was not chosen and one of the other ideas made it through to the show so this one was kinda forgotten till we started working on the perpetual ships.. It was rebirthed in a more grand manner.

  8. 16 Scott D
    August 18, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Well the one on the right did technically made it into STO, but it’s wreckage. 😦

    But from time to time, people still do talk about wanting your ships making their way into STO (especially the ones above). Along with Mr. Probert’s Ambassador, as well as some other ship concepts that been forgotten over time. Right now, Mark Rademaker’s Vesta is said to be worked on and will be a playable ship in the near future (along with other ships of his).

    And mentioned above, just a few days ago, Cryptic added the long awaited Sovereign-Refit, which is named the Regent-class.

    But what many don’t know is the Regent was actually taken from my Enterprise-F contest Entry (which I got runner up). http://starwolfx.deviantart.com/gallery/#/d3flu45 Of course, JamJamz did some enhancements. 😉 So while my Entry didn’t get to be the Enterprise-F, becoming the Sovereign Refit is something to smile as well, since your ship is my favorite Trek ship (along with the Consitution-Refit).

    Since the contest, I been improving the design thanks to Mr. Probert and Mr. Rademaker’s inputs and making her better. Hopefully, that design is liked enough to make it on screen as well.

    But honestly, I couldn’t done it without the inspriation from you all. So thank you.

    • 17 johneaves
      August 19, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      hey I remember that contest!!!! I’ll have to follow your links and check it all out as well as going over to see the new Regent class.

      Thanks for the refresher.

  9. August 19, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    I love your behind the scenes Trek pictures! I’m ready for more. 🙂

  10. August 19, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    Any particular mission profiles for these designs?

    • 21 johneaves
      August 19, 2012 at 9:48 pm

      There is and I’ll have to find it. Perpetual had a sheet of ship breakdowns and I’ll post that when I come across it again.

  11. August 20, 2012 at 3:57 am

    I love these desgins.
    The Archer just blows me away as it keeps ture to trek yet different at the same time.
    It the same with the Sicence vessel you posted for the game a few years ago.
    Look forwards to seeing more.

  12. 24 Matt Boardman
    August 21, 2012 at 12:08 am

    Great designs, John! I have to echo the sentiments already mentioned here that the game really could have used some more of your designs. I loved the work that Perpetual was promoting when they were running the show. It seemed like it had so much potential. It’s not a bad game and I do enjoy playing it, but it would have been fun to have some Eaves designs in there! I did, after all, purchase the Eaves bridge sets. Ha!

  13. August 21, 2012 at 3:58 am

    It´s cool to see them out of the box again. For sure, schematics will be a great help for us trying to flesh out them in 3d.🙂
    Talking about old sketches, I remembered of one that I asked you before (I found it in a brazilian magazine from the middle of 90´s), which you answered not to recognize the author. Anyway… when, and if, you have a freetime and, of course, interest in doing it, could you draw over and improve this design: http://brstarship.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/ent-f3.jpg?w=950 ? I believe you can give it an entire new life.😉
    Kinddest regards,

  14. 26 Fabian
    August 22, 2012 at 3:49 am

    I’m looking forward to build the Tahoe in 3DS MAX with your schematics. A dream comes true😉 I tried to get the right measurements from the pics I found in the internet, but it is far away from beeing accurate.

    If someone is going to build the Tahoe aswell, feel free to conact me via email => fabi@locker.cc

  15. 27 Greg
    November 20, 2012 at 12:19 am

    Ok I have to say that I love the Archer. I have been waiting for you to put the Schematics up for a while. Every time I look at the picture I just wish I had that spaceship. I know you’re busy but if you could post those schismatics that would just make my day.


Leave a Reply

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

