19
Dec
12

The Bridge on the river kwai, the 55th anniversary


poster

poster

I saw this one as a rerun in the drive-in when I was very young and I so remembered it when I was older and could get it on VHS. This movie is epic in every sense of the word and is one of my all time favorites. Now that DVD and BluRay have come along we can see these old classics in there full glory!!! This is another fun movie for a Saturday night. Sorry for the quick post but have to run, just enough time to mark the 55th Anniversary with an image and a trailer.

ENJOY!!!


11 Responses to “The Bridge on the river kwai, the 55th anniversary”


  1. 1 Rob
    December 19, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    I really love that film. It’s one of my favorites from childhood till now. A really good story and quite the psychological play of duty, honor and where they might begin and have to end. Great film. As usual, Sir Alec Guiness is fantastic.(Among a terrific cast all around.)

  2. December 20, 2012 at 3:11 am

    An all time classic about a man’s need to maintain his dignity and pride and the cost of that need when weighed against the WW2 war effort.

    I don’t think there is a better example of a movie that explores the Human spirit with the exception of Gattaca.

  3. 5 DeanneM
    December 20, 2012 at 3:54 am

    I honestly don’t remember exactly when I saw this the first time, but even though it is a long movie and I was young, I remember being impressed with the difficulty of Alec’s situation…I was torn. At that young age I couldn’t imagine being faced with such a difficult dilemma; it was a bit overwhelming really. Who am I supposed to cheer for was all I could remember going through my mind at the end. I only understood the hard work and pride that was being protected. He kept his men going, kept them “alive”, with the structure and discipline and self worth he provided – so much more was invested in that bridge than just sweat, a sense of value and being as well. I can’t imagine being so removed from what must seem like a previous life…the objectives of the bigger picture would seem small once Alec dedicated himself to doing his best and building a bridge that would stand strong. WHAT?! blow it up NOW? Nuh uh!!

    Even now I think of the time and effort (even the effort and commitment to watch the whole movie, being captured, dealing with torture, building plans, etc) put into a bridge that would help the enemy and knowingly would need to be destroyed. War brings so much pain and destruction in so many ways; it’s just a bridge I tell myself still, but somehow it represents all that is strived for, created or discovered that is broken, destroyed and lost by the end of a war…so much pain and death. In just a few seconds.

    Excellent film.

  4. December 20, 2012 at 8:12 am

    This is a great film and the first time I got to see Alec Guinness.

    • 11 johneaves
      December 20, 2012 at 12:48 pm

      Yeah It was my first time seeing him too!!! when you compare his role from Bridge to Star Wars Lucas was so lucky to get such an incredible actor to play the part!


Leave a Reply

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

