26
Mar
09

Starship of the day


 

 

high 3/4

high 3/4

plans

plans

 

 

 

Here is a science vessel from the Perpetual files. this was the first of the donut ships and looking at it again I have to cry at the bad painting in Photoshop,,, OHHH those early PS learning days were rough!!!!  this one was fun to work on because it was loosely based on a big fav of mine the USS Grissom.  At this point in the game deadlines were getting tighter and the execution of the renderings were getting rougher as to what was turned in.  New modelers were being brought on and the load of things to be built was on the rise. As always I would have liked a little more time to work this one out a little more. The underside details  were a later addition requested to add thickness to the ships profile. It’s a frumpy addition that doesn’t really add much to the functionality of the vessel..


21 Responses to “Starship of the day”


  1. March 26, 2009 at 6:39 am

    YAY DOUGHNUTS!!!!! I was a sitting here with my coffee and dreary dry eyes squinting at 3dsmax and firefox with not a doughnut to be had and then this!
    Thankyou!
    MKF-

  2. March 26, 2009 at 6:40 am

    OH and a very suprising little bit at the bottom, would have never expected that. **floats off in doughnut heaven**

  3. March 26, 2009 at 6:45 am

    John, you are killing me. Everyday is something totally new that I’ve never seen, and everyday I become more of a fan. Like Christmas everyday around here now….

  4. March 26, 2009 at 6:52 am

    These Perpetual ship designs are amazing! I absolutely have to check this site every morning, first thing, to see if you have left another of these little presents.

    In some ways these designs remind me of the work of Chris Reyes (aka Atolm) with the unconventional take on recognizable Trek forms.

  5. 5 PatrickK
    March 26, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I’m afraid I have to say that I don’t like this one. I can see the Grissom homage and the 3/4 view looks alright but the 3 humps in the side view along with the strange pod/nacelle configuration don’t look very flattering.

    • 6 johneaves
      March 26, 2009 at 7:22 am

      There were many ships that I worked on that ranged from my being really satisfied to lets hide this one under the desk mat. this one to me was at that lower range of liking but it opened the door to the later donut ships that I really liked. Thanks for the comment on this one and glad your not quiet about not liking something you see here.

  6. 7 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    March 26, 2009 at 7:56 am

    I totally see the Grissom homage and actually like how the lower pod is a ‘surprise’ from the other angles. 🙂

  7. 8 Freak
    March 26, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I totally see the USS Grissom in it.
    But the lower part of the ship does not work for me.

  8. 9 BorgMan
    March 26, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Wow. That was unexpected. Suricatta, over at the STO forums, was busy with a model of this ship, but all of us thought that the ship had integrated nacelles! This surely is a surprise…

  9. 10 ST-One
    March 26, 2009 at 11:17 am

    mhmm… quite a busy design…
    the doughnut-section looks very good though, as does the pod…

  10. March 26, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    THe man’s a well-spring. Way-cool dude, way. 🙂

    LLP,
    deg

  11. 12 johneaves
    March 26, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    looking at this one again today, if I had to do it again I would ditch the pod and change the proportions a little bit. from the front, minus the pod it is very Defiant-ish

  12. 13 the bluesman
    March 27, 2009 at 12:03 am

    We appreciate (at least I do anyway) seeing designs that don’t quite work well. As a designer myself (of logs and ads and such) I have to try several thigns that don;t work inorder toget to soemthign that does work for theclietn and meet the specs of the project.

    As a design study the concept of this donut ship is interesting…as a vessel in Starfleet I am not sure if it fits. On the other hand gettign ideas shot down by clients or producers is part of the business.

  13. March 27, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Nice ship, interesting design, very innovative.

  14. 15 Suricata
    March 31, 2009 at 1:41 am

    Fantastic, I’ve been waiting for you to relaese the plans of this ship since PE showed it in thier video!

    I’d already modeled it to the 3D view, but would never of suspected it having a pod and nacelles hidden under there!

    I’m curious, with your pod design, is it attached to some sort of sled which the nacelles are affixed too, or are the nacelles actually attached to the pod?

    I’m hazarding a guess, that the the blue bits at the back on the 3D view are actually the impulse engines? At first glance I thought it was part of the warp drive, similar to the Steamrunner class engine.

    I’d have to aggree though John, that if reworked without the pod and with intergrated nacelles it’s still a pretty nice ship, like a science version of the Defiant class.

    I’ll have to make 2 versions 🙂

    *Starts 3dsmax to carry on the work where I left off!*

  15. 16 James_M
    March 31, 2009 at 4:20 am

    The perptual ship designs are very inspiring. I’ve always had a love for the smaller ships like the Grissom. I really like this ship, but my favorite is still the Ramjet so far.

  16. 17 Captain Tomlinson
    March 31, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    That is a very interesting design and if it was rendered in the latest GCI I bet it would look cool. Keep them comming….maybe call it the USS Grissom NCC-6380-C. There was a bloody A,B,C,E of the Enterprise

  17. 18 Suricata
    April 3, 2009 at 8:12 am

    John, I’ve started reworking my model of this ship, currently I’m showing its progress on the STO official forums and also on Sci-fi meshes. Is it posable I can get the larger images of this ship to assist in making the model as accurate as I can?

    Thus far I’m thinking of calling her the Grissom in homage of where she got her inspiration, I have a pretty good idea of where to place the registry and name on the model, just a few little details I’m having to tweak. I’m still not sure about the pod on the underside, more so with how the nacelles are attached to it, it just doesn’t seem to flow right for me. Scratching the pod and nacelles gives it a very nice Defiantish feel, yet still remaining very science like. I really do love this design though, especially the upper part, i really hope they incorporate it in STO still 🙂

  18. 19 Pat Suwalski
    April 6, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Hey John,

    This is a fantastic looking ship. I really like the ring, I can’t believe it’s never occurred to me before. Maybe I’ll build a model of it someday.

    You like the Grissom? Here’s a model I finished a couple of years ago for ya:

    http://pat.suwalski.net/models/grissom/

    Makes a good desktop background, if you want a higher-resolution photo. Composited just like the Image-G guys do it. 🙂

  19. 20 Tanru
    April 9, 2009 at 4:48 am

    I like the doughnut part of the ship…

    I’m just wondering about which of the pictures you didn’t like the paint-job in? The first? Looks fine to me!

  20. 21 Direphoenix
    March 26, 2012 at 11:06 am

    Looking back at this ship, I can’t help but see the Vulcan IDIC symbol built in to the saucer design. Was this on purpose or an amazing coincidence (especially as this was intended as a science vessel)?


Leave a comment


March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031