18
Sep
09

starship mish mash from the series, Enterprise!!!


It’s been a while since I have gotten anything Star Trek up, so here is a high res of the Xindi cargo ship that later turns into Degra’s ship.  A low res was posted a while back, and with this one you get a better view of all the little details.  Next are a variety of Xindi probes, and just like grade school, the chosen version would get a star and happy face drawn next to it, HAAAA!  It’s followed by a little ship from episode #37 “Precious Cargo”; I loved when we would get the opportunity to come up with ships out of the ordinary, and this one was a fav to work on!!!  A real frumpy ship with a real gritty slice of external piping and details.  Finally comes the variations of what would be the new Andorian battle ship.  The 4 versions covered a broad gammut of styles, and in the end the upper left idea was chosen and nicknamed the Andorlactica because of it’s Battlestar Galactica (1970’s) front end resemblance!!!  So with that, thanks for the fun week and all the fine comments about all the fun pin up stuff!!!  Have a great Weekend and catch up with things promised to post on Monday!

xindi cargo/Degra's ship

Xindi cargo/Degra's ship

xindi probes from episode #59

Xindi probes from episode #59

the crazy little cargo ship from episode #37

the crazy little cargo ship from episode #37

andoria-prime

andoria-prime


16 Responses to “starship mish mash from the series, Enterprise!!!”


  1. 1 Richard Knapp
    September 18, 2009 at 7:40 am

    Hi John – Happy Friday! All those Andorian ship designs are great but the “Andorlactica” is my favorite. I also really like your take on that cargo hauler – nice to see the variation from traditional Federation designs.

    Thanks for taking the time to post these great pictures – I’ve been missing my regular dose of Eaves Star Trek art! I hope all is well!

    Have a good weekend,
    Richard

  2. 3 bender23
    September 18, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Those are great images, John! Thanks for taking the time to post these. I especially like the Andorian vessels.

  3. 4 DeanneM
    September 18, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I always enjoy seeing that cargo/Degra’s ship! It looks like it’s either already moving fast or poised to just take off with a good dose of evilness thrown in…great!! I also think any of the Andorian ideas would have been good. 🙂 They picked the less fluid, pointy Xindi probe, and I always tend to like curvy better, but seeing how each species is different the probe could have been any of those and worked great…super job!!

    Precious Cargo is on my DVR, since that’s about where Syfy is with the series right now…I’ll be checking this one out later today! That’s some beefy, awsome cargo hauler there!! 😀

  4. 5 evil_genius_180
    September 18, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Degra’s ship is definitely a favorite of mine from the series. I also love the Andorian Battlecruiser. Inever noticed the Galactica resemblance before now, though. Which is odd considering how much I love Galactica.

  5. 6 Syd Hughes
    September 18, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Yeehaw! Been missing the Star Trek updates. Thanks for posting this up!

    Always loved the Andorian ships, too. They were, to me, one of the most absolutely perfect designs in the series — cool-looking, somehow both an appropriate ship for a good guy and a bad guy, and believable as an ancestor to 23rd-century stuff. Kudos! (do people still say that?)

    • 7 DeanneM
      September 18, 2009 at 10:39 am

      Syd, you’re people and you say that, right? 🙂 I like the word but don’t know where it came from…what’s a kudo? I’ll make it a point to use it today. 😉

    • 8 johneaves
      September 18, 2009 at 1:39 pm

      wow that sounds good!!! i guess it does cross over between the good and bad of the characters demeanor.

  6. 9 the bluesman
    September 18, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    John

    You know my thing for space frieghters, I like the one with the high moutned bridge and massive contatiner pods.

  7. 11 eracoon
    September 19, 2009 at 1:22 am

    John,

    Thanks for putting those up.
    Man that ship is so incredibly beautifull.
    Would love to see more of it… hint 🙂

  8. 12 eracoon
    September 19, 2009 at 1:24 am

    By more I mean the Andorian Battel cruiser… that’s my all time favorite ship of the show 😀

  9. 13 Ben
    September 19, 2009 at 2:38 am

    I love the bottom left Andorian ship, that looks dangerous, armed and slick.
    thanks for sharing.

  10. September 19, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    I’ve always been partial to Degra’s ship, its just got a flare about it and I really enjoyed enterprise for all the frieghters that appeared because they all felt so real and beleavable, something some ships in Trek fail to attain.

    As for the Andorian ships, I think the one that got chosen was definatly the best one to pick. The lower left one hasa very Sona’ish feel to it and the upper right hasa slight Romulan feel to it, which I think would of caused some confusion for some fans. I like the lower right one, its definatly alian enough, I think if the upper front nacelle got removed and moaybe the lower one, that it could make a good Andorian shuttle or something.

    Great to see you posting again John, you seem to be pretty busy these days, which is a good thing ofcourse! .-)

  11. September 20, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Among the Andorian designs I really like the one at top right. I actually think it looks a bit Vulcan, could have maybe worked well as some sort of experimental Vulcan warp ship. I agree the final choice for the Andorian cruiser was best, though. It’s a cool, powerful looking ship and you can see how its design would help contribute to Starfleet designs in the future.

  12. September 20, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Nice to see the Andorian ship designs. Would love to see them utilized further – perhaps in some original art.


Leave a comment


September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930