31
Mar
09

Orion slave ships


 

 

66

66

 

66 color

66 color

key frame with tattoos.

key frame with tattoos.

69 pencil/pen

69 pencil/pen

 

rough color

rough color

final approved version

final approved version

 

 

 

 

Enterprise Episode #93 (Bound) To finish off the Gorn/Orion architectural arc, Here are the ship concepts for the massive Orion slave vessel. The ship is heavily armed and is decorated with a teeth and alien tattoos. The following sketches lead up to the final approved art and color schemes. This was almost the end of Enterprise and having Manny as the driving force behind the fourth season brought new life to the series and made the final season a real treat to be a part of. besides the Zindi, these were among my favorites of new alien ships.


24 Responses to “Orion slave ships”


  1. March 31, 2009 at 1:51 am

    Excellent! I would have approved of #66 already if I had been in charge, but there is something special about the clumsier design #69.

  2. 2 Jörg
    March 31, 2009 at 2:08 am

    Wow, thanks! What a cool design!

    Here it is in its full glory:


    Sadly, for the actual appearance in the episode, the teeth were removed and replaced by more generic tattoos as can be seen on the first screenshot. Would have established a cool design motif for Orion ships. Still way cool anyhow.

  3. 4 Jörg
    March 31, 2009 at 2:08 am

    and two more:


    • 5 johneaves
      March 31, 2009 at 10:52 am

      Wow what a fatty!! I had never seen the final version and I didn’t know it’s teeth had been pulled,,,,, well I guess when you have to eat soft food you get fat!!!

  4. March 31, 2009 at 2:22 am

    Ah, very cool. It seems the final model was a bit ‘chubbier’ than your design. I just love those old-fashioned turrets, I don’t think we saw those kinds of very visible weapons a lot.

    Talking about favorites.. I think one of my favorite ENT designs you did (I think) is Shran’s Andorian battle cruiser.

  5. March 31, 2009 at 2:53 am

    Early posting today 😀
    I really like all the different shapes on this one. Curves intersecting and making for a visually interesting subject. First sketch is a bit linear in line, and not as exciting to me. It also lends some queues to the Klingon ships of this era with the darted nose. I did notice in screen caps posted yesterday that on the cg model it looks like the model studio just grafted the K-bops head guns to the upper mounts behind the bridge blister. Was it done in the need for speed and deadlines or was this done on purpose to show black market purchases of non-native parts?

    MKF-

  6. 8 MikeZ
    March 31, 2009 at 3:50 am

    Interesting. The first pics look like you tried to give the original Insurrection holo ship (one of my favorites) a second chance.

  7. 9 DeanneM
    March 31, 2009 at 4:17 am

    I like the top one…ya, pick that one. What? I don’t get a vote?

    MKF, I like the linear look, as you describe it because it fits with the aesthetic look of the attack vessels we saw yesterday. The final version is interesting, but doesn’t add anything for me…the cool visible weapons are present on both designs. And I second your question:

    ” Was it done in the need for speed and deadlines or was this done on purpose to show black market purchases of non-native parts?”

    The idea of black market parts is a good one.

  8. March 31, 2009 at 4:23 am

    Wow, thanks! What a cool design!

    Sadly, for the actual appearance in the episode, the teeth were removed and replaced by more generic tattoos. Would have established a cool design motif for Orion ships. Still way cool anyhow.

  9. March 31, 2009 at 4:23 am

    Somehow, adding links to a comment doesn’t work, I’ll try it one at a time:

  10. March 31, 2009 at 4:24 am

    Okay, works that way:



  11. March 31, 2009 at 4:24 am

    Okay, works that way:

  12. March 31, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Okay, works that way:

  13. 16 B.J.
    March 31, 2009 at 5:51 am

    Cool concepts! I like the final version, but that earlier “66” concept looks a *lot* like one of your holoship concepts for Insurrection. Same basic structure, just updated a bit for the Orions. A picture of it is on this page (http://www.starshipdatalink.net/art/insurrection.html), fifth image down.

  14. 19 Freak
    March 31, 2009 at 6:01 am

    very cool Love the Tatoo desgins on both ships.
    Though I am liking the first one more than the second.

  15. 20 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    March 31, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Hm. 66 reminds me of the second version of the holo-ship you did for Insurrection – the one between the saucer and the brick.

    Subconscious or intentional? 😉

  16. March 31, 2009 at 7:12 am

    Cool stuff dude. 69 reminds me of WWII large aircraft like the PBY and the B-17. esp. the PBY though.

    Now where are the green girls? 😀

    PLL,
    deg

  17. 22 Mariner
    March 31, 2009 at 10:23 am

    69 seems to have a “Starblazers” vibe going on, but I can’t figure out how…

  18. April 2, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Wicked!

    The shape of 66 vaguely reminds me of the Klingon Raptor’s “head.”

    By the way, John, I left a comment in your “about” section. Apologies … I meant to post it here. I was hunting for sketches of the retro BoP and, particularly, the Klingon attack ship seen in “Affliction.” It looked a lot like this:

    Some people think it’s a kitbash, but on close inspection, I think it’s an original ship. Sadly, there’s no reference material on the thing — and aside from my own, seemingly very little interest in that ship 😦

    Thanks for any info you might have!
    -Sean

  19. 24 Mick
    April 2, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Hi John, nicew blog you got going here. I just love the behind the scenes stuff and the progression of design. Speaking of #66 looking like a concept of the early holoship for insurection, any chance you have more of those sketches around to share with us? I’d love to have a good profile look at that early holoship so I can try my hand at scratchbuilding her…

    Thanks again!


Leave a comment


March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031