23
Mar
09

Argo/jeep and Digital Composite


argo-car1

 

Digital Domain

Digital Domain

 

 

 

 

here is another Digital Domain composite shot featuring both their CG shuttle plus the live action argo/jeep. This is the sketch of the argo that was built on top of a ford pro racing chassis. really fun to see this one come together and haul around the Mojave during the filming sequences.


22 Responses to “Argo/jeep and Digital Composite”


  1. 1 Mr. Wilde
    March 23, 2009 at 7:46 am

    It’s a pretty cool design. But I couldn’t help thinking that it would have been better to have this float above the ground without wheels but with some kind of anti gravity system. Picard would have had the same fun driving/flying something like that. 😉

  2. 2 johneaves
    March 23, 2009 at 7:58 am

    that would have been cool and knowing What is possible in the Star Trek world it was odd if not out of place to even have a wheel based vehicle, but you have to do what the script says,,,,haaa!!! cheers

  3. 4 deg
    March 23, 2009 at 8:20 am

    I like the way they translated your design into reality, pretty dranclosely eh. I also esp. like the way you matched the overall feel of lines of both the craft. Very cool. And yeah, I felt the “car” was I bit odd myself, but I went with it eh.

    Thank dude! 🙂

    PLL,
    deg

  4. 5 johneaves
    March 23, 2009 at 8:27 am

    nice to know they had a rig in case they ran into a race that also had off road rigs,,, Hey look at that they did!!! HA!!!!!

  5. 6 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    March 23, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Not to sound like an echo, but I liked your design but just hated they felt like they needed a dune buggy instead of some cool antigrav hopper.

    I know, I know – what the script says. Eesh. 😉

    Maybe the shuttle can have other uses without the buggy? 😀

  6. 7 johneaves
    March 23, 2009 at 9:06 am

    I thought if you had a jet!!! why take the car!!!

  7. 8 deg
    March 23, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I thought if you had a jet!!! why take the car!!!

    EXACTLY.

    That’s why I felt the whole scene was kinda contrived (and labored), for the sake of wham-bam chase scene action. I like Bullitt (one of the few car chases done right), but this is Trek for Pete’s sake.

    LLP,
    deg

    • 9 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 12:10 pm

      being an enormous Mad Max, Road Warrior fan I was excited about working on these rigs for the desert battle, as odd as it was to make 4 X 4’s for the Federation it was still a great treat!!

  8. 10 DeanneM
    March 23, 2009 at 10:24 am

    This and the scorpion are great, fun designs. I also liked the way the lines match the both Argos, but I have no problem with the wheels. Sure, not high tech and a bit out of place, but I love off-roading and this is a ST vehicle I could actually own and enjoy (and I would in a heartbeat)!! It makes me feel more connected to it.

    If you think about it, usually when they use a shuttle they get out and look around on foot. This type of vehicle allowed them to move quickly about a small area and be able to see the ground easily. Besides, while zipping about above the ground looks cool, just think of the extra effects time and dollar savings just being able to film them driving around for a change! That must have benn a nice change for the folks involved in those scenes!!

    Love the design just the way it is!! Where’s mine?

    • 11 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 12:13 pm

      It was really fun to see this thing drive. It cut thru the desert with a suspension that absorbed everything making for a most smooth off road adventure.

  9. 12 Freak
    March 23, 2009 at 11:58 am

    I for one don’t mind it being wheeled.
    The reason for this is because if it had been some sort of anti-grav Vehicle. Then everyone would have said that it was to Star Wars, due to the speeder.

    The one thing that bugged me about always teams is what DeanneM stated, that they always went on foot. Where you could not cover a large area fast. the Argo made senses and it was fun to finally see it.

    Will you be posting up the Bad guys Vehicles that you posted up on SFM?

    • 13 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 12:14 pm

      all is good and true,,, and yes I’ll put up the bad guys soon!

    • 14 Mr. Wilde
      March 24, 2009 at 6:58 am

      Well, you could have made it pretty different from the Star Wars speeder, I think. But I already remember people walking out of the theater complaining about the fire fights in the ship corridors as being way too much Star Wars. 😉

      But the most fun would have been to see the clash between Starfleet technology, a antigrav ARGO, versus the ‘outdated’ technology of the inhabitant, simple dune buggies on wheels.

      A well, can’t always get what you want. 😉

  10. March 23, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Indeed, I used to off-road myself, so in-and-of itself, oh yeah baby! Even some Trek 4-byin’ I’m ultimately cool with, eh. Data even speaks to the fact of Picard drivin’ like a speedin’ nut-bar, as P was havin’ fun!

    And oh yeah, Mad Max, Road Warrior, yep. Thunder Dome, I think pretty much lost most of us, eh.

    PLL,
    deg

    • 16 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      Oh those Mad Max films!!! Those never get old and so love getting em out every onece in a while after everyone has gone to bed!!

      • 17 DeanneM
        March 23, 2009 at 4:20 pm

        You have to wait until they’re in bed? Too much violence for ’em? Give me a call and I’ll put one in, too, next time. 🙂

        deg, it also made me smile because he was having so much fun tossing everyone else around a bit!!

  11. 18 Melak
    March 23, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    I’m away for a couple hours and you post another 3 concepts with great detail, wow!

    Many thanks for sharing all of these with us 🙂

  12. March 23, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Nice designs for the Argo jeep. It was fun seeing it in action with Picard, Data and Worf.

  13. 20 R.J.Minnes
    August 21, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I actually liked Star Trek;Nemesis a lot, and as a result I can’t get my head around the fact why this movie was so much reviled…true it was perhaps not as powerful as First Contact, but in my mind it did embody all what was in the spirit of the best what TNG had to offer…however that being said, yeah, the argo buggy scene was totally out-of-character in some way…Picard going “Mad Max” ??? Apparently we humans are still not so enlightend in the 24th century as we were led to believe…Still a very nice sand buggy design though, but more at its place in the aforementioned Mad Max-trilogy

  14. 21 Cenebar
    November 28, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Hi John,

    Any chance of making your Argo Jeep drawing into a full-blown model kit? If so, how much do you think it’ll be? Do you build on commission? I wouldn’t mind having one!

    If so, please email me. Thanks.

  15. February 8, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I and my buddies ended up following the excellent tips found on the blog while quickly developed a terrible suspicion I never expressed respect to the website owner for those techniques. My boys are already warmed to read through them and have in fact been enjoying these things. I appreciate you for indeed being simply considerate and then for figuring out this sort of ideal things millions of individuals are really desirous to learn about. My honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to you sooner.


Leave a comment


March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031