25
Mar
09

Andy’s “D” goes to “E”


 

Enterprise, rear view

Enterprise, rear view

Enterprise front view

Enterprise front view

 

 

 

 

Digging through the crates at Cantara one day, I came across the huge box that housed the 8 to 10 foot Enterprise-D model…being that I had my Makita with me, I just had to pop the lid and see her before the big Christie’s Auction that at this time was just a rumor.  WOW, what a beauty, even under warehouse lighting!!!  As I was taking pictures, I started from the back of the model and moved forward, getting to the front of the saucer.  The “E” became very evident through the view finder.  THE “E”!!  Holy cow!  I had heard the rumors that for budget sake this was going to be the solution, but I didn’t know that they had gone to the measures of having ILM change the decal.  Ronald Moore and Jonathan Frakes were the driving force to having a new ship designed and built, and so this budgetary experiment seemed to have only lived on the side lines.  Great fun to see her this way, though.


16 Responses to “Andy’s “D” goes to “E””


  1. 1 Freak
    March 25, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Sweet I Think it a good thing that Ronald Moore and Jonathan Frakes pushed for a new ship.
    I don’t think that Frist Contact would have worked as well with the GAL as it did with the SOV. Though to give the film a bit more of a higher rating, could have been intresting to see Families getting Asimulated instead of just the crew.

  2. 2 PatrickK
    March 25, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Never being a huge fan of the Galaxy-class, I’m glad they found the money for the Sovereign-development. 😉

  3. 3 deg
    March 25, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Oh wow, would ya check that out, a Galaxy-Class E-E. Who knew? Very cool eh.

    Thanks dude. 🙂

    PLL,
    deg

  4. 4 Lee
    March 25, 2009 at 5:47 am

    What an amazing find.

  5. March 25, 2009 at 5:51 am

    Neato… hadn’t known this before…

  6. 6 doubleofive
    March 25, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Wow, what an awesome discovery for you! I’m glad they went with a whole new ship, because I think after changing the design every Enterprise from A-D, it would be really lazy to just keep the same model for First Contact. But didn’t I read somewhere (no idea where) that they put “E” on it as a joke?

    Is the paneling I’m seeing in this picture from the paint job ILM did for Generations? How much different is it? I asked on Drex’s “4-foot vs 6-foot” post, but no one really had any comparison shots.

    I’m guessing they kept the “D” label in the box so they could switch it back for the auction?

  7. 7 Mr. Wilde
    March 25, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Pretty funny. First Contact, Insurrection and Nemesis would have been so totally different with a Galaxy class. Just think of a Galaxy class ramming the Scimitar instead of the much smaller Sovereign.

    But I’m glad the E got redesigned.

  8. 8 Csalem
    March 25, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Glad they went with a new E as it’s my favourite ship.

  9. March 25, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Hah, interesting find. As others have said I’m glad the ‘E’ was a different ship.

  10. 10 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    March 25, 2009 at 9:47 am

    As much as I love the design that become the Sovereign class Enterprise-E, I always hated that the D had to die in ‘Generations.’ It felt like losing a character and I think it looked terrific on the big screen.

    That said, simply relabeling the model and saying it’s a new one would have been even more insulting to me and to the memory of the D, so I’m glad they let you design a new one. 😀

  11. 11 1701D-Fan
    March 25, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Wow, I had no idea they had considered doing that!
    That would have been just as cool!
    The Galaxy Class is truely one of the best design in Trek history. So majestic and powerfull, yet so peacefull looking. Still, you’d think twice about locking horns with one.

  12. 12 FSL
    March 25, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    The model is gorgeous. The D is always my favourite. Gald they didn’t redo it as the E. It would hurt too much aafter seeing it warp core breach and crash in Generations…

  13. 13 Mammalian Verisimilitude
    March 30, 2009 at 10:59 am

    6> Wow, what an awesome discovery for you! I’m glad they went with a whole new ship, because I think after changing the design every Enterprise from A-D, it would be really lazy to just keep the same model for First Contact.

    Thing is though, they DIDN’T redesign for the A. The A was the same as the refit of the “nae bloody A, B, C or D” :p

  14. May 18, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    I’m just now working my way through these older posts and really enjoyed seeing these images. The six-foot Enterprise-D was always my favorite of the two–it had a sleekness and grace that the four-footer sorely lacked. The paint job ILM did for the movie looks gorgeous even with the warehouse lighting you had to work with in these pictures. What a find!

  15. 15 Dustin
    June 29, 2009 at 9:52 am

    What would have been really great is if they had built a new and bigger Galaxy model from scratch.

  16. 16 R.J.Minnes
    November 4, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I found the culprit ! It was ILM’s model supervisor John Goodson, as he admits in the book “Industrial Light & Magic; Into the digital realm”, Virgin , 1996, page 60. He changed it just prior to crating it up before sending it back to Paramount.


Leave a comment


March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031