09
Jun
09

them xindi’s got balls


Here are the concepts for the Xindi Sphere’s. These little babies were designed and deployed throughout deep space. Once all were in position they would generate anomalies that would create an unpilotable area of space to any intruding alien or human vessels. these were the ideas that were concieved and the final drawing is of the simple approved concept.

 

1 2 3

1 2 3

 

4 5

4 5

and the final approved version #6

and the final approved version #6


20 Responses to “them xindi’s got balls”


  1. 1 Richard Knapp
    June 9, 2009 at 7:32 am

    Hey, nice balls! Wait a minute, maybe I should rephrase that. They are all very cool but I have to say that Version ‘C’ is my favorite. The idea of a network of spheres warping space was one of the best concepts in the Xindi story arc.

    Thanks for posting these for us!

  2. June 9, 2009 at 7:45 am

    That must of been wierd assignment John, how did you react when you got told they wanted you to draw some Xindi balls? 😀

  3. 3 evil_genius_180
    June 9, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Oh man, that title cracks me up. Thanks for the great laugh, I needed one. 😀

    I always thought the Xindi Sphere, though being a bit Death Star-ish, was a really well conceived and well designed weapon. I really like your concepts on this one but I think I actually like the approved version better (for a change. ;))

  4. 4 Beta Capricus
    June 9, 2009 at 7:52 am

    I agree, the third one is my favorite too. Not to say that the final design isn’t also brilliant.

  5. 5 Beta Capricus
    June 9, 2009 at 8:02 am

    I wonder, what was the huge opening in the bottom of the first one supposed to be for?

    • 6 johneaves
      June 10, 2009 at 4:26 am

      it was for sulibon cell ships to enter,,, psssst this was stolen from the helix ship (rejected) drawing) and offered as a choice for the Xindi sphere!!

  6. 7 Scott D
    June 9, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Seeing these makes me want to play a round of pool. 😛

  7. 8 Barrie Suddery
    June 9, 2009 at 8:43 am

    I have to say that IMHO the lack of too much detail on the on screen spheres kind of helped to establish a sense of mystery as to what they were and did.

  8. June 9, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Wow, all are great. I liked the one that eventually was created for the show and thought the concept was pretty clever (as noted above). Of all the designs, however, and if it was me deciding, I would have liked to see #5.

  9. 10 CX
    June 9, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Ah yes, the Xindi Dethticles. >:-)

    (I’m hoping everyone knows where that comes from 😉 )

  10. 12 Jonathan Burke
    June 9, 2009 at 10:56 am

    My favorite is the left one in the first image – the one with the intricate hex patterns. For some reason, it reminds me of the Lament Configuration from “Hellraiser,” only, ya know, rounder and in a good way! 😀

  11. 13 DeanneM
    June 9, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Barrie: I have to say that IMHO the lack of too much detail on the on screen spheres kind of helped to establish a sense of mystery as to what they were and did.

    I actually think any one of them would have seemed mysterious to someone who happened upon them. I’ve been looking at all the details of the designs and like all of them. But after enjoying the interesting and varied designs, the final version was unoriginal and plain to me. Oh well, they’re just balls in space!

  12. 14 Jose Soba
    June 9, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    The first one looks like it was built by the Suliban. All those hexagons…

    • 15 johneaves
      June 10, 2009 at 4:24 am

      WOOO you get the secret recognition award… The first drawing of the sulibon helix ship had this sphere drawn in as the core of the ship. When it came time for the xindi sphere’s to go in for approval I borrowed the sulie core and offered it as a choice!!! well done detective Jose!!

  13. 16 Matt Boardman
    June 9, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Hoo…these were nasty little things mucking up the Expanse! Great designs!

  14. 17 Starship freak
    June 9, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Kinda reminds me of the moon Europa actually.

  15. 18 DeanneM
    June 9, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    The episodes that introduce the Expanse were on Sci Fi today, and my DVR caught them all. I watched the first two, which included the encounter with the sphere.

    I certainly did find it smooth and plain. I like the look of “A”, but any one of the last three would have been great to see used!

  16. 19 Freak
    June 9, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Oww Nice Love A and F. F sort of has an Borg look to it.

  17. 20 Jose Soba
    June 10, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Well it seemed that someone be to the punch on noting the first sphere was originally a Suliban design, sorry I didn’t see the comment before I posted my comment. 😉


Leave a comment


June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930