18
Oct
09

scorpion


Howdy all!!  A new job and 4 rodeo daughters in events and pageants have me on the go and nowhere near my computer for the last week and a half!!! HAAA!  With that, I wanted to take a moment and say thanks to everybody for all the fun comments on the Vulcan Architecture…hopefully I can get more of that up later in the week.  For today, though, I have one drawing to post, and it is of two early versions of the Reman Scorpion from Star Trek Nemesis.  The ship started out to be a pretty big fighter, but budget made the practical hallways of the Scimitar sets smaller so the Scorpion had to get smaller as well.  Mr Berman loved these, and to make them smaller but keep what he liked in tact, he had me take the little piloting pod and wings off and make a smaller ship based on those lines.  There will be more to this genesis but today here are the first passes.

variations 1 & 2

variations 1 & 2


25 Responses to “scorpion”


  1. October 18, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    I like this drawing a lot, the sharp, angular lines give it a very menacing look, in addition, it looks formidable and realistic, my only critique is that it looks a lot like a Eldar Falcon gravtank, if you’re not familiar with them, it’s a model from Games Workshop, associated with the Eldar Army, from their Warhammer 40,000 game.

    Overall, really cool looking, very nicely detailed!

  2. 2 Suricata
    October 18, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Seeing those ships make me wonder just how big those corridors were originally intended to be! 🙂

  3. 3 Freak
    October 19, 2009 at 12:59 am

    I love seeing these early desgins. I love the find version, but this also look wicked. you would not want one of these on your “six”.

    I love the gunner pod. Did that have to go due to the size issue?

  4. 4 CyberCorn Entropic
    October 19, 2009 at 1:54 am

    Shinzon got his Scorpions from the Ramens? That was using the old noodle.

    (No, I’m not making fun of your typos. 😉 But they can conjure up some fun images.)

    On a more serious note, I like the Scorpion, especially since I got one of Polar Light’s models (and I like the 1/24 scale because that means it can be displayed with a number of model cars I already have). It’s a pity Nemesis didn’t do well because the Scorpion (and the Valdore, Enterprise-E, etc.) are so nicely done.

    I think these early designs look dangerous and deadly, like flying stilettos, but the wings also look a little too delicate and fragile, as if they could be easily snapped off. The gunner pod looks good, but I think getting rid of it helped streamline the final Scorpion.

    • 5 DeanneM
      October 19, 2009 at 11:40 am

      Oh, another nice (yet corny) joke! (See Doug’s Dick Tracy #89) Too bad I just hadn’t gotten to edit the post yet so it will be corrected momentarily. 😛

    • 6 CyberCorn Entropic
      October 22, 2009 at 12:54 am

      Still, if we think of the version of the Scorpion seen onscreen as something like a fighter version of Starfleet’s Workbee, that would make for an interesting that. Especially if one of those attachments resembled these wings, although I’m not sure what they’d be used for. Perhaps combat in a gas giant atmosphere?

  5. October 19, 2009 at 5:06 am

    The Scorpion setpiece is on display at the Star Trek -The Tour show at Hollywood-Highland Center now through december.

  6. October 19, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Would’ve been great to see Data using the gun turret, but from a distance it might look a bit like an R2 unit on a Star Wars ship. The final Scorpion design worked out just right, I think. Very cool and very functional.

  7. 11 evil_genius_180
    October 19, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Those are great. I always liked the ship in the movie but those are even better. Too bad the budget wouldn’t let you guys use that sweet design in the film.

    BTW, I also like your new header image for the blog. 🙂

  8. October 19, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Nice! Dig that lil’ cannon turret esp., dude. Can’t recall if that made it into the final…

    LLP,
    deg

  9. October 19, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Nice new site header too, BTW. 😉

    PLL,
    deg

    • 14 DeanneM
      October 19, 2009 at 11:42 am

      That’s me playing with Photoshop over the weekend after I got bored with my homework. Thanks. 🙂

      • October 19, 2009 at 3:14 pm

        I had a go making some yesterday too, but wouldn’t it be cool if John held a banner making competition?

        This was one of my goes: http://www.moofunk.co.uk/netpics/eavesdropping2.jpg

      • 16 DeanneM
        October 19, 2009 at 3:29 pm

        I’d messed with a few ideas real quick, and one was similar to yours, but when I uploaded a simple one to see what it looked like, the red shadow bars on either side remained. I found out that, without paying for an upgrade, the red bars stay as part of the theme.

        I then put a couple of things together that made the bars look like part of it. Then I realized I was spending more than just a couple of minutes on this and went back to homework to revisit it at a break later. 🙂 I was just looking for a way to not just see red and white all time! HA!

      • October 19, 2009 at 6:25 pm

        Yeah, those red bits are a pain, I use the same skin on my blog and just have to put up with them. 🙂

  10. 18 DeanneM
    October 19, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Being such a big fan of all flying things Nemesis, I just love the Scorpion as it ended up. I always say my next car will be a Scorpion! 🙂

    These designs, especially the left, would have looked great as the Scimitar’s fighter wing, having that menacing look. Thanks to Hollywood budgets, we ended up wih the final version. It turned out to be more similar in size to the Argo ground vehicle, and I tend to lump them into the same category of personal, fun, recreation vehicles that I want to own. 😀

  11. 19 Scott D
    October 19, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    That’s a lean and mean design, John. It’s so great that I wouldn’t be surprised if you used it in a future project, even if it isn’t Trek.

  12. 20 Syd Hughes
    October 19, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    That’s an evil-looking little ship! I too would like to see it appear somewhere, even in a non-Trek setting.

    Mostly off-topic, but people have noticed what looks like FC T’Plana-Hath Vulcan landers and ENT BoPs in the new Star Trek movie! Given all the things you snuck into the floating city for ENT, I suspected it was your doing 😉

    (landers at top and bottom left, BoP one platform up from bottom left)

    • October 19, 2009 at 3:11 pm

      Woah, there are landers all over the place. Were there some on the surface of Vulcan as well? It seemed as though there was one hovering around during the establishing shot of the city.

  13. 22 Josh Spooner
    October 20, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    sick designs mr. eaves

  14. 23 Richard Knapp
    October 20, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Hi John
    I have liked the “winged” Scorpion design since I first saw it way back when in the old Star Trek: The Magazine – would have loved to have seen that bad boy on screen. It never clicked until your comments today that the movie version is basically the pilot pod from the winged design. Thanks as always!

  15. 24 Matt Boardman
    October 20, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    This baby looks vicious! I love the winged look and maybe even a little more so than what ended up on screen. Still, I have the Scorpion Hallmark ornament that I proudly display each year and the wings may have clipped a few glass bulbs on the ol’ tree… 😀

  16. 25 Dave Horvath
    October 21, 2009 at 4:59 am

    I also liked the compact design of the final version. Advanced, compact, lightweight, and very organic in style. Wicked!


Leave a comment


October 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031