06
May
11

greg jein’s k7 space station


Happy Friday, and I just came across some cool pictures of Greg Jein’s beautiful K7 Space Station from the DS9 episode, Trials and Tribble-ations.  Greg Jein is one of the greatest model makers of all time, and his passion for Star trek is equally as great.  This was definitely a labor of love project, and it shows in all the details.  I love Greg and so miss the days of working in his shop back when real models were used for movies!!!  So here are some fun pics to start the weekend, and hope everyone has a great couple of days off!!!

views A

views b

views c

views d

views e

views f


43 Responses to “greg jein’s k7 space station”


  1. 1 DeanneM
    May 6, 2011 at 7:04 am

    Not being a model builder, I’m always fascinated with the amount of detail some of them achieve! I have always thought it would be fun to try my hand, and wow, actually making a living building such great Trek icons for filming…what a job!! 🙂

    Thanks for reminding me of this great episode; now I wanna pull it out and watch it this weekend.

    • 2 johneaves
      May 6, 2011 at 7:45 am

      It’s a great time making models especially when a group of you are working on the same piece!!! tons of great memories working with Greg and yes you should give it a go,, head on over to the Hobby Lobby and gets some cool stuff to build

      • 3 DeanneM
        May 6, 2011 at 8:26 am

        I’ve still got a Jeep model I picked up when you first inspired me, maybe this summer I’ll have a chance to do it. 🙂

  2. May 6, 2011 at 7:18 am

    I love the design of K7, and I love how carefully Greg Jein added more detail to it.

  3. 9 evil_genius_180
    May 6, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Greg Jein is awesome. As a person who has always been into model making, he’s one of my heroes.

    AWESOME post, John, thanks for digging up these pictures and posting them. I am absolutely in awe of this model. Not only is it accurate but, from what I’ve read, it was built in a short amount of time also. Greg and his crew are model making machines. Great, great stuff. I saved the pictures in my K7 references folder. 😀

  4. 11 Scott D
    May 6, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Trek Space Stations have always been interesting. Someday, I would love to see someone do artwork detailing the insides of Earth Spacedock and K7 to show that what we saw on TV and the Movies was only the tip of the iceburg.

    • 12 johneaves
      May 7, 2011 at 6:41 am

      in todays world where everyone can interact and share what they are doing I am sure it’s all only a matter of time

  5. May 6, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Beautiful! I love the shuttle bay. Thanks so much for sharing.

  6. May 6, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    The K-7 simple yet elegant desgin and Greg Jein’s did a fantastic job recreating it.
    I have admit that Troubles and Trails are two of my Favoirte Trek Episodes.

  7. 17 Mark Delgado
    May 6, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Hey John, I know this is probably a long shot, but would you know what the names and registry numbers were for those three ship models to the left of the station (two Reliants and one Excelsior)?

    • 18 johneaves
      May 7, 2011 at 6:46 am

      I will look into it,, they all had joke names on them like the USS Screaming Queen and so on..

    • 19 Boris
      May 8, 2011 at 8:40 am

      It looks like the lower Miranda is registered NCC-9481, apparently a rearrangement of 1864 with the 6 upside-down. My guess is they were supposed to represent the arriving fleet from “Way of the Warrior” seen here…

      …unless you can think of a closer match, Mark.

  8. May 6, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    if only some intrepid filmmaker would make make a film cg free and do the effects the old fashioned way…it would be awesome.

    • 23 johneaves
      May 7, 2011 at 6:48 am

      Go rent moon!!! the moon base and landscape work is all a combo of miniatures and CG enhancements,, It really shows, to me anyway that the best looking and most realistic VFX are a combo and not just one elemental style all on it’s own.

    • 25 johneaves
      May 10, 2011 at 9:37 pm

      Yeah I loved it and whoever the designer/ illustrator was, was a big fan of Ron Cobb’s!!!

  9. May 6, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    They had piles of those ships at Image G back in the day. They were used for BG ships in DS9.

    I also heard that this take on the K7 model was designed with the idea that each big round section was in fact a dock, or repair facility, that would open with the clamshell doors that make up the body or each pod. Inside would be various ships, docked, being loaded or repaired.

    • 27 johneaves
      May 7, 2011 at 6:49 am

      It sure looks like the design allows all of that movement!!! nice to point out some more info about her

  10. 28 Matt Boardman
    May 7, 2011 at 10:37 am

    This station always holds a warm place in my heart! Love to see these masterful models. Greg Jein is a model Michelangelo!

    • 29 johneaves
      May 7, 2011 at 9:27 pm

      I so concur and I would have loved to have seen the old original model,,, come to think of it I wonder what it’s fate was after the show?????

      • 30 R.J.Minnes
        May 10, 2011 at 1:34 am

        Love the pics, thanks so much…As to its fate, it stands to reason to assume it is still in the possession of the studio. Why do I think so? I asked myself the same question about Jein’s Enterprise until she started to show up on the tour circuit in 2009 in the revamped Star Trek The Exhibition tour (I believe in the Hollywood & Highland Center , California for the first time)….

        Gosh, I wished, somebody had taken the trouble to photograph his D7 model as well…

        By the By, Doug mentioned on his blog that Greg Jein was busy writing a book about his work, anything you might know?

      • 31 johneaves
        May 10, 2011 at 5:39 am

        I haven’t heard about that book but I’ll be seeing Greg soon for dinner so I’ll be sure to ask!

      • 32 johneaves
        May 10, 2011 at 5:40 am

        PS the studio doesn’t have that model,, they sold everything and we have been in every warehouse that Paramount owned,, somebody has that model stored at their house or it got trashed long ago.

  11. 33 Richard Knapp
    May 7, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    Great pictures – thanks for posting these. K7 has always been one of my favorites. I love the detail in the hangar bay.

    Bests,
    Richard

  12. 35 starhawk
    May 7, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    I’d be interested in some pics of that little “Spacematic” if at all possible… I’ve wondered for a long time exactly what it looked like close-up…

  13. 37 Colin
    May 8, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    The Miranda-class starship seen in that screenshot from “The Way of the Warrior” was the U.S.S. Trial (NCC-1948). This starship’s name was revealed on the old official Star Trek site, and the ship’s registry was revealed in 2009 on Ex-Astris-Scientia.

  14. 39 Colin
    May 10, 2011 at 7:43 am

    John,

    Have you been able to get more information on these particular ships? Thanks. 🙂

  15. May 10, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    There’s obviously a Galileo type shuttle there, but what’s the other? It’s almost reminiscent of the Trek 2009 big utility shuttle…


Leave a comment


May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031