19
Mar
09

Retro Klingon Bird of Prey Pt. 2


 

kling-bopkling-bop-2

 

Here are some tighter views.


18 Responses to “Retro Klingon Bird of Prey Pt. 2”


  1. March 19, 2009 at 5:14 am

    WOW Very cool Mr Eaves. Thanks for posting the photos!

    • 2 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 5:35 am

      this blog page is really fun,,, Great to dig out all this old stuff again and put it somewhere far better than in a box in the garage.

  2. 3 deg
    March 19, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Dude! you gots you some crazy-mad design chops man. 😀

    Thanks for sharin’ that. I made have to build this one too eh.

    PLL,
    deg

    • 4 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 5:36 am

      thanks and I would love to see a model of this one. If you need more info to do so I’ll start making plans for you.

  3. 5 CH
    March 19, 2009 at 5:47 am

    Awesome! Awesome!

    The BOP has been one of my favorite ST ships since I first saw it in STIII when I was 11 years old. I saved and ran out and bought the toy from Star Trek Generations. Someone was involved in that flick? Hurm?

    Very cool early version.

    Keep it coming!

    CH

  4. 6 deg
    March 19, 2009 at 6:23 am

    Ya know John, I will most definitely take you up on that come the time she gets to the top on me build-list, thanks so much.

    I wanna build your big girl first as I feel she fits in really well with my own updated TOS.5 ENTERPRISE, then I have a TOS.5 G7 shuttle update I want to build, and then I been thinkin’ about updating/building a TOS.5 Romulan BOP as well. Ah me never-ending build list… 😯

    You got any thoughts or work done on the G7 or the Romulan BOP along the lines of your big K-Bird?

    LLP,
    deg

  5. March 19, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Y’know this is the sort of design Star Trek: Online should be going for. This really looks like a 24th century BoP. The 22nd century one from Enterprise rocked too though.

    Again, real shame it didn’t get used on DS9. Awesome stuff!

  6. 8 Eric
    March 19, 2009 at 8:30 am

    John, will you be selling large prints at Wonderfest like you did before? I would love to have some framable size versions of these and any other ST designs you have.

  7. 9 johneaves
    March 19, 2009 at 8:37 am

    yes I’ll have table with a lot of new things this year.. I am working on my 30th of Alien piece as we speak!

  8. March 19, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Thanks for sharing the Bird of Prey concept art. I love it.

  9. 11 Eric
    March 19, 2009 at 10:26 am

    “I am working on my 30th of Alien piece as we speak!”
    Groovy!

  10. 12 DeanneM
    March 19, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    I’ve just gotta say that I love this design…it’s probably my 3rd fav of the ST designs. Enterprise E is in a close race with the Scimitar for first for me (I’ve got the big one you gave me with both of those framed to keep it nice :))

    This BOP is just so elegent, yet still a down and dirty Klingon war ship. I’d like to see this as a model, too. deg, maybe you could possibly bump it up the build list a tiny bit and share some photos down the road with us!?

    • 13 johneaves
      March 20, 2009 at 5:41 am

      Your a girl!!!! not many girls especially beautiful ones geek out with Star trek stuff. Your just awesome, that’s all I have to say!!!

      • 14 DeanneM
        March 20, 2009 at 1:06 pm

        What can I say, I must be the perfect woman! This stuff is so cool, how can anyone not appreciate the creative talent (namely, yours) and find it interesting. Then I always was the girl who liked classic cars, planes and ships…all those beautiful lines!!

        I’m not creative, but I downloaded the 3D program you recommended and would like to be able to, someday a long time from now, in this very galaxy (poor adaptation, sorry), play with items like this Bird of Prey in 3D!

  11. March 19, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Man, I love your Klingon designs. Sleek but retro, and your addition of cabling on the older vessels was sweet. Some really nice work…

    Thought you might like to see this unpublished bash…the blade of woe. A lot of your influence in that one…

    I find myself with a ton of stupid fanboy questions about what your favorite species is to design for, or what was the greatest Star Trek experience…but I remind myself of a fellow I stood near at a convention. We were standing at a vendor table of starship schematics, just window shopping, and he turned to me with this totally serious look on his face and said, “I just don’t understand how Starfleet can afford to build all these ships.” I found I didn’t have a response for him that wouldn’t deflate his experience. All I could do was blink and nod.
    So I will refrain from the cliche questions one asks of an admired artist and just say…frakin cool stuff!

    Peace, Michael

  12. March 19, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Okay, I lied. Stupid professional fanboy question…as an illustrator, I love your rendering style. What is your technique. It looks almost like good old fashioned pen and markers…like I used to mock ads and storyboards up with…but I’m betting it’s something more sophisticated. It’s a really great look and such a signature style, if I saw one of your rendering without any notation…I would know it was your stuff.

    Thanks for tolerating all the questions. (Do you know what you have gotten yourself into with this blog? lol…)

    Michael

  13. March 24, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Wow! Impressive work.

    Is this design somehow related to the old BoP that showed up on ENT: “The Expanse”? On which occasions did you create it?

  14. 18 eric arndorfer
    December 24, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    dont know if this will reach anyone. adding to an old post.??? Mr. Eaves Romulan Bird of Prey from Minefield blows my mind . Gorgeous!! Any model kits available? . Details specs to recreate my own? Thanks


Leave a comment


March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031