04
May
09

the rejected drawing of the cardassian ship yards


 

wow this was a huge one, it took  6 scans to get it all HAAA!!!

wow this was a huge one, it took 6 scans to get it all HAAA!!!

cu1

cu2

cu2

cu3

cu3

cu3

cu3

 

cu5

cu5

I had forgotten how big this drawing was,,,, I tried something bigger than the usual 11X17 (which was the max size of the copier) and tried a big 24X36 marker piece and this is what came of it!!!  A giant marker nightmare!!! Haaa! The story behind this one was this,,,  This was for the first show of season 7 and I was up at ILM on a project during the DS9 hiatus. The project went over and I got Greg Jein to fill in for me while I was away. Greg is not only the Miniature Giant but he is an outstanding artist as well. He was thrown into a concept nightmare with this Cardassian ship yard that was going thru some pretty rough approval sessions. Greg also hit a huge union snag that sadly cancelled his drawing stint in the art department. (Greg’s art from this episode is coming soon) My show got cancelled early and I got back at the same time they were kicking Greg out!!!! It was a bad time to say the least!!!! Greg’s pieces were brilliant with sweeping platforms and      docks full of ships under construction. all were getting the boot but in the long run a kluge of his work came to be the final design. To go in a totally new direction is what is shown here. It is a spin off from DS9 architecture stylized to be a huge shipyard. This too was quickly rejected but made for a fun marker sketch. here are some close ups to go with the big view. Also this is going to be a hugely busy week. Deg and I have to get the Shatner project going in full force and Wonderfest is next week and I am not ready,,,so with that the blog will most likely go slim for a day or so but if time allows I’ll keep putting things up even if I can’t get on to chat and comment back. Ok then and thanks to everyone again for a great week last week and for all the entries and links to your awesome modeling and Animations. Thanks mostly for the prayers for my daughter and for everything else. OK have a great Monday.


45 Responses to “the rejected drawing of the cardassian ship yards”


  1. 1 Alex
    May 4, 2009 at 7:13 am

    I rather like this concept 🙂

  2. 3 Pacal
    May 4, 2009 at 7:47 am

    John its a shame this couldn’t have been developed either as this or something similiar. This would have been an awesome addition to the DS9 Dominion war arc. We will just have to be happy with the Monac shipyards briefly seen onscreen.

  3. May 4, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Impressive. It is rather unconventional compared to the eventual “spider” shipyards. Still it looks quite Cardassian (also because of the similar structure as the Chin’toka orbital weapon platforms).

    • 6 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:38 am

      those two designs actually are the same just detailed differently and of coarse the size is different.

  4. 7 evil_genius_180
    May 4, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Yeah, that’s a sweet design. I love all the tiny Galor-class ships hanging around so we get the scale of the thing. I’ll have to pull out my DVD of that episode and take a look at what actually made it into the show ’cause I’m drawing a blank.

    Good luck with the Shatner project and everything else you’ve got going on.

  5. 9 Don
    May 4, 2009 at 8:50 am

    What a fantastic concept. While I liked the one actually used, this one is far more interesting, IMO. Great concept for a movie.

  6. May 4, 2009 at 10:41 am

    That is truly stunning design work I wish it had become a reality..they absolutely HAVE to utilize you for the next Trek movie!?!!

    Perry
    wildone_106@yahoo.com
    Animator-http://www.vimeo.com/4466115

    • 12 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:35 am

      Thanks and I’ll always be trying to stay on the trek films!!! Almost didn’t make to the last one,,, got on by a thin string of luck!! and a lot of prayers!

  7. 13 DeanneM
    May 4, 2009 at 10:48 am

    That is wicked and definitely Cardassian! Definitely should have been used somewhere, somehow.

  8. May 4, 2009 at 10:49 am

    That’s really a great painting! I’ve really enjoyed this blog since I love concept art and appreciate all the work that you’re sharing. You and Darth Mojo really make my day! A couple of requests nao: Do you have any Babylon 5 stuff lying around? Can you share your workflow, like how you go from really rough sketches to a finished piece? I’d love to see a master at work, so to speak!

  9. May 4, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Well, wow!!! 🙂
    Actually, I’ve never been the greatest fan of the Dominian/Cardassian style, but this picture, this ship yard is breathtaking! You really have the gift to create something unique.

  10. May 4, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    I like how there are those recessed fields with high exposed machinery and high surface detail, just like on DS9’s docking ring. The Chin’toka platforms is what came to my mind right away as well. It’s interesting how towards the end of DS9, Cardassian and Dominion starships and spacestations kind of merged, and it wasn’t s easy to recognize right away, whether a structure was Cardassian or Dominion.

    • 21 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:32 am

      There was a merge in look between the two and it did get difficult to distinguish the individuality of both sides

  11. May 4, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Absolutely beautiful! Could you post the whole piece? I’d like to print one out to hang on my wall.

    If this was a marker piece, I can only imagine the head rush from the fumes! Did you lay the background down with an airbrush?

  12. 24 the bluesman
    May 4, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    John

    That’s huge for a marker rendering. The biggest thing I did in art school in marker was a 12×18 comp of a movie poster. And this was before copmuters hit our industry back then we had to do everyhting by hand.

    There’s some ncie elements to the cardie shipyard.

    • 25 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:30 am

      it’s funny doing a big piece because it’s drawn from a sitting perspective,,, like this one when you hold it up and get some distance,,, what was just right from your chair is off when see from a far. The forward construction ring is off in perspective to the rest of the horizon line here because of that,, and thanks to photoshop I might try and fix that later if I get some time.

  13. 26 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    May 4, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    John, I love this! I hate that it was rejected. You must have so many marker drawings, how do you keep track of them all?

    • 27 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:27 am

      After a bunch of I can’t find it right now’s we all started to file everything according to episode,,, boy was that a big project but to have it all done was bliss!

  14. May 4, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    I gotta say that is insanely cool.

  15. 30 Matt Boardman
    May 4, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Love the Cardassian architecture and I really like the ring construction/repair berth!

    Hope everything comes together this week without too much of a headache! Can’t wait to see what you and deg churn out for the Shatner project! Thanks again for sharing these wonderful pieces with us! (How many more “!’s” can I throw in this message?)

  16. May 4, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    I love the level of detail in this piece and the design as a whole, but I must say I loved the final version more. It too had a strong Cardassian feel to it even down to the shuttle hangars (which you could juuuuust make out in some shots :)) and it was just great to see a non-Starfleet shipyard in such detail.

    • 33 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:21 am

      you would surly need a golf cart to travel around in this one,,, or one of those cool little rigs from Silent Running!!! Dan Curry was a big part of the final design and I need to go a see what the final did look like because it was a long time ago that I saw that ship yard piece

  17. 34 Simon Matthew Coles
    May 4, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Stupendous concept – that thing is HUGE. I always thought DS9 itself should have been much bigger than they made it, more towards this multi-mile scale.

    • 35 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:19 am

      you would surly need a golf cart to travel around in this one,,, or one of those cool little rigs from Silent Running!!!

  18. May 5, 2009 at 1:49 am

    That’s got some great Carassian architectural detail. Quite a mammoth job there.

    I take it that it was originally going to be twice as large as this originally. I can see around the moon the faint pen lines of a second structure, as if the final design we see is just half of what you originally had in mind. Great concept piece anyway!

    • 37 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:18 am

      Wow great eye,,, there were to be two of these stations in the picture but time was cut short so only one was made…

  19. May 5, 2009 at 2:57 am

    Holy cow!! Someone has got to make a model of that! Brilliant work!

  20. 40 Freak
    May 5, 2009 at 3:29 am

    My god, that is so feaking cool.
    It such a shame it was not used.maybe if trek goes back to the post TNG era, we could see it.

  21. 41 James Avalos
    May 5, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    this is so freaking cool !! I would love a singed poster of this design…FREAKING AWESOME !!!!

  22. 42 Jonas
    June 11, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    What a gorgeous concept! I like it.

  23. 43 Marty
    March 12, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Do you have any other larger images of this awesome station?

    Pitty it was rejected! What were they thinking.


Leave a comment


May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031