06
May
09

to boldly go!


 

Space,,,The final frontier

Space,,,The final frontier

 

these are the voyages of the starship Enterprise

these are the voyages of the starship Enterprise

 

it's continuing mission

it's continuing mission

to explore strange new worlds

to explore strange new worlds

 

to seek out new life

to seek out new life

and new civilizations

and new civilizations

 

to boldly go

to boldly go

 

where no man has gone before

where no man has gone before

Well the night finally came and My wife and I went to the cast and crew screening of Star Trek. The room grew dark the curtains were pulled and a quick video of JJ appeared on the screen,,, Most of his message was in silence do to a sound problem but once audible he thanked and welcomed everyone for working on the show and hoped everyone would have a good time.  To hear my feelings about this incredible night we have to open the discussion up correctly. This movie has been wanted and anticipated by the fans for many years. It’s very conception has been surrounded by hate, speculation, harsh critiques, bashing on levels, fear, and it has also been followed with excitement and hope. Star trek is such a huge part of everyones lives just based on fact of how long it’s been around and what it’s impacts have been on so many people from around the world. Trek has such a huge fan base and from the sad comments from so many the feelings towards the franchise were mostly of disappointment with the production of each new outing starting in the late 90’s to just a few years ago. Trek was slowly dyeing from within from the last couple of series and feature films,,, It was breaking it’s own rules and the strong driving force of the stories and the constants followed were widdling away with a dull mediocre downward spiral and all the fans were dropping away, all the fictitious histories and time lines were being compromised and it got to the point that the producers themselves couldn’t even keep the deck counts right for their  series major flagship. 2005 brought the end to Star trek as we knew it…  The new CBS and Paramount quickly saw what the fans wanted and from their point of view $$$$$ what was needed to get the studio back on a good footing.  With JJ Abrams success and energetic driving force behind his own movie projects and shows. Paramount or whoever made the call did the right thing by approaching him to revitalize this legendary series. This was a long movie in the making and an incredibly large set of shoes had to be filled. After seeing the film last night I can see how JJ thoughtfully jumped into those shoes with full force….. If you take the “to boldly go” monolog  from the Original , this is exactly what JJ and his writers did with awesome class and reverence. You could not start Star Trek today with a Voyager or Enterprise feature film,,,You could not do another TNG and move into yet a farthur future with this Human Adventure,,, You had to start at the beginning and make it a new beginning,, Just this challenge alone is a great under taking especially with everyone watching your every move.  JJ’s writers, crew, his own creativity and the bringing on of Leonard Nimoy created a brilliant cornerstone to embark on this new adventure. faced with redesigning something that has deep roots in a whole new way, yet be respectful to the original idea was definitely what was seen on the big screen last night. I can see now why the rule was created that no one from the previous shows were invited back to be a part of this one,,, I am still amazed and very thankful that that rule was broken in my case and I was allowed to be a part of this film. without giving a full fledged review here is what is coming…. This movie is all about attitude,,, your going to walk out of the theater with exatly what you take into it. If you are expecting to hate it going in that’s what your going to leave with,, If you follow Gene’s idea of to boldly go,,, YOU WILL NOT LEAVE DISAPPOINTED… JJ has a vision that he so elegantly has translated on the screen.. The opening (before the credits) plays perfectly as an emotional visual opera. His use of sound, silence, and performance sets the pace as one of the best opening sequences I have ever seen. ILM’s Jeff Olsen and John Goodson (ST Veterans, have really blown our socks off) along with Digital Domain, & accompanied by Ben Burt’s Brilliant sound, have gone into a new realm of Visual Effects. The Starships have a gritty look that is seamless in their perfect execution. Space in the new film has no left and right plain restrictions and you never now which way is up. The model work,,, can’t even be called that because visually the starships have such a look and weight that they are not a VFX image but a REAL full sized spacecraft. My hat is off to the incredible achievements these folks have put on film. Ryan Church’s  Enterprise, Kelvin & Jellyfish are masterfully perfect, All three ships are brilliantly poetic on screen and they cuts thru space with an incredible elegance, James Cline’s Romulan vessel is jaw droppingly gorgeous in a very evil kind of way. Alex Jeager From ST first Contact was back creating the background armada and his designs score big once again… This is going to be a kit bashers paradise!!! Anyways the credits role and the movie begins… Awesome casting and great character performances rule here and the actors have added a very energetic youthfulness to each of their given roles. The story is strong and defines the time changing issues elegantly as they set the way for a new future as only a Star Trek film could. The movie is graced with a very rich score by  Michael Giacchino, and the production design and art direction By Scott Chambliss , Curt Beech, and Keith Cunningham, is gorgeous. I walked out of the theater overwhellmed with what I saw and can’t wait to see it again.. There is a lot to take in and you really can’t prepare for where this adventure is going to take you. It is vastly different on every level and it has JJ’s great storytelling talents and action pacing down pat. So to put it bluntly,,,I LOVED IT!!!! To all the gang behind this one and Especially  JJ.  A big thanks and a tip of the hat to you.


71 Responses to “to boldly go!”


  1. May 6, 2009 at 6:06 am

    I’m so glad and relieved to hear you like it (loved it) 🙂 I’ll finally see the movie in 4 hours as well. I’m looking forward to your shuttles! 🙂

  2. 3 Freak
    May 6, 2009 at 6:07 am

    I was hoping to see this on the big screen, but alas, it’s not going to be the case and it really sucks. As I have seen every Trek film on the big screen since ST:VI.

    I just hope Paramount won’t drag their feet on realsiing this on DVD.

    • 4 johneaves
      May 6, 2009 at 9:56 am

      Oh no why can’t you????

      • 5 Freak
        May 6, 2009 at 9:25 pm

        It my Son’s Fifth Birthday next month, as it is his first proper party to invite his friends for it. We have booked a Children’s play hall, to do the party at. As you most properly know these thing are not cheep. Also it my daughters third birthday the following month, and we have to do something special for her, which mean, I don’t have the cash to and see the film.

        These are hard times, I have to give up some small pleasures to make sure my children have a birthday they will remember. 😉

  3. 6 the bluesman
    May 6, 2009 at 6:29 am

    John,

    I am glad you liked the film. I have my own reservations about it, but I will see it.

    I’ve never been a fan of alternate timelines and all that, and thought it was over done a bit in the series, mostly the later ones.

    Even fif I don;t like the flim, I hope the film will be a success as I’d liek tosee the Star Trek continue for a long time.

    • 7 johneaves
      May 6, 2009 at 9:56 am

      I am really looking forward to hearing what you think,, I am going again saturday and if i could i would have stayed and watched it twice last night!!! there is a lot to see and take in!

  4. 8 Freak
    May 6, 2009 at 6:39 am

    If this film is a huge success, Hopefully Paramount will commission a new TV show.
    But that will raise the question. Will it follow the new time line or go back to the original.

    • 9 johneaves
      May 6, 2009 at 6:47 am

      hard to say and it will be interesting to hear everyone’s comments on this one, There will be comments all across the board on probably every visual and emotional level!

      • May 6, 2009 at 7:05 am

        For me one of the best things in Star Trek was its environment, its history, the fact that there were so many references to other events and happenings within the canon. While I admit that this started to become tired, as you said in your post, I still feel that if we lose that rich back story we lose a massive part of what Star Trek is.

        Seeing it from Paramounts point of view, I doubt they would want to return to the old canon which has failed to make them money when the new film has been more successful, but personally I would feel very disapointted if they opted to totally reboot the franchise and forget everything that has been done before.

    • 11 evil_genius_180
      May 6, 2009 at 8:17 am

      I have the same hope. I hope they do it and put it on CBS, since they own the franchise now. 😀

  5. May 6, 2009 at 6:58 am

    Well I am looking forward to it. I know a lot of my friends and online associates have mixed feelings but you’ve covered that well. I have heard they use a twist (read Physics of the Impossible: A Scientific Exploration into the World of Phasers, Force Fields, Teleportation, and Time Travel by Michio Kaku) to enable the changes we’ll see.

    If this potential reboot is handled as well as BSG was I will personally be pleased.

    At the very least I’ll get to see some kick-arse effects by some of the masters 🙂

    While not a big fan of today’s movie experience (why do people let their children outside?) I plan on seeing this and not waiting for the Blue Ray.

    • 13 johneaves
      May 6, 2009 at 9:54 am

      everything is touched upon and opens a lot of doors for discussion!!! for the task at hand all involved should be very proud of the outcome!

  6. May 6, 2009 at 7:05 am

    I for one am happy that Star Trek in it’s truest form lives again! I don’t think they should retread old ground as far as plots, they should leave the old episodes as they are, and let each new movie go somewhere different and fresh. This in New Trek, not Old Trek Redone. I can just pretend that the other adventures happen as we saw them, in between the new movies, if I so wish.

  7. May 6, 2009 at 7:28 am

    From the little I know of the story..I hope things move forward with NEW storys & a NEW timeline
    I don’t want them to re-tread done before events, because its done already. Go somewhere new & exciting with it & make it unique..lets see strange NEW worlds & NEW stories. Anyway thats my take..I cant friggin wait to see it..!

    Perry
    Animator
    http://vimeo.com/4379025

  8. May 6, 2009 at 7:33 am

    When it was announced, I looked at this production with some trepidation. Not because I was afraid it would be a “reboot”, but because I was afraid it would NOT be. Star Trek, like James Bond, needs to be re-invented, not remade. Your comments, John, make me hopeful that that is indeed what has happened. I look forward to Friday night at the movies! I also look forward to reading about your involvement, once you are permitted to do so.

    • 19 johneaves
      May 6, 2009 at 9:51 am

      I still think there is a lot of trepidation surrounding this, can’t wait to get a better scope of how it is seen come next week.

  9. 20 Richard Knapp
    May 6, 2009 at 7:42 am

    Great to hear that you liked it. I’ve got tickets to see it in IMAX on Friday – really looking forward to it.

    Did you contribute any ship designs for the new film?

  10. May 6, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Thanks for the review John 🙂 I’m planing on going to see in IMAX this Saturday.

    Oh and it was CEO Brad Grey that liked JJ Abrams and brought him into the Paramount family.

    Freak — Why can’t you see it in the movie theater? The DVD and Blu-ray of the new movie should be this November.

  11. May 6, 2009 at 8:00 am

    Hi, John. I just saw the film myself, and I think you guys did a fine job. It’s a radical reinterpretation, but in a way, that updating makes it more true to the essence of Star Trek than anything has been in a long while. The original conception of the show, which is most visible in the early first season, was to make a naturalistic series grounded in character realism. But it was naturalistic by the standards of 1960s television, and filmic storytelling has evolved since then while Trek kind of stayed in one place and got left behind. Now Abrams has made ST naturalistic by 2009 standards.

    Of course, one area where ST always excelled was in its design and production values (and it makes me sad to see the official site for the Abrams film dismissing TOS for its “cardboard sets” and cheesy effects, when in fact it was the most visually sophisticated, cutting-edge production of its day). I thought the production values worked well here. The sets look better in action on the screen than it seemed they might from publicity photos. There’s some nice texture that enhances the realism, including a lot of the signage. I love the “Warning: Do not enter transportation area while transport is in progress” sign on the safety shield in the transporter room. Who came up with that? (I note from the credits, by the way, that Geoff Mandel also got around the embargo on Trek vets.)

    The intro to the new Enterprise was a wonderful homage to the TMP drydock flyover, although a whole lot shorter. I’m still not entirely sold on the contours of the ship, but it’s photographed well and has some interesting details, most strikingly the main viewscreen — if you can even call it that anymore.

  12. May 6, 2009 at 8:03 am

    John, could you be a bit more specific about your thoughts and feelings? This is too big a subject for a quickie post, eh.

    Yet, I kid, I kid. 😛

    I see you called me last evening, but I picked up and you were not there. Were you callin’ to jump up and down on the phone with with another Trekker, or was it project related?

    Cool you loved it, I’m sO there Thursday night as 7PM for the 9PM showing on the Super Screen. 🙂

    LLP,
    deg

  13. May 6, 2009 at 8:06 am

    John…Can I make a suggestion on this…do not go too into the movie, I have a thread on my site, and I had huge issues with people fighting about the movie. 😀

  14. 30 Eric
    May 6, 2009 at 8:11 am

    “This is going to be a kit bashers paradise!!!” I like the sound of that. I know I will enjoy this film, all the reviewers can’t be wrong. But now you have confirmed my hope, that other ships will be seen, I am very happy. Can’t wait.

  15. 32 Suricata
    May 6, 2009 at 8:20 am

    I was one of those that was cautious about this film. I’ve grown up with Trek like many of you guys here. For me, I feel my ideals and attitudes to life were gained from Star Trek (in a good way, not a nerdy way), so I’ve always got a twitch in my nerves when the morals of Trek have been twisted for quick bucks and fancy explosions.

    That said, the franchise really has stagnated over the years, I’m not quite sure when it happened, I think running simultanius series did not help as it further fragmented the fanbase more than the kirk/picard debate, people watched one series but not the other, people argued abotu what was Trek and what wasn’t. In general the atmosphere and greatness of Trek just wasn’t what is was, this is no dig at the guys working directly on the show and in all fairness is something alot of shows that run for such a long time experiance.

    So, my thoughts on the new movie? Well, I havn’t seen it yet, but I think it is ‘exactly’ what Star Trek needed, it needed to be brought up to date, it needed something drastic to pull it out of the ditch that it had fallen into to revitalise it and so far I think JJ has done that. If you looked at movie reviews for the last 4-5 Trek films, they were mediocre (due to film reviewers just seeing it as ‘another’ Trek film) and the average Joe for the most part wouldn’t even think of seeing them due to the nerdy stereotype tagged to it. I went to the premiere of Nemesis in Denmark, there were only about 15 of us in the screen! This film though? I have my work colleuges talking about it, I have my family talking about it, people I know who hate Trek are talking about going to see it. To me, what JJ has done is awesome, he has opened up Trek again to an entirely new viewer base which is just what Trek needed. Denamrk is not a Trek country, people here just don’t watch it, hell, when its on TV its on after midnight so most people havn’t even seen it. This new film may well just open Denmark up to Trek!

    I’ll be seeing the movie at the premiere and I soooo can’t wait, I’m going in with a clear mind, I’m not going to let my years of been a Trek fan interfere with this film, hell, look at Batman Begins and how that blew the socks off people who had got tired of the Batman franchise…so can’t wait 🙂

    • 33 johneaves
      May 6, 2009 at 9:43 am

      I can’t wait to hear what you think!!! Like I said the range of response to this one is going to be broad!

  16. 34 evil_genius_180
    May 6, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Man, I can’t wait to see it. But I will. I don’t do movie theaters. I’m tempted to break my rule on that but I didn’t for Watchmen and I can probably hold out for this one as well. Ryan Church’s Enterprise was the only part I was a little put-off about the first time they showed it, but not because it’s a redesign (hell, I’ve done that a few time myself) I just didn’t like the flow of the ship and it’s taken me a long while to come around but now I think it’s a pretty sweet ride.

    I also love the Kelvin, I don’t suppose you’re gonna eventually post any good content with that anytime soon, are you? I’d love to do a CGI model of that one but I’m not big on doing things using only trailer footage and a few small images. (I’m not saying anything bad about people who do that, it’s just now how I roll.)

    Anywho, I’m glad to hear you loved it. I think I’m gonna love it too. I’ve been saying for years that Star Trek needed a reboot, even though I like everything that’s been done so far. And J.J. Abrams is a cool guy, I like what he did with Mission: Impossible III. Plus, it looks like the special effects are gonna be da bomb. 😀

  17. 40 Matt Boardman
    May 6, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Oh man! I’m so excited for this I can’t contain myself. I have my ticket punched to boldly go tomorrow at 9:00 EST!! 2005 was a miserable birthday for me as the last episode of Enterprise aired on it. I’m turning 30 this year (adios, 20’s) and knowing that I have new Trek to watch on the big screen is really helping to ease my transition out of my 20’s (LOL!), and though the film is out a few days before my birthday, I can’t think of a better way to celebrate than to go see the movie a 2nd time (or possibly a 3rd…who knows!)

    Seriously, though, I’m right there with you! I want this movie to succeed so much! I know that there are a lot of naysayers out there, but I look at it this way. In 2005, I was not a happy camper when they canceled Enterprise. This past week, I bought Star Trek cereal! Everyone is talking about Star Trek, and for the most part, it a good way! The sucess of this movie is the continued success of the Star Trek franchise and it means more Trek in the future!

  18. 41 DeanneM
    May 6, 2009 at 10:47 am

    I feel like a kid salivating over a bicycle shaped present under the Christmas tree on Christmas Eve! Well, in the 70’s that was a cool present…. It’s been a long time coming, and I’m waiting impatiently for my look at the great looking cast, ILM’s stuff and the shuttles and hover bike ( 🙂 ). I’m hoping this will open some doors and keep a great story and universe alive!

    I’ve always appreciated the look of the new ship, so to me that isn’t a big problem. I still think the original Jeffries design will be the Grand Dame of Star Trek. I almost prefer that Enterprise be a bit different to help separate the original emotionally, but I think they did a good job keeping the basic design elements in tact. I don’t really know what to think until tomorrow night about the rest of the changes. I’m definitely keeping an open mind!!

    Still, I’m a sentimental old fool who liked ALL of the series! I will always be sad that ENT (and Trek and we know it) was crushed on the Paramount lot.

  19. 42 doubleofive
    May 6, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    I’m going to be writing two reviews on my WordPress (http://doubleofive.wordpress.com), a spoiler-free general audience review and a spoiler-full Trekkie review. I can’t wait to see it tomorrow at 7!

  20. 43 emperorkalan
    May 6, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Jeez, I’ve already boght tickets to two shows (the first showing at my local theater on Thursday evening, and an IMAX show on Friday).

    I have to say the huge positive reaction (from fans and non-fans) after the surprise premier in texas a few weeks ago ended any tooth-gnashing I still had (BSG notwithstanding, reboots and “reimaginings” have a spotty track record: Tim Burton’s Planet of the Apes, the American Godzilla movie, etc.).

    That I KEEP hearing good stuff is even better.

  21. 44 Melak
    May 6, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Man, I thought I was going to hate it, ugly enterprise and brewery engineering, but I have to agree: I absolutely LOVED it! Incredible! AND it had Nimoy in it!

    • 45 johneaves
      May 6, 2009 at 1:41 pm

      glad to hear!!! yeah that brewery stuff was something else but it worked for what they had to use!!! how did you get to see it by the way????

      • 46 Melak
        May 6, 2009 at 11:31 pm

        The movie launches today, 7th here, but there was a preview (english, no crappy german dub :D) 🙂

  22. 47 keytars_forever
    May 6, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    I just saw it and it’s a big thumbs up!

    I think this movie is exactly what Star Trek needed. There’s something in it for everyone and their vulcan friend. It was a lot to take in, there is a big blur in my mind, right now I just know I liked it. 🙂 I cought your name in the credits, which was very nice. I can’t wait to read all about your involvement!

    JJ and his crew indeed did go boldly! Congrats!

    • 48 johneaves
      May 6, 2009 at 2:22 pm

      your right about the big blur!!!! I have to go again!!! Hey how is everyone seeing the movie??? is it out in certain places or is it sneak previews???

      • 49 _pole
        May 7, 2009 at 2:40 am

        Yeah, I will definitely go again, too. Hopefully the original version, not the germany dub. Oh, Spock was awful in German, I almost couldn’t believe it. 😀 Nimoy’s voice is soo much cooler, considering the chills I got from the first teaser – “Space … the final frontier” – oh yeah!

        In Germany ST XI is officially out today, so I don’t know. It was some kind of special event. They actually had dancers in TNG uniforms dancing to crappy music mixed with some Trek score, where they were absolutelly clueless how to dance to it. 😀 It was kinda embarrassing. That and the big tinfoil starfleet emblem behind them. 😀

  23. 50 JJW
    May 6, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    John,
    After the movie’s been out for a little while will you be posting any of your art or any one else’s art or designs from the movie?

    I’ve really enjoyed your blog since I found it. I’ve got most of the Star Trek art books available (including your book focusing on Generations and First Contact which I still skim through regularly) and I love seeing the various design stages of ships and props.

    I’m looking forward to seeing the movie this weekend.

  24. 51 LoyalTrekFan
    May 6, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    I’ve had mixed feelings about this film. Star Trek desperately needed something new as Star Trek has been in serious trouble in recent years and the fans have become divided. However, I wasn’t happy when the Bond films decided to abandon their 40 years of history (so James Bond can’t visit his wife’s grave anymore like in the beginning of “For Your Eyes Only”, for example) and I’ve been very dubious about Star Trek doing the same thing. Despite this, the overwhelming positive reviews, both from non-fans and fans alike, have put a lot of my concerns to rest. I’m still concerned about rebooting the franchise but I look forward to this new adventure and addition to Star Trek. I don’t mind some changes so long as it’s still Star Trek. Mr. Eaves, your positive impressions, along with those of Anthony Pascale of TrekMovie.com and others have left me with a feeling of excitement and anticipation for this film. I’ll be seeing it Friday and I’ll let you guys know what I think of it either Friday evening or Saturday. Like many others, I can’t wait to see this.

    As a side note, I collect the lights & sounds starships and role-play items. I have the Playmates Enterprise from the new film and I must say that it’s beautiful. It’s a perfect blend of the classic Enterprise, with the larger impulse engines and the main deflector sticking out from the stardrive section, and TMP Enterprise, with the more modern saucer and look. I agree with Bernd Schneider (apologies if I misspelled your name) when he said that the new ship looks like a direct predecessor to the TMP Enterprise. It also looks great in all the previews I’ve seen so far so I’m very happy with the new ship. One of my concerns, prior to seeing anything, is that all the ships/equipment would look more modern than either TMP era or TNG era stuff but I’ve been very, very impressed with what I’ve seen on that angle so far. So far, I’ve been nothing but impressed. Hopefully I’ll feel the same way after I see the film on Friday.

  25. 52 LoyalTrekFan
    May 6, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    John, I have the Generations/First Contact sketchbook as well, and I too have always been impressed with John Eaves work. I think bringing Mr. Eaves in on this film is an excellent decision on Mr. Abrams part.

  26. May 6, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I hope they’ll be releasing an “Art of” book (well ,they can’t call it “The Art of Star Trek because that name’s taken… :)) somewhere down the line. I don’t like the Enterprise much, but most of the rest of the designs look fantastic, so it’d be great to have a nice book that goes into depth about the decisions and concepts for each element.

  27. 54 Jay
    May 6, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    I’ve had very ambivilent feelings about this film from the beginning, and on the eve of its release, my ambivilence is still such that I haven’t made up my mind as to whether I’m going to go see it or not. But regardless, I hope the film does tremendous things for your career, John. You’re one of the good ones, sir, and I delight in your continued prosperity.

  28. May 6, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    I’ll be seeing the movie this friday! I cannot wait to see it! I hope to see scketches of the prelim design work either in an “Art of” book or here online! You folks are masters of your craft!

  29. 56 LoyalTrekFan
    May 6, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    Jay, I’d recommend that you go to see the film. After all, if you don’t you’ll never know whether or not you like it. And if you wait to rent it on DVD it’s possible that you’ll have seen all the spoilers and their won’t be any surprises in the film. I too have mixed feelings about the film as described in my previous post. I also described what I’ve like of what I’ve seen so far. The main thing that I didn’t like is the Engineering set. It shouldn’t be industrial in my mind but hopefully that won’t take away from the enjoyment of the film.

    Like I said, I’ll probably post what I thought of the film on Friday or Saturday. Probably Saturday as I collect my thoughts on the film Friday evening.

  30. May 6, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    John asked: “what did you think of that sound design and the ILM stuff?”

    The sound design was fantastic. I loved how faithful the sounds were and yet how much new was added to them. I understand that Burtt recreated all the sounds from scratch, but the transporter sound had elements almost exactly like the original, and there was an intercom beep that was very familiar as well. And the warp entry sound effect is amazing. Like a Howitzer going off in the next room. It really gives the warp entry an impression of power and speed like it’s never had before. Folks, if you’re considering waiting to see this on DVD, don’t, unless you have a theater-quality sound system in your living room.

    The digital effects were very effective, fitting seamlessly into the naturalistic look of the film. I still have my quibbles with the physics of explosions in vacuum and the proximity of ships to each other, and the “black holes” were very fanciful, as was a certain shot at the end of the mind-meld sequence which makes absolutely no astronomical sense (though since it’s in a mind meld I can just treat it as symbolic). But the look of the effects was otherwise very believable, and I liked the camera work. The opening reveal of the Kelvin is deeply impressive, and the pullback from the bridge dome where the camera flips upside-down was a nice break from two-dimensional thinking, and kind of evocative of the opening shot of “The Cage” except in reverse. And I loved the TMP-homage flyover of the new ship.

    • 58 johneaves
      May 6, 2009 at 6:59 pm

      Well said and you two were impressed by the same things!!! AWESOME!!! notes and glad we are al starting to share these movie experiences!

  31. May 6, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    On the sound design topic, here’s a little interview with Ben Burtt on his hand in the new movie’s sound.
    http://www.editorsguild.com/FromTheGuild.cfm?FromTheGuildid=68

  32. 60 Kevin H. Martin
    May 6, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Jpearse, I wouldn’t hold my breath on an ART OF, since Pocket is totally gunshy of NF art books. The one you mention was only a shell of what they could have done back then, and the ones that followed had problems as well (except for the Eaves one, of course … I wrote a rave about the sketchbook for amazon way back when.) Maybe when they do the sequel … ?

    • May 7, 2009 at 1:29 pm

      Yeah, the movie sketchbook is definitely the best of the bunch. The “Art of” book was good at the time, but compared to the sketchbook it didn’t really scratch the surface image-wise. Something like the Star Wars Art of books would be really welcome. I wonder why Pocket is against them?

  33. 62 shipfisher
    May 6, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Very entertaining movie. After seeing engineering, or what most of it seems devoted to, it’s obvious the 23rd century feds are a bunch of moonshiners in this alternate reality – I guess the stellar economy had to based on something.

    Star Trek should live long and prosper off the back of this new take on things. I hope we get to see some shuttlecraft and background ship orthos popping up on line in the near future.

  34. 63 Iwata
    May 6, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    John, have u any Concept Art from “STAR TREK” for us ?

  35. May 7, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    jpearse said: “Something like the Star Wars Art of books would be really welcome. I wonder why Pocket is against them?”

    Pocket’s editorial staff would love to do them. Simon & Schuster’s sales department, not so much. They’re very expensive to make, and past art/nonfiction books haven’t sold well enough to convince the sales force that it’s worthwhile to try another.

  36. 65 emperorkalan
    May 7, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Just back from seeing it. Smiling. Can’t wait to see next week’s episode!
    (Waddaya mean 2-3 years!?!)

    Now, I’m the sort who actually enjoys figuring out timelines and creating a framework out of bits and pieces of plot and dialogue, so naturally I have a whole laundry list of nitpicks.
    But over the whole thing I have a Big Red Stamp (Whump!) saying “I ain’t gonna frakkin worry about it”.

    Everybody’s in their “correct” positions, and we’re ready to Boldly Go. Maybe it took a few cheats to get there, but a well placed cheat can be a good thing. (wink) It’s not as if it’ll interfere with liking the old stuff at the same time.

    On to tomorrow, and the Imax version. (heh)

  37. May 8, 2009 at 7:50 am

    I’m glad you liked the film!

    I was asked to review it on the radio – I had about 20 mins between the end credits and going on air and I was absolutly stunned. Even when I sat down to write the review later I just wanted more.

    It’s given the franchise a boot in the arse and was just a thrill to see.

    • 67 johneaves
      May 8, 2009 at 8:54 am

      Thanks James and I went ahead and posted your review on todays post,,, Great review and love your writing style!!

      • May 8, 2009 at 12:27 pm

        Thank you for the comments, kind sir 🙂 Much apreciated and tngling my geek senses considering who’s giving the praise!

  38. 69 CX
    May 9, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    I can’t say that I’m impressed by any aspect of this movie, other than the budget, which makes its failure to be Star Trek in more than name that much greater. I sincerely hope something new is made a few years from now that wipes the slate clean on this one.

  39. May 10, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    I boldly went! (hmm that sounds bad)

    I think the Enterprise E from First Contact is still my favorite ship (you designed that one so I do not feel bad saying it!) but I have to admit, the new Enterprise from this movie is a close second.

    It was like the 60s ship reborn! Loved it.

    Al

  40. May 25, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    John,

    Remember me. My brother and I did a bunch of cut-a-way posters in the mid 90’s of various Star Trek Vessels. I too liked the movie. However, If I were to consider doing a cut-a-way of this take on the enterprise, How to I explain engineering as a Budweiser brewery and the concrete block construction and the 8 or so warp cores? Oh well, Thus begs the question, what’s really important in a Star Trek movie? If you designed the look of the Ship, great job on the alternate timeline Enterprise.

    The Kelvin looked like the 1701 C reconfigured.

    Live long

    Matt


Leave a comment


May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031