18
Jun
09

new stuff from the Jem ‘Hadar battle ship


I just found more images from the files in reference to the Jem ‘Hadar Fighter.  Some of these pics have been posted before, but the quality of the originals here will look much better than what was previously posted,,,,and they’re free!  In addition, I found the early rough and a whole series of bizarre color schemes that go from camouflaged, to almost circus colors!!!  Pretty wacky stuff!!!  These are all from the episode “In Purgatory’s Shadow”.

pretty smooth detail in the early days!!!

pretty smooth detail in the early days!!!

the modified version with the Jim martin flyer flying along side!

the modified version with the Jim Martin flyer flying along side!

views

views

belly detail

belly detail

color 1

color 1

color 2&3

color 2&3

color 4&5

color 4&5

and 5&6. I believe they went with a variation of #5 for the final

and 6&7. I believe they went with a variation of #6 for the final


20 Responses to “new stuff from the Jem ‘Hadar battle ship”


  1. 1 DeanneM
    June 18, 2009 at 7:20 am

    I’ve always liked this, but it’s nice to see all the views. The front view is awesome, and it’s nice to see the belly detail. Ooh, and look at all the pretty colors!! (just had to through that one in!)

    When I read that there was a camoflauge version, I wondered what that would look like for a *space* vessel, but perhaps it’s for when they’re parked planet-side? 😉

    I like the last color scheme the best, but is it #6 or #7? There are two #5’s.

  2. 2 johneaves
    June 18, 2009 at 7:29 am

    look at your pretty picture!!!!! I need more to draw you as a pin up though!!!! I just looked at those #’s and they look OK to ME!!!

    • 3 DeanneM
      June 18, 2009 at 7:35 am

      So the pic is showing up, huh? I can see it in my WordPress acct., but I’m still seeing Serenity in my posts.

      The next to last pic says #4 and 5, and the last one says #5 and 6. I didn’t want to arbitrarily change what Master Eaves has designated! 😆

  3. 4 Richard Knapp
    June 18, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Beautiful design! Next to the Enterprise E, this has always been my all time favorite Star Trek ship. Perfect combinantion of functionality, sleekness, and intimidation.

    Thank you John. I know I bugged you a few times about this one [a few too many times I’m sure!]. You’re a good guy and these are much appreciated.

  4. 7 Jonathan Burke
    June 18, 2009 at 7:57 am

    I’ve always loved this ship myself. It was so pretty, I wish the bad guys didn’t fly it. Thanks for the additional sketches! 😀

    • 8 johneaves
      June 18, 2009 at 8:05 am

      My pleasure!!! i have some prints of the model but don’t know how they’ll scan,,, i’ll try later and if acceptable I’ll add em on.

  5. 9 Pacal
    June 18, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Cool stuff, your version of the Jemmie Bug is rather cool too, meant for proper scale I presume.

  6. 11 Scott D
    June 18, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Impressive ship. And liked how it evolved to the Scimitar in Nemesis.

  7. 12 Boris
    June 18, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Thanks for the additional sketches. Was the scale in this case driven mainly by the Bug or other capital ships?

  8. 13 Melak
    June 18, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Ohh I love these, thanks for sharing!

    Though I would have liked them better on the show if they werent all pink/purple :p

    Hey John, Could you maybe look into making each image link to the large version like on Doug’s blog?

  9. 15 Tom Pohl
    June 18, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Umm, I think you boo-booed John. These are sketches of the Dominion Battlecruiser (seen throughout the later seasons of DS9), and not the Dominion Battleship, which appears in the DS9 episode “Valiant”. I’m surprised no one caught this sooner.

    • June 18, 2009 at 11:24 pm

      I don’t know, so many people don’t know the difference between designations these days anyway. It’s quite possable they were both battlecruisers / battleships. Its kind of irrelvant really 🙂

  10. 17 Boris
    June 18, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Actually, the nomenclature is not strict enough to make such a claim.

    http://memory-alpha.org/en/wiki/Jem%27Hadar_battle_cruiser#Designation

  11. 18 Freak
    June 18, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    I like that first version, would make a great fighter on it own.
    as for the colours I just love the funky #5. great stuff.

  12. June 21, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I wonder, could the “smooth” early design have been a lot smaller? The call-out says “cockpit” instead of bridge, and overall I could imagine it to be a fighter.


Leave a comment


June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930