01
Oct
09

the rest from Dawn #39


Here were the alternate concepts for the Alien ship and also a little craft that was built and used time and time again throughout the later Trek series and had to be revamped for Dawn.  Here it is with some side mounted guns and some new engines and then in it’s crashed position for the set up on stage 9.  I really liked both of the alternate concepts and would have been happy with any of these getting the producer’s seal of approval!  My yearning to work on Star Wars shows without hesitation in version B, and I didn’t hold back on throwing in a lot of Joe Johnston-esque lines and elements!!

concept b

concept b

concept c

concept c

the many times a-revamp set piece,,, the Dawn 39 version

the many times a-revamp set piece...the Dawn 39 version


23 Responses to “the rest from Dawn #39”


  1. 1 MikeZ
    October 1, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Poor Tim Earls. His “Alice” really had to suffer through a lot.

  2. 5 DeanneM
    October 1, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Ah, yes. Alice, the creepy, lonely space craft that bewitched Tom Paris. MikeZ, you’re right, it doesn’t look like she fairs too well in ENT, either.

    Doesn’t look like a Jeep or a MiG 28…more like a Vega hatchback. But she’s loyal!

    Concept B does look like something left over from the Clone Wars, indeed! 🙂 I like it, but the shovel/shark gets my vote.

    • 6 johneaves
      October 2, 2009 at 7:34 am

      HAAA the Vega Hatchback,, reminds me of my old Plymouth Arrow!!! the Big Surf-mobile!!!

      • 7 DeanneM
        October 2, 2009 at 7:51 am

        Yep, I had the pleasure of a ride in that baby many times!! I should have used that example! Watch out for wiper fluid!!! 🙂

  3. 8 evil_genius_180
    October 1, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Yeah, the ship Alice was a bit crazy but it was definitely a well done episode and ship. And it’s always great to see how you guys manage to recycle old stuff and make it look new. I never made the connection, even though I’ve seen Alice at least once (after I got whichever season of Voyager that episode is from on DVD) and I’ve seen Dawn several times.

    Other than the final version, I also like both concepts and can definitely see some SW in Concept B. It’s kinda got a Republic Cruiser meets A-Wing feel to it. 🙂

    • 9 johneaves
      October 2, 2009 at 7:33 am

      it is a big SW mish mash and I loved the A-Wing,, What an awesome ship

      • 10 evil_genius_180
        October 2, 2009 at 9:38 am

        Yeah, the A-Wing is a sweet ride. It’s the sports car of SW ships. 😀

        Too bad you haven’t had a chance to work on some SW (professionally) because I bet it would have been cool if you had.

  4. October 2, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Concept B would have been very cool. But I am quite content with the design that made it into the episode.

  5. 13 barriesuddery
    October 2, 2009 at 2:39 am

    I thought design b looks alot like a BSG viper.

    Love design c. It has a very aggressive profile and a somewhat organic look to it. I think that was something Trek didn’t touch on very often: races who use bio-organic technology.

    Thanks for posting these and all my best to Carlene and family.

  6. 15 Richard Knapp
    October 2, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Wow! Version “C”, now that is one mean looking battleship – it looks built for mayhem. Looking at all the design work you’ve posted from Enterprise, it seems like you did more full color images as opposed to pencil and ink renderings. Was this a choice you made or was it requested by the FX team? Beautiful work – thanks for posting!

    I hope you and the family have a great fall weekend. How is the fall in your part of California – do you get a lot of color?

    Take care,
    Richard

    • 16 johneaves
      October 2, 2009 at 7:28 am

      it was always about time,, if I had it i would throw color on stuff and if not,, all you get would be Blue or B&W Version C was submitted a lot throughout Enterprise but just never made the cut!!!

  7. October 2, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Top-notch stuff, all three! You’re hired!

    And B does look like an A-Wing or a Jedi Starfighter. Can def see those Johnston lines, no doubt. Gotta love a SW ship, for their beat-up utilitarian feel and nurnie-encrusted detailing. A blast to build and paint as well. Been a long time since I cranked on a SW mesh. Gotta do another one some time, eh. 😉

    Thanks, John! 😀

    LLP,
    deg

  8. 19 the bluesman
    October 2, 2009 at 8:54 am

    John

    I enjoy seeing these pen and marker comps in a digital art world. Computers are great and I use mine 27 hours a day, but I still find the best way to bang out ideas is to draw them by hand.

    • October 2, 2009 at 10:33 am

      Speaking of which, John, I remember a while back you mentioned your first attempts at sketching digitally weren’t entirely successful, I’m curious if you still ever draw or colour sketches on the computer, or do you work exclusively on paper?

      I’ve been trying to brush up on my digital drawing skills (using a tablet I’ve had for some years now) and sometimes it’s just hopeless. 😀 I’m starting to think it’s more straightforward to just draw on paper and then scan it in if I want to colour digitally (colouring seems to work out fine).

      • 21 the bluesman
        October 2, 2009 at 2:47 pm

        JP

        Something I do is go ahead and make my sketches by hand, scan them and color them in Photoshop like you mentioned. I like the tablet for digital painting, but for darwing theres nothing like a pencil or pen on paper.

      • October 2, 2009 at 3:07 pm

        I think I’ll start trying that. I seem to be able to get enough control when I colour with the tablet, but for line drawing I can never achieve enough precision to really do justice to what’s in my head.

  9. 23 CarlG
    October 2, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    I love the tangle of pipes underneath the hull plating of version C.
    Greebles are the bit I always get snagged on when I try drawing a ship, and it’s very helpful to see how you guys approach details like that in your drawings! 🙂


Leave a comment


October 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031