17
Dec
09

Iowa shuttle concepts #2


Here are a few more variations of the USS IOWA (Kelvin) shuttles that went a little deeper into the very familiar lines and lineage of the old Galileo style craft from the original series!!!  Even though we were moving away from this look and into something new, Scott Chambliss had me use these ideas as the springboard to work from.  It was quite fun to work with the original lines, not only as an homage but to see what was going to carry through or be left behind!!!  It took a long time and a lot of renderings to get to the finals, so more to come!!!  Enjoy!

Iowa or bust


22 Responses to “Iowa shuttle concepts #2”


  1. 1 DeanneM
    December 18, 2009 at 1:32 am

    On these, I like the top right best. Nice and clean and definitely more along the lines of TOS.

  2. December 18, 2009 at 4:40 am

    Looks sweet, the finalized Kelvin Shuttles don’t actually look far from what’s shown here. The drawings just have more familiar TOS details.

  3. December 18, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Nice to see more TOS references worked into the film. I’m surprised they let you get so close to the Galileo design, really. I like that you made the windows more expansive, so the crew can look up and see more. The one thing I don’t like about the original design is those small windows, which looked kind of absurd in the interior shots.

  4. 4 Benjamin
    December 18, 2009 at 6:28 am

    So I’ve seen this everywhere in concept art, why the use of blue pencil over strait graphite when doing designs?

  5. 5 Richard Knapp
    December 18, 2009 at 7:04 am

    You are the master of capturing the look and feel of the Star Trek universe and then rendering in ever new and interesting designs! I love the look of the wings and engines on all four of those designs. Great work as always!

    Thanks for posting, Rich

  6. 6 deg
    December 18, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Oh yeah… 😀

    peace | deg

  7. 7 evil_genius_180
    December 18, 2009 at 10:26 am

    All I know is that I’m glad they decided to drop the name USS Iowa. It would have been too corny, given that Iowa is Kirk’s home state.

    I’m loving these shuttle designs. It’s really great seeing how you came about designing the cool shuttles from the movie. I love the homage to Jefferies’ TOS design. I agree with DeanneM, I like the top right one the best, though it’s a close call. They all look cool. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to the next post on the shuttle design, this is great stuff. 😀

  8. 9 Lou
    December 18, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Evil Genius…Corny? Iowa? Corny?

    John, I love the homages to the TOS Shuttle, but would your design need a ladder to get in and out of? It doesn’t look as if the bottom of the door would meet the nacelle top the way the Galileo’s did. (at least not without bumping the dome)

    I concur that the upper right is the best of the bunch

    thanks for giving us the BTS peeks

  9. December 18, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Well, I guess this answers my question from yesterday. More great stuff here,thanks. I wonder though, did you consciously add the little vertical stabilizers as an homage to Jefferies early shuttle concept sketch, which sported a similar doohickey?

  10. 12 Scott D
    December 18, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Classic looking.

  11. December 18, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    I like the subtle updates in these designs. Too bad they moved further away from the classic lines.

    USS Iowa? Now that would have been corny indeed. George Kirk did everything to become the XO on the ship named for his home state? The Kirks later moved to that state to honor George’s sacrifice?

    • 14 Boris
      December 18, 2009 at 4:00 pm

      Sounds like an early attempt by the screenwriters at explaining why Kirk wasn’t born in Iowa. He was…we just never knew it was a starship! 🙂

      (If so, it’s a good thing they changed their minds.)

  12. 15 Buckaroohawk
    December 18, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    I actually like these better than the ones in the earlier post. Not only are they closer to the original TOS shuttle, these drawings show how versatile the TOS design was and how it can be updated without losing the basic configuration. I’ll have to pick a favorite and find some time to do a 3D build.

    Thanks for sharing, John…and Happy Holidays everyone!

  13. 16 Matt Boardman
    December 18, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Ohhh! These are shiney! I don’t know if I can choose a favorite because I like them all! 😀

  14. 17 Freak
    December 19, 2009 at 5:25 am

    I love the bottom right one. the large window gives the pilots a better veiw than the others.

  15. 18 Alex Rosenzweig
    December 19, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    John, these are very cool! Count another vote for the one on the top right as the best of the bunch, though they all could have worked. These should have been the Enterprise shuttles. They’d’ve been spot-on! And all four could have been different variations. Who says the shuttles all have to be identical, right? 🙂

  16. 19 patrickivan
    January 4, 2010 at 7:39 am

    I am firmly planted in the top-right camp. They’re fine looking designs but I find that the top right keeps the look and feel of TOS’s shuttle, while at the same time giving it more detail that people want to see. I think that it’s the one that also has the least amount of detail on it and that’s another reason I dig it.

    Had you planned on a size for these shuttles? Those doors can be misleading…

    Man, I love all these concept drawings! Keep up the awesome work 🙂

  17. January 17, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I love how much of the old style was used in the film. When I first watches it, it was these little details I appreciated most. Especially with the shuttles looking so much more similar to the classic design than we saw on the Enterprise and the communicators they used on board.

    Wonderful stuff, as always.

  18. 21 Reverend
    January 17, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    The USS Iowa name was real? Wow, maybe that guy claiming to be a set dresser on movie that asked for high-res copies of my Federation logos wasn’t full of it after all! I’ll have to take a closer look at the graphics used on the film. 😉

  19. 22 Manuel Alvarado
    February 23, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    You did a good job, John.
    I consider the final design of the Kelvin’s shuttles in the movie to be an upgraded version of the Class F shuttles from the original series.


Leave a comment


December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031