18
Mar
11

Ryan dening, an artist extraordinare,


WOW!!!!! I just had a moment to hang out on the computer and browse a bit and I came across a website and a blog by RYAN DENING!!!! Ryan was my boss on the Star Trek online game when Perpetual was putting the game together. We met in 06 and I started working remotely with a visit up to the bay about once a month to meet and go over all the new lists of things to be rendered. Ryan was hired to be the design boss for the game and what an awesome talent he is. When I first walked in the office, which was very tiny and very dark you could see his art work being modeled or manipulated on every screen as you walked through the halls of computers. Ryan has an incredible sense of design and his passion for Star Trek was without limits. I was a huge fan from the first day and I loved his style of color & tight perspective on how he would choose to set up a rendering. AWESOME talent and one incredibly nice guy!!!  I am so glad to have come across his pages today and so glad to be sharing some of his work with you.. I attached both his links in my blog role so be sure to go check out some incredible stuff!!! So for know hold on to your chair and feast your eyes on some of Ryan’s fantastic illustrations.

The Excalibur, STO's flagship

the sacagawea

some cool interior

Wow an Abrams which has been Denisized!!!


36 Responses to “Ryan dening, an artist extraordinare,”


  1. March 18, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Ah. I still wish the Sacagaweawas in STO. It was such an awesome design… and Cryptic honestly could use some fresh ideas, especially for KDF ships and material. You should go offer your services to them John, tell them the Players of STO sent you :p

    • 2 johneaves
      March 18, 2011 at 10:03 pm

      HAAA! Thanks pal!!! I loved all of Ryan’s ships and the Sacagawea was a big fav of mine as well!!!!

      • March 18, 2011 at 10:09 pm

        In fact recently we were talking about how the KDF needs new designs for ships specific to the species that make up their ranks and I couldn’t help but point out some of your Orion designs for Enterprise. Some of your stuff’s made its way in there though, the DujHod Chariot for example its quite clearly your revamp of the Klingon ship used in Bounty. Can’t wait to get it honestly but I still have 250 days left till i get my Vet reward to use it.

      • 4 johneaves
        March 18, 2011 at 10:12 pm

        Is all of this in the cryptic versions of the ships???

      • March 18, 2011 at 10:14 pm

        How do you mean exactly? (it’s a bit after 1am here brains not totally working).

      • 6 johneaves
        March 18, 2011 at 10:16 pm

        OH NO go to bed buddy, we can talk more tomorrow!!!!

      • March 18, 2011 at 10:17 pm

        Ha! I’m gonna be up for quite a few more hours I may as well make it productive. What exactly you wanna know?

    • 8 johneaves
      March 18, 2011 at 10:28 pm

      I wasn’t familiar with what KDF stood for and haven’t seen much of what cryptic has done yet,,, I need to go and see what their up to! So what I was asking is all that your talking about is what cryptic has done so far for the game??

      • March 18, 2011 at 10:36 pm

        Oooh! Ok. KDF stands for Klingon Defense Force, which is the faction opposing the Federation at current due to a war caused ultimately by the Iconians but they’ve not finished that storyline yet. As it is the Klingons are lacking in content, for every one ship design the KDF has the Federation has at least 3. A lot of players have been asking for more content in that regard, including ships specific to the species that are part of the KDF. The Gorn, Orions, and Nauscicans. Recently we got a Gorn, Orion, and Nauscican tier-5 (highest tier) ship each. And players liked this and wanted more. In particular in the conversation on the STO forums I was refering to I linked to one of your Orion Battlecruiser designs for the episode Bound.

        Additionally Cryptic recently introduced the first of their shuttle missions, and in doing so released shuttles to both factions. And as part of this both factions now have a 400 day veteran reward that a player gets when they have had an account actively subscribed for 400 days. The federation got a Captains Yacht, which is the Sovereign class yacht seen in Insurrection. The KDF got the DujHod Chariot, which is the ship design from the ENT episode Bounty. (the last picture you link here https://johneaves.wordpress.com/2009/09/29/klingon-shuttles-volume-2/ ). But Like I said they still need more content and ideas for ships on the KDF side. Particularly ships. I hope that answers your question. 🙂

      • 10 Scott D
        March 20, 2011 at 10:56 am

        Well for starters they named a Sovereign Bridge after you. (Well to me it just looks like a Galaxy bridge with pillars).

        With ships they recently made the MVAM Prometheus functional, which is pretty cool.

        They reused your BoP Design and it’s very popular among the Klingon players. They also redid a B’rel, which mimics Changs BoP from Star Trek 6.

        Their Gorn and Nausicaan ships look pretty awesom, but their Orion ship looks like a flying Gourd. 😛

        Soon they are going to add the Oberth, Ambassador, Mark Rademaker’s Vesta, as well as the “Enterprise-F” (Whomever wins).

        There is so much more to comment on, especially with the actual in-game play.

      • March 20, 2011 at 2:23 pm

        Oh the Orion Marauder. Me and my fleeties call it the “Orion Peanut”. And I personally use the Eaves and Zimmerman bridges on most of my ships. Though I often wonder about that bridge pack, as it advertises four bridges and gives you only three.

  2. March 18, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    AH yes, Mr. Dening, quite the talent, eh! The sec a I laid eyes on the Sacagawea I knew I HAD to build it, and I did, And Ryan loved it. Said it was his new desktop. (It’s on my site for any interested.)

    Hope all is well with you, ya big monkey! And everyone else as well!

    peace & bananas | deg

  3. 13 evil_genius_180
    March 19, 2011 at 12:01 am

    Those are some killer designs, I love the Excalibur. I haven’t played STO, did any of his designs make it in or did pretty much everything from the original STO endeavor get scrapped when the new game studio took over?

    He’s a great artist, that’s for sure. I’m looking at his blog right now and there are some real goodies on there. 😀

    • March 19, 2011 at 11:32 am

      A few minor things from the old STO concepts have made it in. A few of the items designed to be used in Vulcan environments have been included, mostly on Pjem, and Ryan Dening’s starbase design was used for Starbase 39, and 24. It really does look like most of the original stuff though was tossed aside, which is a shame. A lot of Ryan and John’s stuff (even the doughnuts) would make great additions. The Excalibur for example, while not a fan of all of it I’d love to see its saucer as an option for the Assault Cruiser tier-5 ships.

      • 15 evil_genius_180
        March 20, 2011 at 9:28 am

        I see. Thanks for answering my question. 🙂

        One of these days, I really need to get STO and try it.

    • 16 Scott D
      March 20, 2011 at 10:59 am

      Well Ryan’s Excalibur somewhat made it in-game. It’s a floating wreck that sometimes can be seen when entering Deep Space Encounters.

      But the others are not.

  4. March 19, 2011 at 12:54 am

    I have not played STO myself. But I love the sacagawea. The Model deg made of the it, is just out there, and the animation of it do the spin in warp is just sweet!

    Ryans a great artist. Do you know what that intior is from? It reminds me of uncharted.

  5. March 19, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    I fell in love with the Sacagawea as soon as I saw it; I haven’t tried STO yet but I’ve been considering grabbing the extended version off Steam…we’ll see! 😀

  6. 19 Matt Boardman
    March 20, 2011 at 12:29 am

    Very cool designs for sure! Mr. Dening has a great talent and I wish that Perpetual had been able to complete the game. They seemed to have a really neat idea of where they wanted to take the game and with Cryptic and Atari, it seemed like it was rushed out the door.

  7. 20 Scott D
    March 20, 2011 at 11:04 am

    People still love many of the Perpetual designs, especially the Tahoe. Cryptic’s designs isn’t looked upon favorabily and players seem to opt for cannonical models.

    However, got to give their design team lots of credit, they really do a superb job in detail. They may be far from CGI, but its still a pretty awesome job.

    And come April 1st, we will learn who won the Enterprise-F design contest (/knocks on wood), their ship will be added to the roster. I’m really hoping my design makes it.

  8. 21 johneaves
    March 20, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Wow lots of great comments,, I so need to get on and play and can’t wait to see who’s enterprise F wins,,, We should do a feature on all the contestants here if Cryptic would allow us to!!!

    • March 20, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      There’s a lot of contestants to go through there John. And I won’t lie some of em are pretty bad, but some of them are awesome.

    • 23 Scott D
      March 20, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      I don’t see why not. But not sure how you are going to do a feature 1400 entries. 😉

      http://www.startrekonline.com/enterprise/gallery

      I think you would be surprised how many interesting designs are out there. One of the most popular is a really unique design that would make a great Federation ship, but at the same people felt she just wasn’t the “Enterprise”. (No offense to the designer).

      I’ll make a post on the forum and hopefully Cryptic will get in touch with you. Drop me a line and I’ll forward you my design. 😉

    • March 20, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      Also John if you wanna play I’m sure one of your many watchers here, myself included, would be more than happy to send you a referral code.

      • 27 johneaves
        March 21, 2011 at 2:26 pm

        Thanks for sending over your pictures,, I love seeing these designs so thanks for sending them over,, thanks Vincent for the info too and I went over and saw a few of the entries,, What a broad stroke of ideas,,,, Love all of the folks that are taking the time to create such a vast list of concepts!!! Cryptic has to be thrilled with all of this!!!

      • 28 Scott D
        March 21, 2011 at 8:42 pm

        Vincent, I wouldn’t mind as long as shes fair and balanced. 😉

        John, well all appricate the encouragement regarding our designs. There are many popular ones, but like they say in Highlander, “There can only be one.”

  9. 29 Bridger
    March 21, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Hello and greetings from Austria!

    I love it to play STO and that you are involved in the game is great, so my question is when you work with Cryptic are you limited to designing or do you do more and are other Trek veterans like Doug Drexler or Mike Okuda working on STO?

    Thanks

    Michael

    • 30 johneaves
      March 21, 2011 at 7:08 pm

      I was actually on the game before cryptic, when it was being designed by Perpetual, Lots of fun and Mike Okuda was doing work on the game as well in those early days!!!

  10. 31 Z3R0B4NG
    March 21, 2011 at 3:23 pm


    those are complete overviews of ALL currently >>> playable <<< Ships in Cryptic's Star Trek Online (the ones you can actually fly, there are also a lot Alien Ships you can blow up ;P )
    thx to Spidermitch for keeping the Lists up to date 🙂

    my STO Screenshot gallery:
    https://picasaweb.google.com/Z3R0B4NG/StarTrekOnline#

    collected STO Artwork / Concepts etc. from all possible sources:
    https://picasaweb.google.com/Z3R0B4NG/StarTrekOnlineArtwork#

    and if you want moving pictures, i made a nice little video of the Open Beta End Event last year (a little outdated but you still get an impression of the game)

    oh and Cryptic is also hiring at the moment if anybody is intrested: http://www.crypticstudios.com/openings

    have fun

  11. 33 the bluesman
    March 21, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    The Excalibur isnt working for me, but I liked seeing the rest of the art and digital paintings.

  12. 34 Joe McMullen
    March 30, 2011 at 7:23 am

    There are aspects of the Excalibur I like, but it really does remind me of a dog dragging its ass on the carpet.

    The Sacagawea is gold, though.

  13. 35 steve1138
    March 30, 2011 at 11:55 am

    While technically on the first ship I can tell he can draw, that ship looks like a dog dragging its butt on the carpet. I just don’t like the balance of this ship, The shuttle on the other hand is great, well thought out and executed.


Leave a comment


March 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031