07
May
09

for Matt!!, the red october models over at Boss Fims!!!


the big october model

the big october model

these pics are courtesy from the gang over on the Boss facebook page

the October on the motion control rig

the October on the motion control rig

the Konovolov (alpha class)

the Konovolov (alpha class)

this was the BIG dsrv model

this was the BIG dsrv model


52 Responses to “for Matt!!, the red october models over at Boss Fims!!!”


  1. May 7, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Nice! I went and visited a friend over at Boss when these were there… (it was right before they “weren’t” there, if you know what I mean…
    They were great looking models… and I wish Boss had been allowed to see the project through… but that’s showbiz.

  2. May 7, 2009 at 7:51 am

    pssst: For Matt πŸ˜‰ I have never seen Hunt for Red October.

  3. 6 Suricata
    May 7, 2009 at 7:58 am

    *Cheers*

    I love that film so much, one of my favorites for sure. My computer area is surrounded by models from Star Trek as well as Naval Warships and Submarines, lol

    That is one big model submarine for sure, I wonder what happened to it after the film πŸ™‚

    • 7 johneaves
      May 7, 2009 at 8:05 am

      it’s up at ILM

    • 8 Melak
      May 7, 2009 at 8:10 am

      The movie’s among my favorites too! I was wondering if Doug or you would post these eventually, thanks!

      Apart from SFM, this is the best site I’ve stumbled upon so far… Thanks John!

  4. 9 DeanneM
    May 7, 2009 at 8:07 am

    I checked these out a while back on FB, but ALWAYS good to see! The poor Konovolov is now in pieces in the Laurentian Abyss…*playing sad music*. I just love seeing October, what a cool boomer she is!! The DSRV model is definitely bigger than I thought it would be.

    By the way, I recommend reading the book first. So many details they just can’t squeeze into a movie, and seeing it first takes the suspense out of some fabulous passages.

    Thanks for these nice distractions while I await my daughter getting off work so we can go stand in line with all of the fun (and funny) Trekkie folk in their costumes (my daughter included – she’ll be a science officer since she’s a computer engineering student) and probably some folks speaking Klingon – Ka’Plah!!

    • 10 johneaves
      May 7, 2009 at 8:12 am

      you should dress up too and you could go as Ka’Boom

      • 11 johneaves
        May 7, 2009 at 8:13 am

        I got this book on tape, and Richard Creena read it.

      • 12 DeanneM
        May 7, 2009 at 8:19 am

        Did you read, er, listen to it before seeing the movie? I was just mesmerized reading the part where October was running blind at high speed through the canyon. Now I picture the awesome and most fabulous Sean Connery (always awesome and fabulous, always) as Captain Ramius, but at the time I had no vision of such a cool and competent captain in my head. I think that was the only time in history I bit my nails!

        Did I mention that Mr. Connery is awesome and fabulous? Best surprise guest appearance in a movie ever, IMO, as King Richard at the end of my fav Robin Hood flick…the whole theater gasped. πŸ˜€

        Sorry, back to your regularly scheduled blog…

      • 13 johneaves
        May 7, 2009 at 8:21 am

        Ka’Boob would also be a good one for you too,,,,,

      • 14 DeanneM
        May 7, 2009 at 8:21 am

        Wait a minute!! Did you just make a reference to the size of my posterior?!?!

        Now, back to you, John, and your blog.

      • 15 johneaves
        May 7, 2009 at 8:22 am

        HAAAA! wooops Meant Ka’Bob to many “o’s”

      • 16 DeanneM
        May 7, 2009 at 8:22 am

        I quit…it’s your blog and I just can’t win!!!

  5. 17 DeanneM
    May 7, 2009 at 8:23 am

    I’m laughing so hard I can’t breathe!!!! Help, oxygen!!!!

  6. 18 johneaves
    May 7, 2009 at 8:23 am

    wouldn’t Alan Rickman make a good Ramius???

    • 19 DeanneM
      May 7, 2009 at 8:27 am

      Trying to change the subject? I can’t see through the tears…I even snorted once!

      Alan Rickman is also fabulous and very talented, but I don’t think he could pull this off like Mr. Connery, who could? I’d just see the crazy Sheriff of Nottingham instead.

  7. 20 Freak
    May 7, 2009 at 8:37 am

    This is a great film and one of my Fav’s, I am so gald that it very close to the book.

  8. 21 evil_genius_180
    May 7, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Now I gotta go watch the movie again. πŸ˜€

    Great stuff, thanks for posting it, John. I absolutely love the Red October model, it’s definitely one of my favorite submarine designs.

  9. 23 Matt Boardman
    May 7, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Woo hoo! Thanks John!! πŸ™‚ These are fantastic! I’m not going to lie, I loved the movie so much that I bought the soundtrack and the book. Basil Poledouris’ score for the movie was brilliant. I love the Hymn to Red October and the choir pieces are fantastic!

    I didn’t know that the filming models for this movie were that big! That’s awesome and I’m happy to hear that the October still exists over at ILM! πŸ™‚ I love the modifications that they made to the Typhoon class sub. I once put a model together of the October that is sadly sitting at the bottom of some abyss somewhere in the world. (Perhaps the model world’s equivalent of the Laurentian Abyss.)

    Deanne, I think it helped me to see the movie first then read the book. There were points in the book that I think I would have been a little lost had I not seen the movie. This was Clancy at his best! πŸ™‚

    Alan Rickman as Raimius…hmmm…I could see that. He has a very stern face, which reading the book you can picture Raimius have. I wonder if they would have put a beard on him. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen Rickman with a beard.

    • 24 Melak
      May 7, 2009 at 9:59 am

      In Die Hard maybe? πŸ˜€

      I cool to see that so many people like this movie as much as I do…in fact it got me into reading Clancy’s “Ryanverse” books πŸ™‚

      • 25 DeanneM
        May 7, 2009 at 10:25 am

        I had read the first four books before the movie came out and actually stood in line for the opening day showing at 7 months pregnant! It was certainly worth it!!

        Glad to meet more fans of the film, too. πŸ™‚

    • 26 DeanneM
      May 7, 2009 at 10:20 am

      Or as the Sheriff in Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves, but both of these (Die Hard, too) it is a small beard. With a full beard it could work!

    • 27 DeanneM
      May 7, 2009 at 10:36 am

      After looking at pics of Alan in several of his films, I was surprised to see that his beard is almost exactly the same in both of these films, but the rest of these two looks are *nothing* alike (well groomed business man and crazy haired Nottingham). I now believe he could pull Ramius off because he has done such tremendous jobs on a great variety of roles!

      These are the only ones with beards, BTW.

      • 28 Matt Boardman
        May 7, 2009 at 10:50 am

        Wow! I can’t believe I forgot about those! Thanks to both Melek and Deanne! πŸ™‚ I’ll have to check out pics of him in those movies!

      • 29 johneaves
        May 7, 2009 at 10:56 am

        we just had our annual die hard movie fest and Rickman was awesome!!! I can see the Nakatomi Plaza from my window right now as we speak!!

      • 30 DeanneM
        May 7, 2009 at 11:03 am

        What did they end up building next to it? We get around to at least a couple of the movies every year, but in the last 12 months I’ve seen all four. πŸ˜€

  10. 31 ninersartanddesign
    May 7, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Beautiful!! Thanks John! I was wondering, can you tease us with some concept art from TV’s upcoming Virtuality and Stephen Sommers’ G.I Joe: The Rise of Cobra? πŸ™‚

  11. May 7, 2009 at 9:54 am

    I think I can answer for John here… if I may… πŸ™‚ Concept artists usually don’t put up “teases” of concept art for stuff that isn’t released yet. Movie companies get very testy when they discover artist showing their stuff before the movies come out. I know John honors this, and so do I… but when the movies are released… I’m sure John will put up stuff… in due time. πŸ™‚

    • 34 Matt Boardman
      May 7, 2009 at 10:15 am

      Amen to that, Daren! Studios are very serious about their NDA’s and it could spell a lot of trouble should one choose to not honor it!

    • 35 johneaves
      May 7, 2009 at 10:43 am

      Thanks Daren just got down to your note!!!! Only if it is named USS Sea Breeze can you give a little tease!!!

    • 36 johneaves
      May 7, 2009 at 10:44 am

      thanks Matt!

    • 37 johneaves
      May 7, 2009 at 10:58 am

      by the way Daren, Your Tarzanadu Poster is the funniest thing I have ever seen,,, well except for Meat Mung’s feet,,, but it is right up there!!!

    • 38 johneaves
      May 7, 2009 at 10:59 am

      by the way Daren, Your Tarzanadu Poster is the funniest thing I have ever seen,,, well except for Meat Mung’s feet,,, but it is right up there!!!

  12. 39 FOJ3000
    May 7, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Great pix as always,nice change of pace from all the ST stuff. How about a photo review of one of the greatest space epics of all time:Spaceballs! Notably the Winnebago and the gigantic Spaceball One.

  13. 40 BB43MAN
    May 7, 2009 at 11:59 am

    I loved this movie!!!! This movie is the reason that I got interested in nuclear submarines and wrote a book on the subject. I still listen to the soundtrack from Red October on occasion. Thanks for posting this one!!!!!

    “Now they will tremble at the sound of our silence! The order is: engage for silent drive!”

    • 41 johneaves
      May 7, 2009 at 12:07 pm

      Wow I can’t believe how many folks love Red October!!! Well there will have to be a Red October day soon!!!

  14. 42 Scott
    May 7, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Red October was a great movie, and I have to thank you for the pictures of the model John. Never could really see the Catapillar Drive Doors on the video.

  15. 43 BB43MAN
    May 7, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    One of my favorite quotes: “When I was 12 I helped my Daddy build a bomb shelter in our backyard because some idiot parked a dozen warheads 90 miles off the coast of Florida. This thing can park a couple of hundred warheads off Washington and New York and no one would know anything about it until it was all over!”

    Another one is: “Mr. Thompson, open the outer doors, firing-point procedures! Now if that bastard so much as twitches, I’m gonna blow him right to Mars!”

  16. 44 Jay
    May 7, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    “Moshht thingshh in there don’t rrrreact well to bulletshhhh.”

    One of my favorite movies and one of the few times that my Dad and I went to the movies by ourselves. I think Dad wishes he’d been Sean Connery in another life, but then who wouldn’t? The man embodies cool.

    I remember being blown away, after seeing the film, when I read in Cinefex or some such about the sub models all being shot “dry” with smoke and then bubble effects and so forth added in as elements. Hard to believe that was *gulp* 19 years ago. A great flick and one I never get tired of. Kind of the peak of Alec Baldwin’s career as a big screen leading man. It was all “The Shadow” and “The Getaway” from there.

    • 45 DeanneM
      May 8, 2009 at 1:55 am

      Great accent – never thought I could hear his voice so clearly while reading!!

      I thought Alec Baldwin pulled off Jack okay, but he wouldn’t have been my first choice. I really don’t think much of him or what he’s done for the last 10 years.

  17. 46 ShinRa Actual
    May 7, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    I’ll chime in with my love of Hunt for Red October; it’s still a great movie, and the visual effects still look great.

    Is there any info somewhere on the building of the Red October models? This is the first I’ve seen a real good look at them, and I’m wondering what kind of thought went into it that made it so noticably different from a real Typhoon (the base of the sail, and what looks like Missile tubes behind it).

  18. 47 Simon Matthew Coles
    May 7, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Excellent! Thanks for posting these John, wonderful stuff there.

  19. May 8, 2009 at 4:52 am

    I thought Baldwin was a lot closer to the “analyst type” that was supposed to be Jack Ryan… I think that when Ford took over the role, it lost a little credibility to me… I think part of the fun of that character was that he was a supposed desk-jockey thrown into these situations… with Ford’s baggage of being an “go get ’em” hero, it made that aspect kinda thin.

    It’s kinda the same deal to me as Schwarzenegger in “Total Recall”… Not once do I believe that he was an “ordinary guy” as it is implied. Would have been much more interesting if the original casting of Richard Dreyfuss in the role had happened. Then we would actually be Surprised when he takes out 5 enemy operatives… instead of just wondering when he would stop being a wuss.

    • 49 DeanneM
      May 8, 2009 at 7:49 am

      I would rather have seen Alec continue in the role because he pulled it off and I like continuity, to be honest. He did such a good job that I can’t even recall who I’d wanted anymore. Just looking back from now, I’m not a fan anymore. Harrison actually did a good acting job playing the reluctant hero, despite his Han Solo/Indie past, which says something about his acting ability!

      I hadn’t heard about Richard Dreyfuss in Total Recall. I totally agree with you there, Daren! He definitely would have been more interesting and believable. Arnold was probably chosen for the box office draw.

    • 50 Jay
      May 9, 2009 at 12:20 am

      I’m with Daren vis-a-vis Alec Baldwin playing Jack Ryan. He brought a sweaty nervousness to the part that lent a believability to the character as a deskbound paper pusher out of his element. Don’t get me wrong – I love Harrison Ford. Han Solo, Indiana Jones, Blade Runner, the whole magilla. But when you see Harrison Ford in an action movie, you know he’s gonna kick somebody’s posterior. Not so with Baldwin – although I still think Baldwin would have made an excellent Batman 20 years ago. Maybe he wouldn’t be making those Hulu commercials. But I digress …

  20. 51 Simon Matthew Coles
    May 8, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    I think Ah-nuld was chosen for Total Recall because it makes it funnier that this musclebound killing machine doesn’t know what he is. But that’s just me….

    As for Harrison Ford, yeah, I have to agree, I never really liked him as Jack Ryan, and Patriot Games was a bit weak, but Clear and Present Danger is one of my favorite movies.

  21. 52 Jeremiah
    May 8, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    I was waiting for you to posts pics of the RED OCTOBER!!!!


Leave a comment


May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031