27
May
09

ezri dax and her transporter firearm


Nicole DeBoer, WOW!!! was she ever a hoot to work with!!! She was very funny and always very nice!!! After getting to know her a bit you just couldn’t help but to be a little smitten every once in a while.
So DS9 episode #563 titled “Field of Fire” called for this wild rifle with a transporter device attached to the barrel accompanied with a special headset sighting goggle. The script read that Ezri was going to be fashioned with all of this gear so I jumped at the chance to draw a portrait style image of her to put the device sketches on to.
This was great fun and got a kiss on the cheek from Nicole when she saw the drawing …AHHHHH what a great day that was!!! HMMMMM…. OK back to the gun, we used one of the Breen rifles as the basic body and detailed and added all the extras to convert the piece into a new and deadlier weapon the prototype TR-116 rifle. We suggested that they put the transporter device on the end of a bow gun and a sling shot for the kids but the ideas didn’t fly!!!   Say la-vee! (C’est la vie) [thanks Deg!!!] HAAA! Ok enjoy the Ezri pics and imagine getting one of those big cheek kisses!! That is except for you Deanne, you can just ask for a hand shake!!!

Ezri (Nicole DeBoer)

Ezri (Nicole DeBoer)

 

with the sighting device

with the sighting device

the mean and nasty breen refitted firearm

the mean and nasty Breen refitted firearm

picture of the fitted gear

picture of the fitted gear

 

wow and action figure,,, I just found this on line,,, have to get one!!!

wow here it is as an action figure, I just found this online, I have to get one!!!


49 Responses to “ezri dax and her transporter firearm”


  1. 1 deg
    May 27, 2009 at 6:05 am

    Interesting, seems my posts now won’t post if I include my name/signature, eh…

    • 2 Matt Wright
      May 27, 2009 at 10:10 am

      AFAIK WordPress.com doesn’t let you have sigs. Are you just adding a line of text at the end of your comments? It looks like that is beeing flagged as spam, as I see all your recent attempts at posting went to the spam comments section… hmmm…

  2. 3 deg
    May 27, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Yeah, she was a cutie-pie no doubt! You lucky dog you! Didn’t wash that cheek for a month, did’cha? 🙂

    French spelling FYI: C’est la vie (such is life) is how you spell that phrase, eh. The only reason I know is because it’s the name of a song by Greg Lake off the Emerson, Lake & Palmer album; Works Vol. 1.

    Thanks John!

    PS. Lucky dog you. 😀

  3. 6 James_M
    May 27, 2009 at 6:33 am

    Yeah, that rifle is pretty tough. Was their ever a call to design any starfleet soldiers, with full battle gear like armor and helmets? I don’t recall.

  4. 7 Richard Knapp
    May 27, 2009 at 6:50 am

    You draw a great Nicole DeBoer! I have really been enjoying all of this week’s DS9 designs – thank you.

    • 8 johneaves
      May 27, 2009 at 7:32 am

      Thanks Rich, Got to do the same with Chase Masterson for her wedding dress ideas,, those to were really fun to draw!!!

  5. May 27, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Was it Truffaut or Godard who said “All you need to make a movie is a girl and a gun,” I can never remember? I love Ezri with the TR-116, it’s an almost iconic image, which is why I use it on the front page of my website. I still get people emailing me to point out that it’s not a phaser!

    The Breen rifle forms the perfect basis for the TR-116, so much so that I really don’t think it’s “alien-looking” enough to be a Breen rifle. Did you design the original prop, John? I’d be interested to hear how the design originated.

  6. May 27, 2009 at 7:14 am

    Ahhh… 24th Century ‘Soldier of Fortune’ mag cover!

    That was a good episode, girl/gun – what’s not to like? Great portrait and nice gun dress up too!

  7. May 27, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Very nifty idea for a weapon (really a sniper rifle, eh?). Would’ve come in handy if the ship had been boarded, just point it in the general direction of the docking hatches and pick off the bad guys as they climb aboard. 🙂

    Didn’t realise it was a modified version of the Breen rifle. Looks very Starfleet to me and seems to have a lot in common with the First Contact rifles (which are my favourite tv/movie weapons).

  8. 14 doubleofive
    May 27, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Must be cool to have toys based on things you designed.

    • 15 johneaves
      May 27, 2009 at 9:29 am

      I find it very funny,, I wish they still made the micro machines of the Star trek ships,,, the Ent.-E was the last one I think to be made!

  9. 22 evil_genius_180
    May 27, 2009 at 8:01 am

    I had a huge crush on Nicole back in the day when I found out she was replacing Terry Farrell on the show. And, even though I’m a huge fan of Terry (what straight guy isn’t? ;)) I love what Nicole brought to the show for their final season. She was a great addition, it’s a shame we only got to have her character for 1 season, but the writers and producers and you guys in the art department did some great things with her.

    I love the rifle, dude. It looks like something you could see Arnold Schwarzenegger swinging (one in each hand, of course) in some Sci-Fi movie. 🙂

    • 23 johneaves
      May 27, 2009 at 9:28 am

      Most actress’s simply look better on the screen rather than in person but for Nicole it was the other way around,,, TV didn’t do her justice,,

      • 24 evil_genius_180
        May 28, 2009 at 8:09 am

        Wow, she must’ve really been hot in really life ’cause I thought she was smokin’ on TV. (I still do) Of course, with digital TV, people these days pretty much look the same on TV as the do in really life, don’t they? 😉

  10. 25 DeanneM
    May 27, 2009 at 8:36 am

    I really enjoyed this episode a lot, and not because it was an Ezri epi (although I liked her character a lot). I bullet transporter idea and the rifle itself were reason enough. I also like a good mystery and investigation. 🙂

    Ya, I’d pass on the kiss! But she sounds like someone I’d enjoy grabbing lunch with. I admired her confidence (at least she appeared so) jumping into a very established Trek series as the new main character on the block. She owned that role, and it was interesting to see her work with the familiar Dax thoughts and try to be accepted as the new Trill.

  11. 26 Scott
    May 27, 2009 at 9:21 am

    That was a really interesting episode. The TR-116 is a great concept: Sniping through walls, a optical device that lets you peep without getting busted. What a great combination! 😀

    BTW, any special meaning behind the designation? TR seems to me would be short for Trek.

  12. 28 FSL
    May 27, 2009 at 9:24 am

    That is one cool gun. Might as well forget about phasers as this thing can see and shoot through walls. And imagine it won’t be affected by dampening fields or anything.

  13. May 27, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Beautiful drawings! I’m so in awe of your skills!

  14. 32 Matt Wright
    May 27, 2009 at 10:12 am

    And to echo what others have said, your sketch of Nicole is amazing. It took me a while to come around to Ezri on the show, but she was a cutie if nothing else 🙂

  15. 34 Rusty
    May 27, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    I’ve been wanting to convert my breen rifle over to the TR116 this should help me along the way, thanks John!

  16. May 27, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Wonderful art work of Nicole! I seen her last year at a convention while standing in line to get an autograph from Shatner , she smiled and winked at me !

    I wish you luck in your quest to find an Ezri Dax action figure by Diamond Select Toys though . She was a part of Deep Space Nine wave one , and was the shortpacked/chase figure .

    You can find them on ebay , but they are very pricey . The suggested retail for the figures are about roughly $15.00 , but the Ezri Dax figure goes for between $40 and $80 depending .

    If you do manage to find one please post some pics of her for us to drool over LOL

  17. 36 Matt Boardman
    May 27, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Got to see Nicole at the big Vegas convention last year. She was both funny and as you said, John, as cute in person as she is on the screen. Your drawing of her is amazing!

    Great rifle and head piece design!

  18. 39 Ryan Cornelius
    May 27, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Am I the only one that thinks the picture of the cloaked cloaking device was hilarious?

    What a hoot!

  19. 40 Jay
    May 27, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    As my dear old grandpappy likes to say, there ain’t nothin’ prettier than a pretty girl!

  20. 43 Dunrana
    May 27, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    This is easily the coolest rifle in all of Star Trek. Thank you VERY VERY VERY much for posting these drawings. I’ve often thought this rifle would be really good against Borg drones – it might take them a minute to adapt to having bullets beamed into them. Any official perspective on Borg vs TR-116?

    The drawing of the clip seems to indicate that it takes some sort of 30/40 or fifty caliber round. Would anyone know what round this beautiful rifle was supposed to chamber?

    • 44 johneaves
      May 27, 2009 at 5:25 pm

      it’s a 30 caliber chamber…

    • 45 Scott
      May 27, 2009 at 6:50 pm

      Well if the Borg are after you, that’s an effective weapon. 😉

      But to me, there two methods that could have a bigger impact on the Borg. 1) Grease the floors of the Borg vessel with a frictionless surface and watch them slide all over the place. Or 2) While being regarded as “harmless”, go around putting explosives on their backs. All that’s left is to push the button and watch them go BOOM!

  21. 46 Freak
    May 28, 2009 at 10:44 am

    This is a great rifle is so cool!
    I always though it was a modified version of the First Contact rfiles and not the Breed.

  22. 48 Rush Limborg
    October 19, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    johneaves, you certainly are a most fortunate soul, to work with who is, In My Admittedly Not So Humble Opinion, one of the most beautiful actresses ever to grace the screen with her presence. My salute to Star Trek’s Princess of the Universe–and the fellow who got to work with her, here!

    And that she kissed you on the cheek–well, I could only dream of being granted youthful immortality in that manner. 🙂

  23. 49 Stickie
    April 16, 2013 at 10:41 am

    That’s not a “clip” – It’s a “magazine.”
    Just a friendly correction from a pedantic bitch who can’t bear it when other people make mistakes…
    😉


Leave a comment


May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031