02
Jun
09

Matt Wright receives the first eavesdropper award!


As you have seen on the blog here in the last week or so there have been a lot of changes made, Things have been categorized, the blog role is long and workable,  and a whole lot of little extras have been fixed and updated!!! This was all done by Matt Wright who so graciously volunteered his time to make this page work better. Thanks Matt  and in honor of your incredible service you are here-by awarded with the first ever eavesdropper award or excellence in knowledge and outstanding service, You stood up in the face of great naivety in working the blog and heroically fixed all the issues!! my hat is off to you sir!!!

 

MATT'S AWARD, NOW YOUR THE CAPTAIN OF YOUR OWN SHIP!!

MATT'S AWARD, NOW YOUR THE CAPTAIN OF YOUR OWN SHIP!!


38 Responses to “Matt Wright receives the first eavesdropper award!”


  1. 1 Don
    June 2, 2009 at 6:47 am

    Oh, now how cool is THAT, Matt? You get your own ship from the Master himself! Congratulations, and well done.

  2. June 2, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Wow. 😀 And that’s a nifty ship as well!

  3. June 2, 2009 at 7:32 am

    Ha, very cool, Grats Matt, not everyone gets a ship named after them! 🙂

    Pretty nice little ship as well, you’ll be the envy of the station when that little ship docks 🙂

  4. 4 Buckaroohawk
    June 2, 2009 at 7:34 am

    I hate to sound like an overly stern teacher, waiting to rap some students knuckles with a ruler, but shouldn’t the headline read “Matt Wright receives the first eavesdropper award”?

    • 5 johneaves
      June 2, 2009 at 7:38 am

      I am constantly embarrassed and ashamed of my spelling and grammatical lack of skill!!! Thanks teacher I have fixed my error!!! OWWWWWW-WAH my knuckles!!!

      • 6 Buckaroohawk
        June 2, 2009 at 12:16 pm

        Well, since I just noticed a grammatical error of my own (“students” should in fact be “student’s”), I guess I’ll have to give my own knuckles a smack as well. 😉

    • 7 johneaves
      June 2, 2009 at 7:54 am

      by the way how is the grammar on the award???? do I need to rearrange anything???

      • 8 DeanneM
        June 2, 2009 at 8:08 am

        Well, I didn’t want to nitpick the actual award, but I would have worded it the “Excellence of Service” award. Am I thinking backwards?

      • 9 Don
        June 2, 2009 at 8:38 am

        Deanne has that one right, John. “Service of Excellence” is kind of…strange. I’d go with “Service Excellence Award” or “Award for Excellence in Service”. Sorry, I can’t turn off the copywriter in me.

      • 10 DeanneM
        June 2, 2009 at 8:51 am

        What was that, Don? Couldn’t quite hear you….

      • 11 Seumas
        June 3, 2009 at 5:03 am

        No, I think that “Service of Excellence Award” looks perfectly acceptable:

        “Service of an excellent standard”

        “An excellent service”

        …Seumas…

        [You don’t have to listen to me though, I only sat the most important English exam of my life three weeks ago…]

      • 12 DeanneM
        June 3, 2009 at 5:11 am

        Oh, but I Like being right! 🙂

        I still think it would sound better the other way, but then I haven’t taken an English class or exam for, oh too many years to mention. Seumus, I bow to your knowledge.

      • 13 Seumas
        June 3, 2009 at 12:27 pm

        Deanne…

        Could you please spell my name correctly!?

        Please?

        Sorry, but the spelling that I use is the Scottish spelling which is slightly different to the (more popular((But not nearly as nice!;-)))) Irish spelling.

        As a result, I have a name that no one can spell… Although I would rather have to (and will) put up with having to correct everyone who spells my name correctly than having any other name: Because this is my name, and I would be incomplete and undefined without it.

        Seumas MacDonald

        (Oh, and I am also rather prideful of the “a” and capital “D” in MacDonald)

        There, that’s your Scottish lesson for today!

      • 14 DeanneM
        June 3, 2009 at 12:38 pm

        OH so sorry! I pride myself on my spelling and take care to get names right, but I was in a hurry. I totally understand your feeling, since my first name is rarely spelled right, too. Try growing up with my Swedish family’s name of Malmgren – never pronounced or spelled right! 😉

        My humblest apology goes out to Seumas MacDonald!!!

      • 15 Matt Wright
        June 3, 2009 at 12:39 pm

        Yep you gotta watch your “Mc” and “Mac”, the Scotsmen know it’s “Mac” 😉

        Both sides of my lineage have head strong Scottish women marrying British men (how prideful Scott’s feel about this I dunno), so that’s 1/2 my heritage right there 🙂

      • 16 Seumas
        June 5, 2009 at 7:19 am

        Thank you Deanne, and I am thankful (yet full of sympathy for) your understanding!

        (Malmgren seems like a good name though!)

        Oh, and Matt, you’re right about the Mac and Mc, because the Mc means that they are possibly of Irish descent and the capital D is important just because! (and it’s more impressive!)

        Seumas MacDonald.

  5. 17 DeanneM
    June 2, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Yea, Matt! I can see you going to Staples and having them print a run of a thousand of these to plaster your neighborhood and work with, and then decorating your computer desktop and webpage/blog with the .bmp and then wallpapering your office with what’s left of the print run!!! 😀 I would!

    Very nice little design there, Mr. Eaves.

  6. 18 Barrie Suddery
    June 2, 2009 at 7:52 am

    Nice one Matt! Congratulations!

  7. 19 evil_genius_180
    June 2, 2009 at 8:00 am

    I love that long blog roll. Lots of cool places on there that I never knew existed. 😀 And the categories are also nice, it’s easier to find a past post that way. Matt’s doing a great job both here and at Doug Drexler’s blog of making things a little more organized. 🙂

  8. June 2, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Well done Matt, and thanks! 🙂

    And since you asked John, I believe you would do with a coma after This, as in:

    THIS, THE FIRST AWARD OF EXCELLENCE IS PRESENTED TO…

  9. 23 the bluesman
    June 2, 2009 at 8:18 am

    John this is very cool to do.

    Matt thanks for your cotnribution to the blog.

  10. 24 Richard Knapp
    June 2, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Wow, that is very cool – congratulations Matt! I really like the ship designs where the engines are blended in to the the main hull. Reminds me of some of early British jet bombers, like the Vulcan.

    Thanks John!

  11. 25 Jonathan Burke
    June 2, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Wow, congrats Matt! Can I be your XO? 😀

  12. 26 James_M
    June 2, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Congrats Matt. I’ve really seen the improvements here and on Doug’s blog. Thanks man.

  13. 27 Matt Wright
    June 2, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Wow I get a ship!!! 😀

    Thanks a ton John, this is perhaps the coolest recognition a Trekker could ask for!

  14. 28 Joe McMullen (PepeWan)
    June 2, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Congrats Matt!

    Shouldn’t the registry be 6209, though? 🙂

  15. 29 Sojourner
    June 2, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Hehe, The modelers need a bottom view if Matt’s going to get a mesh made! 😉

  16. 30 Matt Wright
    June 2, 2009 at 10:24 am

    This sort of reminds me of a little courier ship of some sort. Also I feel like it would be a vessel Harry Mudd would have commandeered if he were alive in the Nemesis era.

  17. June 2, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Wow that’s fantastic! Many congratulations Matt!

  18. 32 the bluesman
    June 2, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Somebody needs to kit this design!

  19. 35 Matt Wright
    June 2, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Wow if/when you guys with the 3D skills do it, I’ll be most humbled, and anxious, to see it rendered in full 🙂

    I’m more of a tech guy not an artistic one, so I can keep your PCs going for you but I’m not so hot with the artistic skill 😉

  20. 36 FSL
    June 3, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Matt, an original eaves ship for you. How fitting. Keep up the great work!

  21. June 5, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Not meaning to be a rag, but there would be a space after the coma too John. The graphic designer type-setter in me.

    As in:

    THIS, THE FIRST AWARD OF EXCELLENCE IS PRESENTED TO…

    Maybe you forgot it, or maybe your kerning (space between letters) is off…

  22. June 7, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Well, I was bored so I decided to make a lowish poly model of her, I posted her on my blog, but here is a link directly to the image as well. Happy planet hopping Matt 🙂


Leave a comment


June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930