05
Jun
09

Alex Jeager returns


Here are more from the Jeager Files

Alex created  a lot of designs for STFC and in addition to yesterdays post here are some more meshes and some rough B&W concepts. As a special treat the last sketch is by ILM model maker extraordinaire, John Goodson. he was in charge of building all the practical models with his crew for First contact and he had a minute or two to doodle this little beauty up.. Would have loved to have this one as a model.

 

all meshed up

all meshed up

 

totally meshmerized

totally meshmerized

mesh-orama

mesh-orama

meshmerizing

meshmerizing

 

OK enough meshing around

OK enough meshing around

love his quads,,, I want to see more of the quad ship from the new movie!

love his quads,,, I want to see more of the quad ship from the new movie!

cool sketches

cool sketches

 

goodie, goodie it's a Goodson!

goodie, goodie it's a Goodson!


24 Responses to “Alex Jeager returns”


  1. June 5, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Thanks for even more great images!

    It’s interesting to see the development of the Saber class (continued from an image in yesterday’s post). The final design is neat little ship.

    A pity the Zandura (quad ship) didn’t make it into the movie. Would’ve been a great addition to the fleet and would’ve fulfilled the objective of being a distinctive shape onscreen, as it doesn’t look anything like any of the others.

    A lot of these are crying out to be modeled. I might have a go with the Zandura now there are more references. 🙂

  2. 3 Richard Knapp
    June 5, 2009 at 5:52 am

    Thanks posting these images – more great work by Alex. I would have loved to have seen that quad design tearing in to the Borg cube, that would have been sweet!

    • 4 johneaves
      June 5, 2009 at 7:27 am

      quad is cool,,, I am going to have to try some drawings with this idea I think!!

      • 5 Richard Knapp
        June 5, 2009 at 7:47 am

        That would be awesome! As much as I like Alex’s designs, I’ve always wondered what your version of the Armada fleet would have looked like. Maybe we’ll get to see…

  3. June 5, 2009 at 5:57 am

    love the goodson design, i’m pretty sure i’ve seen a mesh of it floating around of sci-fi meshes somewhere. I can see the Norway is still elusive in giving up to many details 😛

    It’s pretty cool looking at the meshes, they really allow you to make the shapes of the ships out much better, I’ve always been a fan of the Steamrunner myself 🙂

    • 7 johneaves
      June 5, 2009 at 7:26 am

      wow if you find it grab the url if you don’t mind

      • 8 Brian
        June 5, 2009 at 12:36 pm

        Try looking under “Aegian” or “Aegean”– a similar design was featured in Star Trek: Armada II, an older video game that’s still alive in the mod community.

  4. 9 Jonathan Burke
    June 5, 2009 at 6:19 am

    I love the quad “Zandura” and Goodson’s ship a lot. There are also some nice sketches by Mr. Jaeger in the image below the “Zandura” that, combined, would have made for another pretty distinctive ship. It’s also nice to see that concept mesh of the “Norway” since that filming mesh was lost/corrupted/whatever after the movie was made, never to be seen again! 🙂

    So, when does the gag order on the new movie get lifted so we can see detailed images of the new ships? I want to see how right my guesses on their configurations were… 😉

  5. 11 CX
    June 5, 2009 at 7:15 am

    The Goodson class is still my favorite of the bunch; it’s too bad it never made it on screen.

  6. 13 Freak
    June 5, 2009 at 7:24 am

    These are very cool.
    I though I saw the Goodson as part of the Concepts for the Nova class.
    guess I was wrong. Would be cool to see a model of that.

  7. 15 evil_genius_180
    June 5, 2009 at 8:20 am

    I don’t know what’s better, the meshes or the captions. 😉 Great stuff. I’m glad to see more on the Steamrunner, Norway and Saber classes. I feel they didn’t get enough screen time. The Akira got re-used but those 3 kind-of disappeared. I also like that Goodson-class, I have ever since I first saw it in your sketchbook. Too bad that one didn’t make it into the movie.

    I keep telling myself I’m going to have to build the Steamrunner-class. I might have to do it now that you’ve posted those great wireframes. 🙂

  8. 16 DeanneM
    June 5, 2009 at 8:45 am

    What a meshy post! Gotta chime in along with pretty much everyone…like the quad and it would be stood out nicely. Goodson is good! Definitely would have been nice if it made it onscreen.

  9. 17 Triton
    June 5, 2009 at 9:06 am

    Great stuff John! Thank you very much for sharing! Very interesting “Norway” class variant with the secondary hull. Does anyone know if that was named for Roddenberry’s Norway Productions?
    I would have loved to have seen the quad design in the completed film. The designs in the “Cool Sketches” graphic are pretty cool.

  10. 18 Scott D
    June 5, 2009 at 9:33 am

    I’m really loving the Zandura quadship and the Goodson.

    John, you should pitch to Cryptic to those designs in STO. 😀

  11. 19 James_M
    June 5, 2009 at 9:49 am

    John, I think if you develop the quad, you will have no problem getting someone to build it. I can’t believe there isn’t more models generated from all the coolness that you’ve been posting.

  12. June 5, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Recently I said the Nova-class was my favourite design. But I’d completely forgotten the Steamrunner, which really *IS* my favourite design.

    But while we’re on the subject, can we (or Mr. Jaeger) clear up once and for all where the name Steamrunner/StReamrunner comes from?

  13. 21 JNG
    June 5, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    “Streamrunner” is the name of a song by a band called Fold Zandura.

    Alex Jaeger was a fan of the band and worked references to it into the names of several of the ship designs he worked up for Star Trek: First Contact.

  14. June 6, 2009 at 4:21 am

    Fabulous concepts again, thanks for posting them, John! 🙂

    Re the new ‘heavy’ movie vessel, it’s got two nacelles and two secondary hulls (rather four nacelles) hasn’t it? (I may have missed a quad one though).

  15. 23 Matt Boardman
    June 6, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    It’a always fun to see the concepts of these ships and then to see them as actual models. The Steamrunner class is a popular one for ST Play by Email RPGs.

  16. 24 Jose Soba
    June 7, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Thanks for the picks of the concept art. I really do like the Goodson club as well.


Leave a comment


June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930