12
Jun
09

the cargo vessel from Enterprise #45 Judgement


Man whata week, GLAD IT”S FRIDAY!!!! To end this one here is the little cargo ship from The episode Judgement, it was a following the traditional lines of a long multi unit carrier as seen in almost all the designs for the show and this was started out the same,, It was a shape that usually was a safe bet to get approved, This time it was getting some softer POV’s and the two roughs were toyed with for a few days and then the final radically different rendering came out and got the magic blue stamp of approval. here are the variations and then the final.

 

Have a great Friday and promise not to go on a tangent and post 5,6,7, posts on top of each other today!! HAAA!!!!

 

pass 1

pass 1

 

here's where you put your old audio cassette so you can jam to the Bee Gee's in Deep Space.

here's where you put your old audio cassette so you can jam to the Bee Gee's in Deep Space.

fedrationalized version

fedrationalized version

 

the wild trucker version

the wild trucker version

 

inked

inked

makered

makered


20 Responses to “the cargo vessel from Enterprise #45 Judgement”


  1. June 12, 2009 at 5:40 am

    Either Pass 1 or the fedrationalized version would have made for some interesting Romulan War era destroyers or frigates. I like them it’s like a “hard line” in the style shift of humanity’s space exploration.

  2. 2 deg
    June 12, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Oooo, likin’ ’em all, eh, but like the final best. 🙂

    Still, I can jam-on with the first one…

    Stayin alive… stayin’ alive… ah ah ah ah… atayin’ aliiiiiiiiiiive….

    Off to put on the SNF soundtrack… 🙂

    LLP,
    deg

  3. 3 deg
    June 12, 2009 at 6:24 am

    Did they have you draw up any more view of the final, John?

    If so, feel free to send them along some time, as that bad-boy just made me build-list, eh.

    PLL,
    deg

  4. June 12, 2009 at 6:28 am

    I love the design of that bottom ship, really superb design work !! Always a pleasure to view your work !!

  5. 5 James_M
    June 12, 2009 at 6:38 am

    Definitely agree with deg, the wild trucker version is the best. That whole area where the containers connect to the ship is a really cool design element.

  6. 6 the bluesman
    June 12, 2009 at 6:45 am

    More cargo ships to look at…very cool.

  7. 7 CX
    June 12, 2009 at 6:47 am

    Yeah, I like the final version too, because of how unique it looks. Most haulers end up looking like run of the mill container ships, or flying semis. This one breaks that up with the inverted Y configuration. Actually it almost looks like it would fit right into the Firefly universe. 😀

  8. 8 DeanneM
    June 12, 2009 at 7:25 am

    HA, CX, that’s what I was thinking! But maybe a little to Alliance looking for me…needs to be roughed up. 🙂

    I like the regular semi look, but that’s what makes this one so fun. I agree with James that the way it connects is interesting and looks great. My question would be, well they’re so large that it would take a much larger loading dock area. Silly nitpicking thought, but there would also have to be other containers for this type of ship ready and loaded for pick up. Not really a question, I quess, but there would have to be ports that accept this type of vessel, right? Working with the cruise industry, I know that they are actually having to dredge the entrance to Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas, just to allow the new Oasis of the Seas to enter. Interesting thought regarding this new (I’m assuming) hauler.

    There, my random, unimportant question of the day. 😀 Carry on!

  9. 9 Jonathan Burke
    June 12, 2009 at 8:19 am

    I agree that the first version, Federationized, looks like she could be some kind of Romulan war era ship – but I’d lean towards some kind of anti bird of prey carrier. I also really like the final version. She’s very functional. 😀

    A quick note, John – seeing the final version inked and markered made me want to mention that I’ve always thought you were a genius markerer. It’s amazing what you can do with some ink.

    Happy Friday, all! 🙂

  10. 10 Beta Capricus
    June 12, 2009 at 8:24 am

    When I saw that fourth sketch I thought the Enterprise had grown a cargo section for a second

  11. 11 Richard Knapp
    June 12, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Happy Friday to you John! Sounds like you had one hectic and busy week. And despite that you still found the time to post some cool stuff for all us “Eavesdroppers”. All the designs are great but something about that “federationalized” version really clicks with me. The approved version really does look like a space hauler.

    Congratulations on making that top 100 blogs list and have a good weekend!

  12. 12 evil_genius_180
    June 12, 2009 at 8:33 am

    I really love the “wild trucker” version. That’s friggin’ sweet. And what’s this not post 5,6,7 on top of each other nonsense? Take all of the fun out of it, sheesh! (J/K) 😉

  13. 13 Tobias Richter
    June 12, 2009 at 11:02 am

    The trucker version is great! Refreshing “non” federation like…

    And congrats to the great blog you create here – always something interesting to read and watch!

  14. 14 Matt Boardman
    June 12, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Gads, I’ll echo the sentiment and say thank goodness it’s Friday. This was the week that just wouldn’t end!

    I gotta be honest and say that I like all the designs! I think each would have been interesting in its own right to see in action! 🙂

  15. 15 FSL
    June 13, 2009 at 12:24 am

    The first one looks nice and alien.

  16. June 13, 2009 at 1:27 am

    Those are all great designs! Shame that none of them was used and instead Menos’ freighter from “The seventh” was reused with some additional Klingon nacelles, taken from the Klingon D5 class ship, it seems.

  17. 17 JNG
    June 13, 2009 at 1:35 am

    They did a convincing job Klingonizing the little Menos ship for its role in “Judgment” (which I just watched on Sci-Fi Channel yesterday); I was, however, uncertain why the ship of the refugees would look Klingon at all, considering they had never received any Klingon support.

    That “trucker” design seems quite sensible for a small hauler of a ship. I like it.

  18. June 15, 2009 at 12:05 am

    I too thought there was an Enterprise with cargo pods. And I didn’t think it looked bad.

  19. 19 Freak
    June 15, 2009 at 2:47 am

    How the hell did I miss this on Firday?
    I have to say that I love the wild trucker version. Very cool. Those cargo pods would make a great set of big ass engins. 😀

  20. June 15, 2009 at 5:14 am

    John, keep ’em coming. I’ve always thought these were the types of designs we needed to see more of in “Ent”…they definitely give off a more primitive vibe. I love the “Aliens” aesthetic!


Leave a comment


June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930