25
Jun
09

more vulcans from the perpetual files!


Here are more sketches and plans of future Vulcan ships from the Perpetual files!!! Live long and prosper,,, Well at another gaming company anyways!!!!

 

split ringed version

split ringed version

angular ringed silliness

angular ringed silliness

what was I thinking!!!

what was I thinking!!!

 

a little better being not so long

a little better being not so long

split rings #2

split rings #2

 

vulcan fighters

vulcan fighters

and one following in the shadow of the all powerful Doug Drexler design!!!

and one following in the shadow of the all powerful Doug Drexler design!!!


40 Responses to “more vulcans from the perpetual files!”


  1. 1 Richard Knapp
    June 25, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Some great designs – I really like how you integrated the ability to rotate or retract the warp rings. That last one is a beauty! Thanks for posting these.

    • 2 johneaves
      June 25, 2009 at 12:16 pm

      it was cool to have a race who’s architecture lended itself to moving parts,,, most ships are static and it was fun to bend those rings around.

  2. 3 Wolvster
    June 25, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I have to echo that sentiment, that last one is just SWEET !!!!!

    It’s like the FERRARI of the Vulcan Command Ship design… 😉

  3. 5 Pacal
    June 25, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Wow! Those are some sweet Vulcan designs. Kinda makes you wonder why with CG being relatively less expensive than studio miniatures why we did not see more variation of the ships of Enterprise. Much like the way we see different versions of a Honda’s, BMW’s or Ford’s on the roads.

  4. 7 Mark
    June 25, 2009 at 11:21 am

    I like the “What was I thinking?” one – reminds me of the Oberth class from ST III

    Mark

  5. 8 DeanneM
    June 25, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Man, what *were* you thinking on the Vulcan Concept X!? Wacky, dude!

    I like the look of the “angular ring” ship a lot! Why is it silliness? There’s actually quite a bit of cool stuff going on in these designs…not seeing much that’s not to like. The last one is particularly nice.

  6. June 25, 2009 at 11:36 am

    So cool.

    John, I always wondered why do concept artists draw in blue? So they can tell the difference between original and copy?

    • 11 johneaves
      June 25, 2009 at 12:12 pm

      at one time you could ink or dark pencil over the blue line sketch and when you made a copy the blue lines would disappear!! just an old school technique that doesn’t work anymore

  7. 12 Freak
    June 25, 2009 at 11:52 am

    I love those Vulcan concept fighter.
    It shame never got to see any in the Dominion War. Except for those trainer ships form the TNG Acadamy episode with Wesley.

    • 13 johneaves
      June 25, 2009 at 12:11 pm

      wouldn’t it have been a site to see a bunch of new-by vulcan fighter pilots kissing their babes goodbye and flying off into battle

  8. 14 Triton
    June 25, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Wonderful! Thank you for sharing.

  9. June 25, 2009 at 11:59 am

    I think they’re all great designs, but the last one is the coolest. I like how it has a neck and a sort of proto secondary hull. If it had been featured in Enterprise it would’ve been a great way to show how Vulcan designs influenced Earth’s, eventually leading to ships that incorporated ideas from both tech philosophies.

    Btw, the fourth sketch down reminds me of the Liberator from Blake’s 7, if anyone else watched that series.

  10. 17 johneaves
    June 25, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    these were all fun to throw together and I would have liked to have carried a few a bit further. which series is Blake 7 in????

    • June 25, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      Blake 7 is the series, the Liberator is the ship in it. It’s an old British scifi show about some escaped prisoners on the run from an evil controlling government that wears lots of leather, a bit like Firefly or Farscape, but on a shoestring budget. 🙂

      I just had a look on Martin Bower’s website as it seemed like the kind of show he would’ve worked on and sure enough, he built the Liberator model.

  11. June 25, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Very cool.

    I’d love to see your sketches of the Andorian ship(s). I think ENT did a wonderful job with the Andorian and Vulcan ships.. they are both clearly not Earth ships, but yet there are definite future Starfleet-ish elements in the,.

  12. 22 James Latta
    June 25, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Hi John,

    Wonderful Blog and content! How many years has it been since we’ve spoken? Evan and Lou have always mentioned you fondly. Is there an email address I can write you?

    Best,
    Jim Latta

  13. 23 BorgMan
    June 25, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Those are some damn sexy Vulcan designs, especially those with moving rings. I’m really digging the Concept A; it’s a bit in the style of the Vulcan ship with the little SAR vessel inside the ring. Great stuff 🙂

  14. June 25, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Hmmmm, these remind me of something… can’t quite put my cursor on it…

    😀

    LLP,
    deg

  15. 26 the bluesman
    June 25, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    John

    I like the 3 pod version and the very bottom version. One of those ships looks a little liek that Luigi Colani photoshop Sea Breeze a while back.

    Ah yes…the blueline pencil. In the uncivilized days of “commercial art”, this was called non repro blue. When we made these ancient things called “photo-stats” only the black would show up and the blue wouldn’t. We used to have a “paste up board” with a non repro blue grid on it. It’s how magazines and ads and publicatons were set up for production in the time before our computer master and overseer “Mac.” All our ad layouts were on this stuff called “marker paper” and we had to hand draw everything and use these colored tipped sticks called “markers”.

    And we liked it!

    You young uns probably notice that guide lines and grid lines in Illustrator and Indesign are a light blue…guess where that came from.

    I will admit it, I am showing age, and it is a fact that me and John are “ancient ones”. And aren’t we glad John still draws stuff? I still find the quickest way to conceptualize something is to sketch it out…often times right in front of a client at a meeting.

    Sorry for the history lesson…back to the spaceships.

    • 27 DeanneM
      June 25, 2009 at 7:37 pm

      I don’t like that “ancient ones” designation…especially since I’m right in the middle of you two young fellas!!

    • June 26, 2009 at 4:33 am

      Thanks for the info. Yeah, I suppose I’m one of those “young uns”, but I consider myself fortunate that I’m just old enough (25) to remember when we had to look things up in books and our school had only one computer, which nobody knew how to use.

      I always just assumed the guide lines in Adobe programs were blue so they’d show up easily, interesting to hear they’re a vestige of older methods of making art.

      • 29 the bluesman
        June 26, 2009 at 7:51 am

        John P

        I love books…printed ink on paper. As a designer I have a ton of books on all kinds of subjects from swedish cooking to Naval architecture.

  16. June 25, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    Ancient? John and I are the same age, and I am not even close to being ancient, IMO, eh. You’re as young as you feel I guess though.

    Me, I’m immortal, eh. 😀

    LLP,
    deg

    • 31 the bluesman
      June 25, 2009 at 9:13 pm

      Deg

      Notice my use of “finger quotation marks”. Ha ha.

      So you too remember the time before the “Mac”

      • 32 DeanneM
        June 25, 2009 at 10:19 pm

        I sure do! I learned to use a computer when there was no such thing as Windows anything, and there was pretty much just Wordstar, Word Perfect or Lotus programs at work. 😉

        I know I’m immortal, deg. I am perpetually 22…I figure why be forever 29 when you can be 22, eh?

      • June 30, 2009 at 10:35 am

        Gotcha, dude. 😉

        And oh sure sure the bluesman, photo-stats, art-boards, paste-ups, orange, rubylith and razor blades and X-actos. Yep, all by hand. Don’t miss it one bit, eh, LOL. 😀

        Ahhhh, I love all my Macs. 😀

        LLP,
        deg

  17. June 25, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Did someone say football? 😛

    PLL,
    deg

    • 35 DeanneM
      June 25, 2009 at 10:43 pm

      (whispered) football

      • 36 DeanneM
        June 25, 2009 at 10:54 pm

        You can take that as similar to (both whispered):

        Gumball! from the movie “Gumball Ralley” (did ya see that one?), or

        Rosebud mysterious sled name.

        Oh, I think it’s time for me to go to bed!!!!

      • June 30, 2009 at 10:41 am

        Or dog-park, as that word will send my pup-pums straight into crazy-mode!

        And sure sure, I saw Gumball Rally years ago. I love all the wacky road comedy films, but the best will forever be, It’s a Mad Mad Mad Mad World!

        OMG Jim Backus as Tyler Fitzgerald, my fav:

        Tyler Fitzgerald: You know what I need? I need a drink. There’s some ice and stuff back there. Why don’t you make us all some old fashioneds?
        Ding Bell: “Old Fashioneds”? Do you think you oughta *drink* while you’re *flying*?
        Tyler Fitzgerald: Well stop kidding, will ya, and make us some drinks! You just press the button back there marked “booze”. It’s the *only* way to *fly*!

        LLP,
        deg

  18. 38 Scott D
    June 26, 2009 at 12:20 am

    Can’t help it. But Picture #5 looks so much like the Star Wars Mon Calamari Cruiser. 😉

    Hoping Cryptic uses these ships in STO, it’s a shame to not have these beauties used.

  19. June 29, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    I’m wondering if Starfleet (post-Enterprise/pre-TOS era) ever tried to develop an annular ‘nacelle’ program based upon ‘borrowed’ Vulcan technology. Perhaps such vessels were ‘lost’ and few persons beyond the engineering staff ever knew of that black project.

  20. April 17, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    I seldom leave a response, however after looking
    at some of the comments here more vulcans from the perpetual files!
    | Eavesdropping with Johnny. I do have a few questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it just me or do a few of these comments appear as if they are left by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are posting on additional places, I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of all of your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?


Leave a comment


June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930