28
May
09

the sona attack fighter


This was a very fun little ship from ST Insurrection, It’s shape is lightly based on it’s DS9 predecessor the Jem Hedar battle cruiser. This was a quick and dirty little design that wound up being my fav from the movie,, It had sleek look in the flying sequences designed by the boys over at Santa Barbara studios and the folks at Blue Sky made a great model to use as CG reference. I’ll post those model images next week!

the 3/4 view

the 3/4 view

 

from Bernd Schneiders, Ex Astris Scientia page, thanks "B"

from Bernd Schneiders, Ex Astris Scientia page, thanks "B"

 

final version with filled in details

final version with filled in details

orthos

orthos

33 Responses to “the sona attack fighter”


  1. May 28, 2009 at 6:23 am

    I totally forgot about these ships, it took me a few minutes to remember thay were from the the bombing runs on the planet (If I’m not correct). They always reminded me of the fighters from Stargate (in general shape, not detailing).

    I never realised quite how big these ships were, the cockpit really gives you a sence of just how big these babies were.

    You’re lucky this one didn’t fall foul to flying backwards as well John 🙂

  2. 3 HM2(SW) Jeff Priela
    May 28, 2009 at 6:34 am

    How are you able to keep the symetrically of your ships going? I ean its hard enough to draw one side, but when you do your plans do you just design one side then copy and paste? Crazy medical talk in ship design. But yeah, I really do enjoy your work and the blog site. It keeps me entertained and creatively intrigued even while toiling around the city of New York. So much aesthetics, so little time and not enough monies.

    There’s always the klingon method of oribtal bombardment…..lol

  3. May 28, 2009 at 6:35 am

    Interesting cockpit placement and over all design. It’s a bit like an owl’s head. As much as possible is kept rear of the eyes/cockpit windows to afford a great view of the surroundings, but it’s still quite a substantial ship.

    I only remember it from the bombing run as well. That was some pretty realistic compositing and in the day time iirc. Were they featured at any other point in the movie?

  4. 7 Freak
    May 28, 2009 at 6:45 am

    To be honest I don’t remember this ship form the fillm.
    Though I love the shape.

    • 8 johneaves
      May 28, 2009 at 6:55 am

      perhaps if Jorg gets on today he’ll send over some grabs!!!

    • 9 evil_genius_180
      May 28, 2009 at 8:01 am

      It’s mostly seen flying around and menacing the Baku and Enterprise people as they’re fleeing into the mountains. Probably due to its size, it didn’t go up against the Enterprise, just the targets on the ground.

  5. 10 evil_genius_180
    May 28, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Dude, that’s an awesome design and a great model. Even though I remember them quite well from the movie, they were only seen from pretty far away and we didn’t really get to appreciate them. If the CG model was half as cool as that study model, I bet it kicks butt. Thanks for posting the great images. 😀

    • 11 johneaves
      May 28, 2009 at 12:01 pm

      yeah and a good part of their screen time was at night,,, it was nice to see those quick flybys in the daylight!

  6. May 28, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Real shame we couldn’t see more of her in the film. I really dug the design when I saw her fully.

  7. 14 Richard Knapp
    May 28, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Another great design – you can definitely see some Jem Hedar influences. Was the core design originally intended as another Dominion ship? The reason I ask is that all of your recent DS9 posts got me look-in again at the DS9 DVDs John Eaves sketchbooks and the DS9 Companion. The Season 7 sketchbook showed a couple of other Jem Hedar ship designs.

    The DS9 Companion also has a really nice partial image of a bottom, rear view of the big Jem Hedar battleship from “The Valiant”. The problem with the images in the Companion is they are all rather small.

    Hope you don’t mind my asking, but if you still have them around, would you mind posting more of your Jem Hedar ship designs when time allows? Expecially anything of the big battleship – that ship is a thing of beauty and a joy to behold!

    You’re the best John – Thanks!

    • 15 Scott
      May 28, 2009 at 10:53 am

      Yeah! Even better is that they tied in the Son’a with the Dominion in DS9, which nicely explains the similarity in design. 😀

    • 17 Richard Knapp
      May 28, 2009 at 11:51 am

      Re-reading my post, I hope I didn’t come accross as being to pushy asking for more pictures. I am truly appreciative of time and effort you put in updating the blog and I’m sorry if my words sounded otherwise.

    • 20 johneaves
      May 28, 2009 at 12:06 pm

      I have those somewhere, so bug me again if in case I forget but I’ll go and look for em!

  8. May 28, 2009 at 9:49 am

    I remember seeing this for the first time in Star Trek the Magazine. What a cool design. It was even more so, because the magazine was given to me by a client who needed a small master pattern of the ship!. It was for the mini bell jar series for The Franklin Mint. The master was about 1.1″ long and .825″ in length! It was fun to mode, and a challenge as well. I will post thumb nails if I can here. If not, I can email images if you are interested. This is my first post here, so I am not sure what is or is not possible in the responses.

    It was great to finally meet you at this year’s Wonder Fest!

    With kind regards,

    Scott Spicer

    • 22 johneaves
      May 28, 2009 at 10:13 am

      Howdy Scott and nice to finally meet you to,, I am not sure how to set up images from afar but if you send them to me I can post em.

  9. May 28, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Will do John, please email me on how to get the images to you.

    Scott

  10. May 28, 2009 at 11:58 am

    For some reason, this was a design I didn’t valued at first. But the closer I looked at it, back in 1998, the more I grew fond of it and now I love its dynamic shape and all the details and arrangements.
    Thank you very, very, very much for these pictures!!!

  11. 26 Jonathan Burke
    May 28, 2009 at 11:59 am

    This was without a doubt my favorite Son’a ship. I’ve always wondered, though – why such a tiny cockpit compared to the rest of the ship?

    • 27 johneaves
      May 28, 2009 at 12:11 pm

      the tiny cockpit came to be added after the ship had been drawn,, In a cut out scene we built a tiny cockpit to film the sona dropping the transport emitter drones and so in turn I had to incorporate the cockpit interior to the ships exterior… It looked better dwarfed than big so it was all done by aesthetics.

  12. May 28, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Nice to meet you John!
    Your ships are always GREAT or, as Mr. Spock would says, “they are fascinating…”
    I have all of your sketches saved in my hd, for reference and inspiration.
    Kinddest Regards,

    Cassio

  13. 31 DeanneM
    May 28, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    This can be a confusing one for a directionally challenged individual, so I’m glad it didn’t come to that!

    I really like the drawing with the open spaces a lot, but then when I looked again at the second drawing, it wins! Both are fabulous…no offense to the CG modelers, but I like the look of the depths and detailing on the marker drawing better. John, just learn to draw in 3D, OK? 😛

  14. 32 James_M
    May 28, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    I can’t even imagine how much coolness we’d see if John could model too. Don’t get me wrong, all the cg that’s been created from his designs are fantastic. I didn’t remember seeing this either. Definitely did not get enough play in the movie. Seeing things like this is why I can never get a portfolio piece finished. I always want to drop what I’m working on because I see something else that’s so cool.

  15. 33 Matt Boardman
    May 28, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Great work as always, John! So many great ideas and designs rolling around in that brain of yours!


Leave a comment


May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031