22
May
09

Memorial day


A special thanks to all the brave men and women, past and present of the United States Army, Navy, Coast Guard, Marines, & Air Force, for fighting for our FREEDOM. Your sacrifice to nobly defend our country and our freedom goes without measure and to those standing and those that have fallen we thank you for  what you do on a daily basis. My hat is off to you all as we remember that the cost of freedom is not free!!! Your are in our prayers! Thanks also to the disabled veterans of American.

thank you!

thank you!

thank you

thank you

thank you

thank you

and thank you!!!

and thank you!!!


20 Responses to “Memorial day”


  1. 1 deg
    May 22, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Here here, John. Here here.

    And please give to the Disabled American Veterans (DAV) if you can. These guys and gals should get a free medical bills pass for the rest of their lives IMO, but as it is, the gov’t was less than perfect in honoring their deep sacrifices. Hopefully that will and is changing with this new administration.

    http://www.dav.org/

    PLL,
    deg

  2. 2 Matt Boardman
    May 22, 2009 at 10:13 am

    :: salutes ::

    I love the men and women who serve and have served in our nation’s armed forces! While the may not be perfect, I know that my family can sleep at night being safe because of their efforts and service.

    Currahee!

  3. 3 the bluesman
    May 22, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Very cool post, John.

    Thank you to everyone serving to protect our freedom, but other people’s
    freedom as well.

    I’ve got soem friends in Iraq…I need to shoot them a thank you note.

    I’d alos encourge y’all to pray for our mean and women in the military, and if you see soemone in uniform stop them and thank them. They deserve it.

  4. 4 Scott
    May 22, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Heart warming tribute, John.

    Our men and women in the armed forces don’t get the love they deserve. They put their lives on the line for us everyday, so we can live free and live without fear. God Bless them!

  5. 5 Jonathan Burke
    May 22, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    :salute:

    God bless every one of them, and every kind of thanks is deserved and earned.

  6. 6 Bob Nicol
    May 22, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    A very warm and heartfelt thanks to your forces from a friend from over the Atlantic in Scotland!
    May the friendship between the United States and the United Kingdom prevail.
    We owe you our freedom!
    Thank you!

  7. 7 Big Bill Cox
    May 22, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Thanks for posting this, Jon. I have several family members who were in the military, and I have always had the utmost respect for those who serve in the armed forces. Let us never forget the sacrifices they have made to protect our way of life. God bless the USA.

  8. 8 DeanneM
    May 22, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    *God Bless* our men and women in uniform and their families for the sacrifice of time and livelihood in service for others. THANK YOU

    Many thanks to anyone in this community particularly that serves or has served your country (whatever country it may be) in the fight for the freedom and safety of fellow human beings at home and abroad. Also thanks to those in this community who have family and loved ones putting themselves in harms way today. May God give you peace.

    For those who have fought and paid the ultimate sacrifice, I raise my head up, proud to call myself an American because of them. The families left behind can also hold their heads up because of the honor they have earned.

  9. 9 Chris
    May 23, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Very nice post — It was great to see this! Thank you!

  10. 10 FSM-1
    May 23, 2009 at 7:13 am

    John,

    Thank you for supporting our trrops and for honoring us Veterans, as a Navy Veteran who servered my country proudly, I sincerely appreciate it.

    I ran into you WF and was hoping to hear back from you. thanks again for you wonderful
    presentation at WF, I enjoyed every minute of it. Looking forward to seeing the new
    movie, unfortunately I’m still unpacking from WF LOL!

    Take care and Keep on Trekkin!

    FSM-1

  11. 11 Richard Knapp
    May 23, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Excellent post John – God Bless the men and women of our armed forces.

  12. 12 James_M
    May 23, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Thanks for this post John. My brother was in the first Gulf War, and just found out he’s been called back. He remained in the reserves for the Navy. Needless to say, I’ve been spending a lot of time with him lateley, and I’ve been waiting to see the new trek movie with him. I have only witnessed two people ever personally go up to him and thanked him for serving, and it brought a tear eye both times. He’s my oldest brother, and he’s always been a tough guy, but I know it’s different this time for him. He has a wife and a son now, my youngest nephew so far. A year to nine months is a long time to be away. I’ll be sure to show him this post. He’s always been a big Star Trek fan and will really appreciate this, that is when i explain to him who you are. Thanks again for the tribute.

  13. 13 FSM-1
    May 23, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Thanks for the tribute John. As a veteran of the US Navy, I sincerely appreciate it.
    I also wish to thank the current ranks of young men and women that keep this
    country safe and protect the consittution.

    Joseph

  14. 14 bender23
    May 24, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Amen to this post, John. I, too, add my hearty thank you to all the brave men and women of our armed forces. America and its allies can never repay the price they pay (sometimes the ultimate price) for the freedoms we enjoy today.

    My uncle, a WWII vet of the army air corp, passed away recently and was given full military honors at his funeral. An extremely touching ceremony. I remember a time many moos ago when I was a young and stupid kid in the ’70s, I once saw him with a social security check (I think). Knowing full well that this check came from taxes, I said to him, “Aren’t you going to thank me for that money?” He looked at me and growled (think Clint Eastwood), “Sure, as soon as you thank me for preventing you from having to speak German or Japanese.”

    That took the wind from my sails and shut me right up…

  15. 15 bender23
    May 24, 2009 at 6:34 am

    That is many MOONS ago…

  16. 16 FSM-1
    May 24, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Thanks again for this tribute honoring our Veterans and current military members that
    protect our contry and our constitution. As a U.S Navy Veteran, I sincerely appreciate
    the fact that you honor us in such a way.

  17. May 24, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I always appreciate tributes to the military. As a Navy sailor, who comes from a family of sailors, I always appreciate civilian thanks to the military.

  18. May 24, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Since there’s no edit function…

    A photo I took of our flagship the USS Nimitz CVN-65 docked at Pearl Harbor, HI with visible F/A-18’s on the flight deck.

  19. May 25, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Thanks for inspiring me, John. I wrote a blog post to my Dad today.

  20. 20 FSM-1
    June 2, 2009 at 3:58 am

    Hobbes, Thanks for that. I was in Com Des Ron 31 and that photo brings back lots of memories.
    We were on a world cruise when we changed our Carrier from the U.S.S Coral Sea, which had seen a great deal of service, over to the Karl Vinson. That photo reminds me of watching the F-14s landing and taking off.


Leave a comment


May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031