25
Nov
09

Happy Thanksgiving to our family, friends, and our Military


There are a lot of holidays throughout the year, and Thanksgiving is a particular favorite of mine.  What an awesome idea (thanks to the pilgrims, Native Americans, and early settlers of the new world) to set aside one day a year to remember all the things we are thankful for!  I have so very much to be thankful for that we have to have a little thanksgiving everyday in the Eaves’ home because we couldn’t list everything in just one day!  First I have to thank God for all He has done for me and my family and especially for healing Olivia’s arm and for curing Carlene’s cancer.  He always watches over us and carries us through the good and bad times, and especially for sending his Son to set us free and give us a home in Heaven.  Thanks to my wonderful wife, Tara, who blesses me every day in her actions and words, I love you so.  Thanks to my lovely daughters, Alicia, Amanda, Alyna, Carlene, and Olivia.  All of you make my life shine and I am so very proud of you all.  Thanks to my parents & all of my family and friends, new and old alike, and to all of my new friends from this blog.

One very special thanks goes to all of our brave men and women, sons and daughters, mothers and fathers, who sacrifice daily, here and abroad, to preserve our safety and freedom.  Happy Thanksgiving to all of those with us today and especially for those who have fallen.  God bless you all and please bring comfort to the families who will be having thanksgiving with an empty chair at the dinner table this year.  My heart and prayers are with you always.  Thanks to the U.S. Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, and the National Guard.  I am not a political man, but I am very patriotic and I’m so very humbled by what these brave men and women do for us regardless of the thanks or ridicule they receive!!  Be sure to give thanks and tell those around you that you appreciate them.  Life is short and unpredictable so don’t miss out on the opportunity…  Happy Thanksgiving to all.

God Bless

John Eaves

a painting of the first Thanksgiving

no one says more without ever uttering a word than Norman Rockwell

What a jewel, The cast of Beverly Hillbillies, Petticoat junction, and Green Acres,

thanksgiving in iraq

Iraq Thanksgiving

most of us gripe when the coffee pot is empty at work

remembering our fallen soldiers

a man who prays has nothing to fear

I thought this was really cool and had to make it the last picture.


34 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving to our family, friends, and our Military”


  1. 1 deg
    November 25, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Indeed, ditto to all that, eh!

    I make it a point to live my life each day in thanks and gratitude, and thus, this is my fav holidays as well, bro, Big surprise there… not!

    Happy Thanksgiving to all and their families! 🙂

    Thanks to you, John, for everything! And yes, thanks to God for it ALL!

    LLP,
    deg

    • 2 deg
      November 25, 2009 at 4:08 pm

      BTW, (I thought) G.I. Joe rocked! I had a great time with that flick! Great slick popcorn action-packed cool hardware everywhere adventure flick!

      PLL,
      deg

  2. 3 Melak
    November 25, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    A Happy Thanksgiving to you too! 🙂

    I’m thankful for you sharing your work with us on this blog 😀

    By the way John, Deg is building an absolutely brilliant mesh of your unused Klingon Proto-D7, have a look if you haven’t seen it yet:

    http://www.scifi-meshes.com/forums/3d-wips/71452-klingon-battlecruiser-d4.html

    • 4 deg
      November 25, 2009 at 5:10 pm

      Well, why thanks, my friend Melak! (Love that avie!) But the brilliance all starts with John, eh. I’m just the model-monkey on his bird. John does all the real heavy liftin’. I just trace his brilliance basically. 😉

      LLP,
      deg

      • 5 johneaves
        November 26, 2009 at 8:16 am

        I have been watching your work on that one and it always brings a tear to my eye watching your awesome talents at work!!! Thanks Melak and Deg

  3. 6 bender23
    November 25, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Amen, John, amen!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

  4. 8 Matt Boardman
    November 25, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Amen John! So very well put! There is truly much to be thankful for, even in the face of adversity.

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

    • 9 johneaves
      November 26, 2009 at 8:14 am

      Thanks Matt you’ve become a good bud here and wish we had time to catch up uotside of here!! perhaps when things calm down a bit,, HAAA Happy Thanksgiving buddy!

  5. 10 Lee Staton
    November 25, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    John–

    I have to tell you how thankful I am to count you as a friend. Your work is super in movies and TV shows I love–and even those I don’t! I simply dig your design sense and incredible talent. How much cooler to know your lovely wife and some of your kids? Knowing you’re a great family man strikes close to my own heart.

    I hope I’ll see you in 2010! Have a wonderful holiday!

    Lee

    • 11 johneaves
      November 26, 2009 at 8:12 am

      Thanks Lee and Happy thanksgiving to you!! Miss ya and can’t believe were in the middle of the old and new Wonderfest,, sometimes it just seems like a long weekend in-between shows!!! Always love hearing from you and hope to catch up with you soon!!

      J

  6. 12 DeanneM
    November 25, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Thank you so much for this post! You put the spotlight right where it oughta be, on our God and His gift, His only Son, and those who sacrifice their time, lives and family members for the security of our nation.

    Thank you, my friend, for sharing so much on the blog this year, and I love all of the pictures today! I don’t have a favorite because they all say so much, but I just never thought I’d see the casts of those great classic shows in a pic like that! 🙂

    • 13 johneaves
      November 26, 2009 at 8:11 am

      My best friend!! Thanks D and hope you have an awesome day with Heidi and probably with the Boltz!! If so punch Steve in the arm real hard for me and then lean into his face and belt out a mad woman’s cackle!!!

      Happy Thanksgiving

  7. 14 JNG
    November 26, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Happy Thanksgiving and as always, thanks for sharing things with the fans on the blog.

  8. 16 Barrie Suddery
    November 26, 2009 at 4:47 am

    Happy Thanksgiving from the UK and all the best for you, your family and your friends in the future.

    • 17 johneaves
      November 26, 2009 at 8:08 am

      Howdy Barrie!! Thanks and I forgot to mention those soldiers from the UK and Australia who do the same,, Being Naive about a lot of things I didn’t know if Thanksgiving is celebrated outside of the states so if it is include all these folks into the story!!! HAAA! OK buddy thanks for all your posts and becoming a good unseen friend!! Have a great one today!!

  9. November 26, 2009 at 5:46 am

    John,

    Very well said. From my family to yours….Happy Thanksgiving!

  10. 20 Richard Knapp
    November 26, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Hi John:
    I had originally posted this in the Enterprise size post and I’m not sure if it got lost in that discussion but, its Thanksgiving and I just wanted to say thank you for your blog. It has been a wonderful place to visit for great art, beautiful pinups, stories, and inspiration – your daughter Carlene’s fight and victory over cancer that your family faced with courage, dignity, and faith. You are one of the good guys John. So, thanks again for taking the time to blog with all of us. I wish you and your family a very happy and safe Thanksgiving.

    Take care,
    Richard

    • 21 johneaves
      November 26, 2009 at 8:40 am

      Hey there Richard!! Always love to see what you write!! Thanks buddy and I haven’t had the time to tackle those big comment heavy posts from those Enterprise size charts!! Wow looks like it was a very passionate subject!!! Anyways it has been a pleasure meeting you this year and wish you a happy thanksgiving too!

  11. November 26, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Here, in my country, Argentina, we don’t celebrate Thanks Giving. Never the less, I wish you all guys a very happy one.
    And, come to think of it, besides my lovely wife, my health and all the good things I have, I must thank the creator and all the people responsible of making Star Trek for providing us with a vessel that transcends all frontiers, languages and ideologies, making us all communicate as equals in a common ground of true global understanding.
    And that means you, John, as one of those people.
    Thank you and happy holidays.

    ATB4U

  12. 23 the bluesman
    November 26, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Great post, John. I hope that you Tara and the girls have a great Thanksgiving.

  13. 25 SkiBo
    November 26, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Dear Mr. J.Eaves,
    While your passion and God given talent for what you do is a treat that you share with all of us in life, without this blog I would have never known how devoted to your family and uniformed men and women you also are. After having served back during the Reagan era I was largely convinced that people like you were no longer with us but clearly the longer I follow your entries here I found myself pleasantly mistaken. Thank you and yours whole-heartedly and everyone else on this blog, regardless of participation, for including all of our military members as often as you do. The world is truly a better place with all of us in it.

    Happy Thanksgiving.
    ~Mark~

    • 26 DeanneM
      November 26, 2009 at 9:47 pm

      Thank you for your sevice, Mark, during an uncertain time. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • 27 johneaves
      November 26, 2009 at 10:07 pm

      What a great note Mark and Thank you too!!!!! I was in the Navy Rotc in High School in the seventies and wanted to be a navy Photographer,, I found out I was color blind and it wound up that everything I wanted to do in the service I couldn’t so pursued hollywood instead,, had I enlisted though I would have been at the same time as yourself!!! I am very proud of you and all those that serve.. and It is an honor to know you sir. Happy Thanksgiving!!!

      • 28 the bluesman
        November 27, 2009 at 5:32 pm

        John,

        By looking at the pin up shots you would have made a great Navy photographer.

        Thanks, Mark for your service…we do appreciate it. People still do appreciate those fighting for and defending freedom. When I flew my daughter back to Atlanta last year, when a group of returning military people came through, people stopped what they were doing stood up and clapped and cheered and cleared the way for them. And this happened every time a wave of solders and airmen would come through. At the worlds busiest airport that got quite loud and it was great.

  14. 29 Terry
    November 27, 2009 at 5:05 am

    Having read some very nice posts here today I just wanted to add my Thank You John for all the years of entertainment, also thank you for this Blog that allows us a small glimpse into your creative process and your personal life, I am sure with many of the horror stories of stalkers and wackos that are out there it is not an easy decision. Many times your posts of the trials and tribbleations that your family has had his past year, has put things in perspective. Again thank you and I look forward to more to come.

    Terry

  15. November 27, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    We don’t have Thanksgiving over here, but it seems like a great time to take stock of things. There are always things in life worth celebrating. Happy (slightly belated) Thanksgiving to all. 🙂

  16. November 27, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Ello John Eaves, I have some questions for you but I would personally like to ask them in a more privacy. I added my e-mail to this comment (not sure if you’d see it) but please e-mail me as soon as possible, as I have questions and desires to use certain models of ships for a new evil race that I am creating. (sadly my skills of creating designs are…well lets just say, no skills. So I am left with looking, and asking permissions.)

    Other than that, great work mate =].

  17. 32 Doug Eaves
    March 2, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    My sons name is Jonathan Eaves and he is a rotc cadet at Springfield Mo. He is a freshman and we miss him. I ask him if he was taking the scholership just for the money. He said the money will help, but also he has respect for those he has met that have served and feels grateful to them. He said i want to be one that is willing to walk the walk and stand in there ranks someday. A proud Dad

  18. 33 Doug Eaves
    June 2, 2010 at 11:07 am

    John Eaves, Thanks for all the respect and appreciation you show on your website for the military. My name is Doug Eaves as well. And much like one of your previous entries, I also have a son named Johnathan. He’s not quite old enough to be in the military. As it turns out, I’m the one in the uniform. However, if he decides to serve his country on day, I pray guys like you are still around. Thanks!


Leave a comment


November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30